We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Leicester”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
uk
Level Contributor
286 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Leicester”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

If you like the big corporate hotels then there are plenty around Leicester. However the best hotel for me is The belmont. It is an independednt hotel right in the city centre. It is a 5 minute walk from the train and the service is first class.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    347
    129
    48
    18
See reviews for
155
238
75
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was talked in to a dinner dance by a friend for New year, I didn't expect much from the meal as it was a mass produced meal- could not have been more wrong- excellent, one of the best meals Ive had, served by a lovely friendly waitress, washed down with very reasonably priced wine. Everyone dressed up, and the atmosphere was great. It was good to just find our bedroom at the end of the evening. The room was lovely, attic but really spacious, nice complimentary products and bottled water.
Breakfast was a feast.everything you could think of or wish for- waiting staff even came to our tables and said they'd be packing up in 10 mins if there was anything else we needed.
All in all polite staff, I thought this was a value for money evening, and would certainly go back agaoin

Room Tip: see if you can get 301/302 or the higher you are the less you hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Belmont Hotel just after Xmas for a Wedding reception. I thought the hotel was well-situated in Leicester and on check-in, was greeted well. The room we booked was quite nicely furnished and was well equipped. The bathroom was a bit tired and small, but was fine.
Overall, I thought the layout and decor of the hotel was very nice and was in keeping with the style of the building.
Overall, a well-placed, nicely decorated hotel. Comfortable bedroom, but bathroom a bit tired.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Mis matching shabby decor, nasty rooms with poorly positioned TVs and bathroom suites dating from the 1950's, clunky old mattresses, creaky floorboards and much noise from outside, not a place where you would like to get a good nights sleep. On the other hand, the staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. The location is also excellent, partcularly if travelling by train.

Room Tip: Room 204 to be avoided: a wonderful view of and acoustic input from the kitchen extraction unit: the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your 5* score for service at the hotel, we're glad you felt the team looked after you, and that the hotel was convenient.
The room directly below yours has been refurbished to include air conditioning so that the window can remain closed to keep the noise out. Our plan is to do the same in room 204 as soon as possible. I'm sorry that your room let down your experience of the Belmont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stay in this hotel every month. It is convenient for the town centre and has a good restaurant and bar. You need to watch the plumbing if you want a shower. Friendly staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanM761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have stayed at the Belmont previosly but this is my first review of it.
Booked an executive room, was given room which was a superior double and not what we expected, quite small nothing special. Complianed at reeception. No problem we where given room 302 up in the attic but quite big and a lot better than the previous room.
Breakfast Sunday morning upto 10am. Arrive a 10am and there will not be a lot left, suggest you get there by 9.30 for a full selection.
Not a bad hotel, quite handy for the city centre, about a 15 minute walk down New Walk. Staff friendly. well stocked bar.
Paid £89 for the room which we considered reasonable.

Room Tip: If you paid for an Executive room don't get palmed off with a Superior Double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thanks so much for your four star scores for location, sleep quality, cleanliness and service. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very disappointing.
Room was just about adequate for a double, but ensuite bathroom was tiny, barely large enough to get in and close the door behind you.
Light fitting rattled with any movement in room above.
In my view not good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your stay with us, I'm sorry that you didn't like your room, although as we discussed the Holiday Inn was purpose built as a hotel, which is why all the rooms look the same. The Belmont is a row of Victorian terraced houses adapted together over the years, hence the variation in size and shape of the rooms, as I mentioned your room is recently refurbished and has been very popular with many of our guests.

Once again I'm very sorry that the stay did not match your expectations, we don't like to dissappoint our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing