We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unable to sleep”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unable to sleep”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for one night with my 3 year old. We were given a small room which overlooked a flat roof with extractor fans and possibly some kind of generator. The room was ok, although there was a wall socket loose. It was nice to have tea making facilities and the biscuits were a lovely touch. The shampoo etc in the bathroom was also great. Staff were polite and let me check in 25 mins early which was very helpful.

The generator noise was relentless - all day and night until the early hours and starting up again at 7am.The window frame was vibrating and I felt like we were sleeping on a train. I mentioned it on check-out and the receptionist seemed surprised. I find this hard to believe as you can hear the noise when standing in the car park! There was also loud music from nearby but I expect that on a Saturday night in the centre of a city.

Hotel decor was a bit odd. There is a sign saying 'kennel' pointing up some stairs. There's a full size china dalmatian at the top of the stairs, which don't lead anywhere. It scared my daughter as she thought there would be dogs in the corridors.

Shame really as the location is great. Will not stay here again. Avoid room 117 at all costs.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontipines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest
I'm so sorry our china dog Rupert upset your daughter, he is there to remember a lovely dog that used to belong to the director - but absolutely not intended to frighten. I'm also very sorry about the noise you experienced in your room. I have been into the room today with my maintenence manager to see what we can do to reduce the impact of the extraction unit for the kitchen. That said I have already spoken to the kitchen team as it should not have been running after 10pm at night. For your disturbance I am very sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    350
    129
    48
    18
See reviews for
155
241
75
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here overnight in one of the executive rooms due to winning local competition.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Staff all very polite and pleasant. Quality of accommodation was very nice and the breakfast was a perfect finish to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We (2 adults child and dog) stayed Saturday night for a rugby match . The hotel's location is brilliant opposite New Walk a pretty pedestrian walk into town or to the pitch. The hotel is one of those older individual hotels but was a definite step up from tired and dated despite a jumble of decorative styles .

We had room 217 which was perfect as we had the dog with us. We were directly opposite the back stairs so we could take the dog out for a walk without dragging it through the whole hotel. There is a small hall with 3 doors. One led to a large bedroom with comfy double bed. One to a nice bathroom with a little bit of grout grime (but not much) and thirdly there is a tiny room with bunkbeds. All had nice linens and were clean and bright. Breakfast was very nice with a good buffet choice of hot items (including black pudding) and pastries, cereals and fruits.

When we got back from the match at 10pm we found a note saying that 3 out of 5 boilers had gone down. We could use another room or change rooms. However as it was so late we couldn't really do either.To be fair since our team (Stand up for the Saracens!) won we would have been happy to stay anywhere so we weren't bothered. Might have been more problematic for others.The staff gave us a discount without quibble in the morning when we checked out. All the staff we met were very good, being friendly,polite and efficient without any trace of "guests are a nuisance" attitude you can sometimes get in hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and excellent service throughout. Even though we missed dinner service (by a few minutes only), the kitchen staff still took our order and we had it delivered to our room, what a bonus. And the food was very good too, so that makes for two very happy customers.

As new pet owners, we had no idea what to expect of a pet-friendly hotel. The room was spacious, looked recently refurbished and very clean - 5 stars :)

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WiiGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Me & the wife went there on a valentines dinner break last Saturday, and we enjoyed every minute. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy and the Restaurant was superb.
Location is very close to the station, and we walked into Leicester's main shopping center within 5 minutes. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Book early and get upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahamas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

When my husband and I travel, we prefer the smaller more intimate places with "local flavor" as opposed to one of the chain hotels that are the same all over. In this respect, the Belmont did not disappoint. The lobby and eating areas were always buzzing and we found the entire staff to be extremely nice and helpful. The location was ideal, as it was within walking distance of both the University of Leicester and the train station. The decor (we had a large refurbished room) and style of the hotel was pleasant and inviting. The beds were extremely comfortable. The only drawback I found is that the shower stall could have used some grout cleaner. It was not filthy, but I feel the grout in a hotel shower should be completely white and not show any sign of mold.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My mother and father met whilst working at the hotel nearly 50 years ago. They have since had 4 children and 3 grandchildren who had not yet had the pleasure of visiting this hotel.
This comes a few months late but we brought my parents back to the hotel in November '12, we didn't stay overnight as, due to my disorganisation, by the time I got around to booking, there were no Rooms available.

We booked a table for a meal and were greeted with exceptional service, which remained throughout our meal, the food was excellent too. We didn't see the rooms but the decor in the restaurant and downstairs areas was beautiful.

We will be returning as a family later on in the year, this time booking in sufficient time to reserve rooms, which I have no doubt will be as wonderful as the rest of our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSunshine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
899 reviews
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing