We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife and I only stayed for one night,but we found it very enjoyable.the welcome we recieved on arrival was warm and enthusiastic even tho we didnt get there until nearly 10pm! The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. The breakfast we had in the morning was yummy and a snip at £5(pre- booked).overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    342
    127
    46
    17
See reviews for
155
233
75
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have just returned from staying 2 nights at the Belmont Hotel in Leicester with my Partner and we both have come away thinking what a great Hotel this is. From the moment you arrive when you are warmly greeted by Reception you will find all the staff are friendly and accommodating. What a refreshing change to stay in a Hotel where you actually feel like a guest and are treated well. We took advantage of the dinner bed & breakfast (with 2 cocktails inc) on the Friday night and just the Bed & Breakfast on the Saturday night and both are fabulous offers. The inclusive Dinner had a great choice and the breakfast was all freshly cooked and of a very high quality - all served by staff who were so helpful in organising vegetarian options etc. The location on "New Walk" in the centre of Leciester meant a 5/10 min amble in to town was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal if it fits in with your plans
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was a business trip and frankly I wasn’t expecting too much. However, both the room and food were at the top end of competitive for a good quality business hotel and the staff, who were friendly and helpful from the outset, really came into their own when my car broke down and I was stranded unexpectedly for some hours.

Both the desk and the dining room/bar took an interest and went out of their way to organise things which were out of their normal routine. As I was leaving several staff enquired about how I was getting on – and in a way that suggested they were concerned rather than it was a ‘requirement’ of their customer service training. Even if I am cynical enough to think that training was the probable reason for their courtesy – it was nice to be asked anyway.

As a small added bonus – the hotel is next to a very pleasant pedestrian walk right into the centre of town, which is useful to know if you want to eat out.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quite location so all rooms are quite. Rooms vary in size to some extent - so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Part-Time-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Part Time Walker
Thanks so much for your review of the hotel, you're right we do train our staff to be polite and curteous, but we also look for people who we think are genuinely nice, and reward service that goes above and beyond because we want people to feel like their welcomed into our home, that's the difference when you stay at a 77 year old family run hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband , myself and two friends have just spent a night at the Belmont on a Travelzoo deal (£89 bed breakfast dinner and cocktail) and it was the most wonderful experience.

The hotel is very well located in Leicester just off the A6 with a good sized car park. All the staff were most helpful. We arrived before 1 pm but were able to go straight to our rooms, although check in was 2 pm. These were obviously recently refurbished very tastefully and both slightly differently, with comfortable beds, choice of pillows, great shower over bath and lovely large white bath towels.

We had a three course dinner in Jamies bar, good menu choice and all agreed the food was delicious. We swapped the free cocktail deal for a shared bottle of wine - a very tasty rose.

Breakfast next day was in the main restaurant. Very attentive staff. You help yourself to cereals juice etc, but tea/coffee and cooked breakfast are brought to your table, freshly cooked so no cold sausage etc from a buffet as is often the case.

The hotel is situated right on New Walk which is a pedestrianised walk about half a mile to the city centre

The whole experience was delightful and we certainly hope to return again if another deal comes along!

Room Tip: It might be worth having a top floor room (there is a lift) as we were on the first floor and we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

our second stay attending a party again in leicester. our room was very nice, great bed and overlooked a pretty courtyard. a wee bit small but fine for overnight or for one person last time we booked a much larger room but paid more recommended if staying more than a night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevieve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here with husband and daughter in 2 adjacent double rooms the night before her graduation from Leicester University.

Locations is very good about 10-12 minutes walk from De Montfort Hall and 15 minutes from Leicester Uni.

Pleasant reception staff at check-in and check-out. Rooms overlooked car park and bit on the small side but beds and pillows were comfy.

Only downsides:

1. Room was on the dark side, even in the morning sunshine the dark and heavy curtains couldn't be pulled back far enough to allow enough light through the narrow east facing window so that I could see well enough in the only large mirror to put make-up on.

2. Sash window wouldn't stay open.

3. There wasn't much food left in the serving dishes at the buffet breakfast and what was there was only lukewarm. To be fair it was tasty and they were replenished eventually but we were in a bit of a rush and so had to make do with what there was.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Belmont. I have been pleasantly surprised. My room was lovely and not very expensive for what you get. The first night I stayed I ate in main restaurant. I was disappointed with a very limited menu and I felt it was over priced. The food was ok byut not worth the price. My second and third night I ate at the dining table in my room. The menu from the bar is far better then the restaurant and much cheaper.

Breakfast at Belmont is very good, the service (especially from Betty) is exceptional.

On a negative, the car park ( or overflow car park) does not feel at all safe. The hotel is also geared towards events and as a result can be very busy and noisy.

All in all though a relaxing place to call home whilst on a business trip.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing