We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phone answering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Good hotel but no-one will answer the direct line phone. Even Best Western could not get through to them. You'll lose business this way. Otherwise good for our business. Be aware of the phone problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CheshireFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for your review but there was a BT issue in the local area of the hotel for 36 hours which caused this issue. Hence no one could get through and we could not even get emails. Best Western had been advised of the problem and I am disappointed that they appear not to have cascaded this important point

Kindest regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked a family room at short notice, wasn't expecting The Ritz etc, having stayed here a couple of times before on business years ago, but it is still a very hospitable and friendly hotel that just ticks all the boxes for a couple of nights stay. Superb staff at breakfast and during the evening (we were advised of a wedding party this weekend, but the restaurant team still reserved us a table in the lounge area and ensured we were not neglected and well looked after) we enjoyed a superb dinner etc. Reception team were friendly, polite and had great sense of humour and so helpful. Bedroom was of a generous size; beds comfortable and picked up on special request for extra pillows. A little dusty, bit of black mould on the grouting, taps that swivelled and a shower that was so powerful it almost flooded the floor, BUT all symptoms of a hotel that needs a little more money spent on it, but the natural friendliness of the team made up for any issues we could of had. Huge carpark, free wifi, breakfast buffet, small pool and gym. Great for families and nice people.

Room Tip: some of the Ground floor rooms overlook carpark, so get the noise from guests leaving late night fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Arrived late, guy at reception was extremely disinterested, I had to ask where breakfast was and what time. Room was tired bed had a massive dip. Noisy as beside car park. Breakfast was ok, however could have bounced the eggs. Won't be back. Overall feeling that reception staff could not be bothered, breakfast staff slightly better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinburghcouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review and I have asked David greenwood the General Manager to talk to his team about the welcome you recieved as this is unusual and not typical of the comments we get.

We run a breakfast buffet and try to keep the stock on display changing as frequently as possible and would have been pleased to cook your eggs fresh if you had rather.

I do hope we see you again and we take your comments on board.

Thank you

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over the night before a funeral we had to attend. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a lovely young man who was very welcoming and cheerful just what you want to see on arrival after a long drive. Once we had been handed the keys to our room we found the room to be very clean and spacious. Only one problem which was not fault of the hotels it had feather duvet which I was allergic to but a call to reception soon had this changed for us with no problems at all. We wanted to find a local pub for a drink in and the very kind receptionist gave us locations and a possible bus route to use he was very helpful.
We had breakfast in the morning which was lovely a good selection and you could choose what you wanted. The lady serving was cheerful and happy and also very nice.
Overall it was a good quality hotel with friendly staff couldnt fault our stay.

Room Tip: rooms at the back could be quieter as to off main road location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepygirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Hope we see you again soon.

Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My parent had booked this hotel for me to stay the night before my wedding day, my room was great,got everything it need and it was first time my son(7years old) stay at hotel, he loved everything and slept beautiful,same with me also. The staffs was great and helpful,housekeeper(lady) had lent my father a bucket to wash his vintage car at the Parker was perfect touch. Waking up there and got ready there was fab time,we had a lovely drinks at the bar before set up, over all it was amazing time to remember and couldn't wait to revisit again, my room was 113. My make up artist 110,my parent 117 and our friend mr penrose was in somewhere in that hotel. We loved this place. Xxxxxx thank you very much for amazing team of staffs who was friendly and make a nice welcome x

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bujo0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for your review and so pleased everything went well. Seems a Dad's duty never ends to wash his daughters car for her!

Congratulations and hope we have a chance to welcome you all back again!! Maybe for an Anniversary Party.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Last minute booking and I got a room here at good rate. As most other reviews yes it's an old dated hotel, as you enter reception they have an old shoe shiner buffer in foyer and as I entered reception tumbleweed departed. Reception was easy and efficient and pointed to the corridor to my room and staircase and tackled the credit card door swipe. Upon entry to my room, it made me smile, felt like I was in a time warp back to the early 80s with holidays at Blackpool , and I hadn't brought my sunglasses for the decor.. But that's the whole charm of it .. Bright clean room well presented and everything that you ever want to need, good working tv hot water and complimentary kettle and drinks and biscuit if you please. After a hard day and a hot bath and relax ... Some inns I stay at you only get a shower.. But this had both and I enjoyed a good old soak, proper soap available with the liquid too and a heated towel rail to dry them when your done... Brilliant.
Sat on the bed and wow nearly got sea sick but the comfort was to die for, plenty of pillows and cushions for support, even had twenty winks just to try. Caught up with paperwork and a complimentary pen and paper made my note scribbling an ease and with. FREE wifi to catch up on electronic life without any hassle of subscriptions makes this a win win.
Bar area very quiet and not many people dining in .. I read the reviews on trip advisor and ended up going into town.. Which was a mistake as its all two for one deals and like the Wild West in some pubs... So headed back to hotel for a quick pint which was acceptable and talking to a few guests food not that bad as described.
Good nights sleep, nice early morning shower and fresh for my breakfast . Greeter could show you to a table instead of trying o choose one that looks in use buts its the way they set out ?
Breakfast selection was ok small plates but I got my fair share, and only when I was awaiting my toast realised that I had no sausage so had a couple as I waited ... Sill people touch the grill on too high and I heard a few people scraping there burnt toast... Turn it low and its fine.. Communal marmalade and decent coffee and I had a good feast
Cannot complain, easy in easy check out
Would stay again ... Plenty of secure free parking All good .... Might try a swim next visit

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Radar-uk-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife am I stayed at the Stage for two night whilst visiting the National Space Centre. I had never used a best western before and I hope this hotel is typical of the chain.

The room was large as was the bed. Luckily the room had air-con which was needed given the nice summer we are having. Sadly the toilet smelt of damp and there was no fridge. There was a nice large flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi which is a nice to have.

On our arrival we looked at the big in-room menu but decided to eat in the bar. Upon arrival at the bar we were told that they were only doing sandwiches even though the menu in the bar was the same as the room menu which was labelled available 24hrs. We decided to walk into Wigston and eat there instead.

My wife has booked us massages as the hotel boast a spa but this proved difficult to arrange and we ended up cancelling after we had briefly used the spa where there was building work going on. It was all a little tired and the Jacuzzi was out of order.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast but it was a little cold. Mildly warm first morning but worse on day two. The food at dinner was ok, the menu is varied and the presentation nice but there is no excuse for serving food on plates with chips in them or dirty wine glasses.

Overall I just think this place needs some money spent on it and a couple of good managers to keep everyone on their toes and make the improvements it needs to keep people coming back. Until there is improvement I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks for your review and I am disappointed that your many very favourable comments about the hotel have been offset by the spa and leisure club the operation of which is nothing to do with the hotel and run by a totally separate company.

I will discuss your points with the them and the hotel GM David Greenwood.

Thanks for taking the time to post.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
2.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,590 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Leicester Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Leicester Stage

Address: 299 Leicester Road | Wigston Fields, Leicester LE18 1JW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Leicester Stage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Leicester Stage 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Leicester Stage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
Ramada Leicester Stage Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing