We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one night stay - nothing special, but nothing wrong either” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A one night stay - nothing special, but nothing wrong either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed for one night mid-week when visiting family. Pleasant hotel with pleasant staff, breakfast more than adequate and service friendly and courteous. It's not a boutique hotel, it's not a grotty B&B. It's just a perfectly acceptable hotel. Perfect for our purpose of a hearty breakfast, somewhere to bathe and a decent night's sleep. We'd stay again, but probably wouldn't recommend it if the hotel you stay in and its features are a key part of your holiday, rather than just being a base. Reasaonably priced and clean - no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Wow!
Five stars for Sleep Quality,Service and Value!
Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    339
    127
    47
    17
See reviews for
153
226
75
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Belmont considering the money we paid for room only. we stayed in room 137 and having stayed in a lot of hotels I felt the room was filthy. There was chipped paint and toe nails on the floor in the bedroom, and the bathroom floor was just as dirty. The bath did not look like it has been cleaned and had water stains and loads of mildew in it.
Unfortunately I had broken my leg a few days before our stay at the Belmont, i understand this is an old Georgian hotel and their are steps everywhere but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has difficulties getting around. I was disappointed with the reception staff as I was in a wheelchair and my partner had to juggle pushing me around, all our bags and getting around the labyrinth of hallways and stairs. Not one hotel staff offered us any help, even though the person at reception did stay we would have to manoeuvre around stairs etc and could clearly see we would struggle.
My manager asked us to check out the hotel as a possible venue for our Christmas party next year (my company met here for a few drinks before we went on to our Christmas party on the Friday night and were impressed with the bar area), unfortunately I will not be recommending the Belmont for any event or as a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnekaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Anneka
Thank you for your feedback. It's a shame you couldn't have given us details about your wheelchair prior to booking, calling or booking direct enables us to talk through our options and make sure we can accomodate your requirements. We have a ground floor bedroom very near reception with a wetroom (fold down seat) and wide access doors for wheel chair users, if you had put any request for wheelchair access on your booking we would have allocated this room (Or contacted you if it was not available) although this room may not have been available on the £55 special that you booked.
I would advise all guests with mobility issues to talk to us as we are in a 150 year old building. As for the cleanliness of your room I can only apologise, my head of housekeeping has moved the member of the team who serviced your room back into training, I hope both you and other users of Tripadvisor can see by other reviews that this is certainly not our normal standard.
I'm sorry you and your team won't be joining us for your xmas party next year - The guests we looked after this weekend for parties were very happy and have re-booked for 2013 so hopefully their experience was more like the standard we aim to give our guests.
I'm sorry again that your experience of the Belmont did not match your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

i regularly stay at The Belmont when working in Leicester and, considering its modest prices, it is a decent hotel in a pleasant location. Rooms do vary considerably, given the labyrinthine nature of the building, and some colleagues have been less impressed with their accommodation. What it lacks in facilities it makes up for with good, friendly service.

Most rooms are of a good size and many have upgraded bathrooms although there is sometimes a compromise on the available space to fit everything in. Wi Fi is available, but only the first 2 hours is complimentary, which is a real negative in my book. On my last visit I had a room overlooking New Walk which would have been delightful had this not been the middle of Diwali. An early night was interrupted first by fireworks and later by a large and noisy crowd of revellers.

I've not eaten dinner here as yet but breakfasts are very good with decent ingredients and freshly prepared hot food rather than the greasy buffet common in most chain hotels. The scrambled egg, which for me is a touchstone, was as good as I've eaten anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here after a wedding, the bedroom was warm comfortable, and nice decor. The bed and pillows (goose feather) was the most comfortable i have come across in a hotel for a long time. Good supply of toileteries, hairdryer, tissues in bathroom. The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice, continental and cooked, good quality sausage and bacon.
The staff were all very good helpful and efficient, I did hear foor abobe and corrider craking as people walked along late at night but this is an old building with character, so can't be helped, better than a sterile modern box

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cariad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We only stayed here one night, but would happily have stayed much longer. The Belmont's been fashioned out of five Georgian terraced houses, so the corridors go up and down a few steps and around unexpected corners, adding to the individuality of the place; none of the prefabricated feel of so many modern hotels. Our room was clean and very comfortable, with a spacious and well-appointed bathroom - substantial walls, so no problems with noise. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We missed out on breakfast (early train to catch) but from a glance into the dining-room it looked good.

The Belmont's some five minutes walk from the station, situated beside the New Walk (said to be the oldest purpose-built pedestrian street in England). The old centre of the city (cathedral, etc) is an easy 15 minutes stroll.

Worth noting - if you book your room two weeks in advance you get a 15% discount.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

lovely hotel, superbly clean, wonderful staff, i am looking forward to going again, breakfast was a good selection and the maitre-d remembered me after 1 day. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful even to the extent of talking me through the last 5 minutes of my trip to get me safely to the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at The Belmont. I was without a car for the trip so one of the things I loved most about the hotel was how well located it was. It was walking distance from the station and from the town center. The street the hotel is on is a quiet one which I appreciate. The rooms were clean and featured nice, modern interior design with some interesting architectural features.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing