We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in some areas - Disappointing in others.”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in some areas - Disappointing in others.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The first impression of the room was that of a welcoming, large, and comfortable atmosphere. The beds were excellent and provided a great nights sleep. The bathroom had a few issues mainly the fact that there were stains on the toilet itself and a shower that was rather on the small side. The desk with flip-up mirror and included hair-dryer also added another good aspect to the room. In the morning we went to get our breakfast and we were very happy with both the selection and quality of food. However, we did order a pot of Tea when asked what drinks what we would like and it never arrived. The following day we decided to try out the Gym and Spa area of the hotel, however, this proved to be much more difficult and disappointing than expected. After going through several trips between our room and the gym to fetch whatever paperwork they required to let us use the facilities we then faced an issue regarding our age. It clearly states that visitors UNDER the age of 16 are not able to make full use of the gym due to health and safety, being 16 (a.k.a NOT UNDER 16) I assumed that this would not be a problem. However, the awkward employee behind the desk at the gym didn't seem to understand the point I was trying to make and so I was forced to resign myself to strictly using a Crosstrainer or a Treadmill. On our way out of the gym I did explain to the employee (Female, Blonde hair, Glasses) that I was a Rugby Player who was well used to safely using gym facilities, however, this was still to no avail and we gave up on the situation. The overall rating of 'Average' is purely because of the way we were addressed in the gym and the disappointing state of the bathroom and the seemingly careless work of the room maids. If you are only interested in a large bed, comfortable sleep, and a nice breakfast then the Hilton Hotel, Leicester is a great choice! However, if you plan to make use of the facilities that the Hotel advertise as being 'top of the range' then you may find yourself disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in Room 116 and it featured a nice view of the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, but was sorry to hear that you had difficulties with our gym area.

We have strict policies over the use of our gym equipment, and our policy clearly states that 16 and 17 year olds may use our cardio vascular equipment only, and may only use the weights upon reaching 18 years of age.

Your comments have been shared with our LivingWell Manager for review.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    534
    305
    151
    87
See reviews for
542
291
49
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staff were really welcoming. Dining excellent - quality evening meal (and children ate free, always a bonus). Breakfast had plenty of choice – something for everyone! - Children made very welcome. Would come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, after your recent stay.

It was great to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

apart from the showers being below standard the accommodation was above average. won't stay there again. the showers are more important than a decent bed.the breakfast was good and the location was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that you experienced issues with our shower provision within the room. Your feedback has been shared with our maintenance manager to review and resolve.

I am pleased to hear that the rest of your stay met your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our stay at the Hilton in Leicester was pretty spontaneous as my partner had a business meeting within proximity which was lengthier than scheduled! The rating of "average" is purely based on the hotel room, in particular the bathroom which is very outdated and I avoided using during our overnight stay! Furthermore, with a party of hormonal teenagers residing within vicinity, the footfall throughout the course of the night was excruciating which i acknowledge the hotel staff cannot control at all times. Had it not been for our "last minute" decision, i'm sure we would have been able to locate a hotel room of a much higher standard at the same cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_Trotters9612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion, and apologise for the service shortfall.

Your feedback has been shared with our team to further review and address the issues raised.

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel room was lovely. Dinner menu was restricted - not very inspiring and would not eat there again. Heinz soup offered on the children's menu. Breakfast was excellent though. Pool was nice but a real jobsworth policing it who wouldn't let flip flops in the area and confiscated an inflatable ball even though it was causing no trouble. We did not feel welcome. Hotel difficult to access from the road - signage unclear. Didn't realise it would sit in the middle of busy roads.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I have shared your feedback with our team so that we may learn from your experience.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The design and layout of this Hilton is not as guest friendly as more recent builds particularly in terms of soundproofing and absence of areas such as an executive lounge. The corridor traffic is noisy too. Someone's tv was blaring away until nearly 1 am and there were sounds like elephants traipsing around until 2 am.(Sorry elephants)

There were other issues related to the room facilities. The room classed as deluxe did not have slippers or towelling robe either in the bathroom or wardrobe. The wake up call never materialised. Reception had to be reminded in person about the bottles of water. Apparently as a gold member there was to be a goody bag?

Individually the staff are very pleasant and friendly but seem to lack forethought, responding to situations rather than anticipating them. I did wonder about the quality of their management team as I have stayed in other Hiltons where management albeit very discreet were more visible and the staff work as effective teams calmly and effectively.

Room Tip: Do not bother with deluxe as it not worth the extra £20 offered. As a gold member I had a free upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion, and apologise for the obvious service shortfall.

Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments to address the issues you have raised and to ensure we learn from your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Ok this is a reasonable value hotel with a big but. The room I had 145 is a deluxe, so room ok, the goody basket, being gold card member also good, the dinner also good. Would I stay in this room again? no chance. The adjoining door made it silly loud, no really, if I want someone else's tv program all night I will sit in their lounge! I may as well have. While I'm on it.. Oh! the heat. No air con - manual window only - ok normally, but the blast of delicious kitchen vent makes this also a no go. Sorry hilton, I have tons of points and paid top whack, you really must have known these tiny details - this is not 'deluxe' even at the price, if not you do now, and so does everyone else. Rethink needed, sort the kitchen vents, we really don't want rump steak smells at 2am, air con? Expensive, but really an expectation these days, limit tv volume in adjoining rooms and finally if u offer 'deluxe' ensure no one can level these critique again. For you ladies and gents - take the basic room and ask for one on the opposite side of the hotel to 145 - alternative? Crowne plaza.... Sorry hilton

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bear12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with our team, so that we may learn from your experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
917 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International
Hilton Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing