We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GUINEA PIGS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Brampton
2 reviews
“GUINEA PIGS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have used this hotel twice for our annual reunions and have found it to be satisfactory in every way. It is convenient for the city, although in a fairly quiet location; it is comfortable and the bedroom facilities are good; the food is of good quality and plentiful.
My only source of minor disappointment is that their service tends to be very slow. However, in mitigation, it must be said that they were very full with another reunion on the same night and it is quite conceivable that the kitchen staff would be fully stretched.
I can certainly recommend this hotel and the quality of its service.

Room Tip: Choose one of the exceutive suites - there's plenty of room to spread out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p7pashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    339
    127
    46
    17
See reviews for
152
226
75
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Only gripe is that the double bed could be bigger, sleeping on the edge I nearly fell out! The staff are very helpful and the room was very clean. Breakfast was excellent as were the staff (in particular a lovely african looking young lady who was extremely polite). The room was nice and also quiet. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Visited Leicester with my wife and daughter to take part in the Leicester Half Marathon. Staff incredibly friendly and happy to accommodate (a) late check-out so I could shower after the run and (b) an early breakfast so I had some energy inside me. Room was a huge family one with a double bed the size of a small nation state plus a fold-out for my daughter.

This is not a chain hotel with every single aspect modern and text book, but it is great value for money, clean, friendly and unique. Will definitely be back.

Location is in a very pretty, quiet, tree-lined street within walking distance of the city centre and rail station.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel, near the station & City Centre but in a leafy area with very little traffic noise. Our room was an executive one & was very spacious with two chairs, a table & a small settee. It was extremely well equipt with tea/coffee kit, iron/ironing board, haIrdrier & flat screen tv. The bathroom was spotless & had top of the range toiletries,big soft towels & a really good power shower (over the bath). The bed is huge with Egyptian cotton bedlinen. We had a light meal in the bar & it was delicious. Breakfast was good too. Sausages & bacon were good quality but I wish hotels would keep the breakfast buffets just a wee bit hotter but this seems to be a problem in the majority of hotels unless the breakfast is cooked to order. The pubic areas are well decorated & well kept & I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a small local hotel in a great location near Leicester University. It has a couple restaurants a bar, and I think 26 rooms. I am sure it must have been a half dozen townhouses originally which have all been joined up as the hallways jig and jag al, the way down the hallways to get to your room. Th room we have was a corner room, nice and spacious in the bedroom, but the washroom was a bit cramped but modern. Not of the rooms we peeked into were the same with different decor in each room. Breakfast was a buffet on 3 of the days, then it was gone and it was order from the waiter. The Internet was a bit of a pain, with a slip with a code for an outside service, but this only lasted 2 hours and only worked near the lobby. There is only a tiny, tiny gym but nice that is on New Walk, a pedestrian only path that leads to the park, so terrific for a morning run.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is most evidently not a bland chain hotel. I stayed here for 8 weeks on business after a period in budget hotels. It is the first time I can recall looking forward to returning to my hotel every evening. All bedrooms I occupied were uniquely decorated in bold but comfortable colour schemes. Rooms sizes and shapes varied considerably but there was always more than enough room. Furniture is comfortable and rooms were all well decorated. Bathrooms were individually designed with a range of plumbing, from some quirky examples to the most up to date push button showers.

Public rooms are delighfully well laid out and inviting. This hotel has a local reputation for good cuisine. The same quality standard of restaurant meals is carried through to the presentation of bar meals which are served with style and can be eaten in a bistro style cafe/restaurant dining room or the bar area.

Staff were at all times friendly and courteous. There were always sufficent of them to avoid waiting unduly for anything one wanted.

The hotel showed minor signs of worn and fading decor in corridors, but it was clear to me that the owners are prioritising their investment in the more important areas of bedrooms and public areas.

I would willingly stay here again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here while I attended a conference at the University. It is very convenient, located on the New Walk, between the train station and the Uni. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby. The street is quiet, with no noise at night. There are no bars near enough to be heard.
The breakfast was quite good, with a very English selection of haddock, kippers, or salmon and poached eggs, along with a buffet menu. Service was excellent, both at breakfast and at the front desk.
The room itself, while confortable, was a bit small, with an awkward positioning of the television on one wall of the room, quite close to the end of the bed, so that we were ducking it when we needed to duck around it a bit. It would have better suited a single traveller - as a couple we found it a bit small. This was a minor problem, and did not detract from our overall good feel of the hotel. There was a large closet, which we used for one of our suitcases.
No complaints about the bathroom, it was large enough, with good basic supplies.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Leicester.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoDiGirolamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing