We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat an evening meal tried it twice, even managed to make a mess of a salad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't eat an evening meal tried it twice, even managed to make a mess of a salad”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Poor restaurant service, took for ever, to arrive & it was awful when it did. Staff didn't seam that bothered.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotel at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thanks for your review and I have discussed your stay at length with the team at the hotel as I was disappointed that we appear to have been so inept.

Your view, is your view and I am sorry we did not meet the standard you required, however our other guests seem to have been more than happy and I know the team bent over backwards to try and provide what you required.

We take all feedback very seriously but sometimes we just cant get it right for everyone......but that won't stop us trying.

Kind regards

david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    117
    121
    88
    80
See reviews for
76
76
35
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed at the BEST WESTERN Leicester Stage Hotel
Its like going back in time, the decor is dated and my room smelt slightly?
Good points: Biscuits with tea and coffe facilities
Power shower
Free WiFi
Free Parking
Staff Polite

Bad Points: Wifi extremely slow, virtually non existent
Food average, lacks flair
some of the tables in the bar area, were sticky?
Dated Decor
Music played in restaurant unsuitable to environment

Room Tip: choose a room next to the WiFi router
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thanks for your review and I don't remember the 70s in obviously the same way you do!!!! And I was there....and the 60's.

We continue to spend money on the hotel having refurbished over half the bedrooms and bathrooms entirely in the past few years and have now reopened the Leisure Club and Swimming Pool, Sauna and Steam Room which are free for guests to use.

I would be the first to admit we arent "fine dining" and this was a choice we deliberately made recently to become more "populist" in response to our guests overwhelming requirements, and to date the proof as they say is in the pudding and our percentage of residents dining has shot up

Sticky tables was a housekeeping blip, and we have blipped them for this....sorry. We are upgrading our wi fi in order to accommodate the increased demand but this is becoming a common issue in all hotels as systems designed for guests to search the internet and do emails are now being used by guests to stream movies to their laptop, and as you are probably aware this dramatically slow everything down for others.

Whilst I enjoyed the 70's I dont think our hotel is really part of that era, and judging by the hotels success our guests disagree with you......or maybe just think the 70's were really cool.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

10 of my family decided to go the restaurant for lunch on Friday 18th February 2012. We were greeted to a beautifully laid table and a high chair as requested. A gentleman came to take drinks orders and then food. The food was lovley, hot and presented beautifully and we were all served together. We spent just undfer 3 hours in the restaurant and never once felt we ought to go. The waitress and gentleman ( think he was the manager) were attentive, friendly and very professional. We will definitely go again - a family meal made very special - thank you

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Glad you had a great family day at the Best Western Leicester Stage. We introduced a new menu and dining concept a few weeks ago and it seems to be going down a storm. So pleased you enjoyed it as it makes all the hard work by the team so worthwhile when they get feedback like this.

Thanks for posting a review and hope we see you all again soon.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel pulled out all the stops to make this a day to remember for all of us, fantastic. Wedding decor was lovely, white drapes and lights made civil ceremony room look brill as did the white asle to walk down against the beautiful floral arrangements of orange roses. Staff were cheerful and couldn't help enough - food hot and well served - cooked to perfection. husband had 2 helpings of desert!!! Evening buffet was good, portion size ample. Great day, followed by dancing cheerfully to the hotel disco. THANKS

good prices too.............

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thanks for your review and so pleased that we ensured your daughters special day was just that.....special!!!

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It is quite hard to review a hotel like this because there is not a lot that distinguishes it for good or ill from so many hotels in this price bracket. The food is a little better than most but the rooms feel tired. Mine had a somewhat damp smell, which seemed to be drifting in from the corridor where part of the ceiling had been taken down, apparently to dry out a leak from above. I had a quiet room at the back but some colleagues had noisier rooms and I could certainly hear the TV from either side. The wi-fi was free which is a real plus in English hotels - but it didn't work and the staff pretty much just shrugged this off rather than seeing it as a serious issue for a hotel catering to a business market. I don't like paying a surcharge but at least the system usually works.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry the team werent more proactive about the wifi. Yes it is free, but obviously it has to work and I am sorry that on this occassion circumstances beyond our control prevented this.

We have been going through a major spring clean at the hotel and I am sorry that the cleaning of carpets and curtains etc left a rather damp smell, apologies.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was impressed with the hotel. It is very much a budget hotel and it is excellent value for money.

The food choice for dinner is good and they regularly have specials all at reasonable prices. Breakfast was also good with a wide choice

The Hotel is situated on a main road so try to get a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.

The rooms are good, clean and tidy. The staff were friendly but sometimes did seem a bit low on numbers and that put them under pressure

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your review which is really appreciated by all the team and so pleased that you feel we offer very good value for money.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel itself is ok. Clean tidy and the staff are friendly the rooms are as you would expect in these type of hotels. Ideal for a couple of nights. The ceiling in the bathroom did look like it was about to come down though if it had one more leak from room above. One thing could not fault was the meals. They were really really good. Breakfast was ok. Now the bad points are if you look on the website today it's place has a light airy gym with a lovely looking swimming pool and jacuzzi etc. don,t believe the pics. The gym has 1 light working. The water in the cooler tasted like it been in there since the machine was installed. The kit needs help. Most of it would be deemed unsafe if inspected. Now the pool looks like it hasn't been used for years. It is just used to store junk stuff in and around it. Think you need to sort this out or amend your website. A shame really as this really let all the good things down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for posting a review and the leisure area is due to re-open in a few weeks time under new ownership after they revamp it.......we are just tying up a few loose ends and then they will relaunch and hotel guests will get a free pass during their stay..

Pleased you enjoyed the meals.

Thanks and kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 40 in Leicester
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,516 reviews
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Leicester Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Leicester Stage

Property: Ramada Leicester Stage
Address: 299 Leicester Road | Wigston Fields, Leicester LE18 1JW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Leicester Stage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Leicester Stage 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Leicester Stage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
Ramada Leicester Stage Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing