We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by a poor resturant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Leicester Stage
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 19 April 2009

I've stayed here a couple of times beofre. The resturant was awful - I was given stale bread (not buttered) with my starter and brown, slimy salad leaves. The main course had "complimentary" hair in. Breakfast was poorly presented and the first 6 plates on teh self service rack dirty. On hte positive side, bedrooms are fine - clean, modern and large. Remeber to take all your toileties, as they don't provide any. Noce, big white towels. Free wireless and easy location. Excellent reception staff

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

Really sorry to read your review as since our new GM david Greenwood and Head Chef Mikey Parrot started last autumn our restaurant has been going from strength to strength with really good feedback particularly on breakfast we we totally revamped.

Apologies, we obviously got it very wrong during your stay and will work harder to ensure we get it right first time, every time.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards

David Stanford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2009

The only good experience of my stay was the ceremony, the room we were given complementry was the dirtiest and have never seen a wedding buffet served on a breakfast carasuel, must not forget the builder sandwiches not bad considering chef had gone sick, the DJ kept disappearing, just left tapes on, seems to me the hotel needs to be
updated and cleaned, according to manager what else can we expect , it would have been
nice being a wedding day, for the manager to at least say sorry, not well you did not pay for tthe nights stay. This day was booked nine mon ths in advance, all we had was one person looking after us, sorry manager said he was on sight, what can one say . If you
want a day to remember for thr right reason do not go to the Stage hotel, in Wigston

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loop17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2009

Sorry to read your review of your stay 4 months ago. We will obviously look into this and apologies that your stay was not as would have been expected.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Ive stopped here a few times the rooms seem to be fairly recently refurbed, modern in style and well maintained. The restaurant does good food and the service is good maybe about average really. The big pluses for me are the leisure facilities free internet. You cant beat a swim, a steam and a good soak after a hard day. The gym is also quite well equipped. The main downside for me is that the pool has been shut since November and due to the credit crunch the manager informed me it maybe filled in and turned into a larger Gym but jakuzzi and steam room/sauna would still be there, so not all bad news. In summary, its nice and not bad value considering the gym/facilities Il be back.

The staff are friendly and receptive to requests and complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DADDYONTHEROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2009

Thanks for your kind words and taking the time to write a review. We shut the pool etc in order to refurbish these areas as they were not to the standard we wanted. Unfortunately the "credit crunch" has scuppered our plans in the short term, although the gym remains open for residents.

Hopefully things will improve soon and we can get back on schedule with the works to this area. We have however in the meantime freshened up all the bathrooms at the hotel.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Plus points..Free parking..free internet. My husband was really pleased the room TV had sky sports. The heating was not working when we arrived but this was fixed. We had a really big room with a sofa and coffee table. Iron, safe and fridge. Bathroom OK with shower over bath. No toiletries except some hand wash. Comfy bed with a nice duvet. The room looked a bit dark but it was decorated in brown and beige and you soon get used to it. There was no finesse at breakfast. They had run out of orange juice and everyone was asking for it. You would think that a member of staff would have gone to a store and bought some. No continental, no fresh fruit or yogurt.
Good shopping in Leicester.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2009

Thank you for your review and am surprised, as you were, that no one had the gumption to go and buy orange juice!!! Not very clever, sorry.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I stayed one night at the Best Western Leicester on a business visit and it was acceptable but nothing more.
As others have said the outside appearance isn't great but inside it's fine and clean and tidy.
The reception staff both on arrival and departure were very friendly and efficient. The room was also clean and comfortable.
The only downside to my stay was the restaurant where the service was pretty appalling and the staff just didn't seem interested.
It was fine for a one night stay but I wouldn't overly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_McClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2008

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review and I hope you will accept my apologies that everything was not as would have been wished.
We have a new General Manager at the hotel and a new Head Chef and they are both now having an impact and the feedback we are getting is excellent, especially with regard to the restaurant.
I do hope you will use us again, and that we get the chance to demonstrate to you the very real improvements we have made, and are continuing to make at the hotel.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

On arriving at the hotel, we were dismayed to find that it looked nothing like it's promotional pictures and this prettty much set the scene for the rest of our stay.

We booked an executive king room, believing that the extra cost would get us a nicer room. We were wrong! The room was drab and depressing with the worst decor I have ever seen. The furniture was old and tired and as for the bed, slab of concrete springs to mind. A kingsize duvet to match the kingsize bed would also have been nice. There were dirty marks on the walls and furniture. The curtains didn't actually fit the window, so couldn't be closed properly. We had a beautiful view of the car park and were thrilled to be kept awake by the noise from whatever function was taking place.

The bathroom was awful. It was dirty and in desperate need of an overhaul. The waste bin was broken and there were hairs and general dirt around the bath.

The reception staff were ok - neither good nor bad. We had a couple of minor issues in that our key card wouldn't work on the second night of our stay and the bill was wrong on check-out.

I can't comment on the restaurant as we decided to avoid it, for fear of it being as awful as everything else. We decided to spend as much of our time away from the hotel as possible.

In summary, we will never stay here again and will most likely avoid Best Western Hotels in general.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Novocaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Leicester Stage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2008

I am so sorry, we obviously got many things wrong on the occassion of your visit and I hope you will accept my apologies.

Our new GM started recently together with a new Head Chef and they have both started to have an impact on standards and quality.

We start a programme of bathroom refurbishments in the next few weeks which answer the query you had over these.

I am sorry about the view of the car park, but such is the design of the building that every bedroom looks out over the carpark....sorry.

In hindsight the team should have allocated you a room on the side of trhe hotel away from any noise from functions but regrettably these are smaller bedrooms.

Sorry we got it wrong and hope you will try us again.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

When we travelled down in February to go to a Silver Wedding party in Leicester, we were looking for somewhere not too expensive, very clean and with a good hearty breakfast. This hotel came recommended to us and didn't disappoint. Room to a very high standard and excellent breakfast. We didn't get the chance to use any of the facilities in the hotel but would recommend it to friends and would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catya47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
6.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
536 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Leicester Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Leicester Stage

Address: 299 Leicester Road | Wigston Fields, Leicester LE18 1JW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Leicester Stage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Leicester Stage 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Leicester Stage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
Ramada Leicester Stage Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing