We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another good stay”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed at the Belmont on 5 occasions now and each one has been as good. I have only needed to stay for one night but that does not detract from the friendly and efficient welcome you get from the moment you step inside the hotel.
Good location on the New Walk and you are only a 10-15 minute walk to the University one way or nearest bars and restaurants the other ( 5 minutes from a costa coffee, subway and tesco too).
Railway station 5-10 minutes walk and easily accessible.
I always asked for the same room and was obliged each time. Good parking available and they are good enough to let you park well past your check out time as long as you let reception know. Only ate in the restaurant on one occasion and that was ok, but they are introducing different theme / gastro nights which could be worth a try if you are there.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying in Leicester. Breakfast is a mix of Full English with a self service style too. Ample choice of everything.

Room Tip: There are lots of different styles of room, so perhaps if you have a specific requirement ask in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

A late review but have been back since and everything is still as lovely as before so thought I ought to give my review :)
We had our civil partnership and evening do here and from beginning to end the service and attention we received was excellent.
The hotel itself is lovely and modern yet cosy, we had an executive room with a great view of the New Walk park - clean, spacious and quiet.
All of our guests heavily praised the staff both behind the bar and in reception and I couldn't agree more, we may even come for the New Year celebration as the food was so delicious too

Room Tip: Definately splash out on an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennycrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear JennyCrayon
Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your special day with us! We're very pleased you and your guests felt looked after by our team, and hope to see you for New Years Eve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at The Belmont for two nights and found it very enjoyable . Our suit was room 108 , what a lovely room . It had lots of character but modern aspects , like the two flat screen tv`s and the modern bathroom with spot lights in the floor .
The breakfast was excellent.
The staff were first rate and helpful and couldn`t do enough .
Would always stay here if in Leicester . Thanx.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have know The Belmont Hotel for many years, we often stayed for their new year events, but the overwhelming feeling is that it's best years are behind it.... This is definitely not the case!!!

We recently stayed for 3 nights and could not fault our stay at all. We arrived early, but we're allowed straight to our rooms. The booking was for an Executive room and we were given room 222. This is one of the rooms that have been modernised, as referred to in some of the other reviews. The room is just great, very spacious and protrudes out towards the car park. This means you do hear people arriving, but keeps you away from any noise from the main street and new walk area.
Our only complaint was the room was very warm, but one quick call to the reception and they delivered a fan, which made things much more comfortable.

The buffet breakfast was a little low on choice for vegetarians, but was fresh, hot and the serving team were very attentive, despite being very busy.

Room service was very good and the bar area very comfortable.

In summary, in an industry that is becoming very distinguish one hotel from another, the Belmont buck this trend and you definitely feels like you are staying in a unique hotel, with their location, decor and most importantly service. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Exec room 222 was spacious and quiet when we stayed. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Gavin
Thanks so much for the review, the team and I were really pleased you were pleasantly surprised! We're very happy that you enjoyed the stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife and I only stayed for one night,but we found it very enjoyable.the welcome we recieved on arrival was warm and enthusiastic even tho we didnt get there until nearly 10pm! The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. The breakfast we had in the morning was yummy and a snip at £5(pre- booked).overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have just returned from staying 2 nights at the Belmont Hotel in Leicester with my Partner and we both have come away thinking what a great Hotel this is. From the moment you arrive when you are warmly greeted by Reception you will find all the staff are friendly and accommodating. What a refreshing change to stay in a Hotel where you actually feel like a guest and are treated well. We took advantage of the dinner bed & breakfast (with 2 cocktails inc) on the Friday night and just the Bed & Breakfast on the Saturday night and both are fabulous offers. The inclusive Dinner had a great choice and the breakfast was all freshly cooked and of a very high quality - all served by staff who were so helpful in organising vegetarian options etc. The location on "New Walk" in the centre of Leciester meant a 5/10 min amble in to town was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal if it fits in with your plans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was a business trip and frankly I wasn’t expecting too much. However, both the room and food were at the top end of competitive for a good quality business hotel and the staff, who were friendly and helpful from the outset, really came into their own when my car broke down and I was stranded unexpectedly for some hours.

Both the desk and the dining room/bar took an interest and went out of their way to organise things which were out of their normal routine. As I was leaving several staff enquired about how I was getting on – and in a way that suggested they were concerned rather than it was a ‘requirement’ of their customer service training. Even if I am cynical enough to think that training was the probable reason for their courtesy – it was nice to be asked anyway.

As a small added bonus – the hotel is next to a very pleasant pedestrian walk right into the centre of town, which is useful to know if you want to eat out.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quite location so all rooms are quite. Rooms vary in size to some extent - so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Part-Time-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Part Time Walker
Thanks so much for your review of the hotel, you're right we do train our staff to be polite and curteous, but we also look for people who we think are genuinely nice, and reward service that goes above and beyond because we want people to feel like their welcomed into our home, that's the difference when you stay at a 77 year old family run hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £73 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing