We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service and a disappointing room”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I paId for a one night stay a few weeks in advance. However, a week or so before my stay I was obliged to change my booking, moving it forward a night. They were happy to do this. However, when I came to check in on the revised date there was no record of my having changed my booking and, despite having paid for a room, nothing was reserved. I waited for five minutes or so while the receptionist searched silently on her computer for a room. She eventually informed me that me that I was 'lucky' as they were not fully booked and had several rooms free. The tone was reproachful and there was no apology for the mix-up. I was then asked to pay for the room I had already paid for. More searching on the computer ensued and several more minutes passed before she was able to confirm I had paid. Again, there was no apology or acknowledgement of error. I was eventually given a room. The room was small, old, tired, and without a proper shower, and generaly rather gloomy and depressing. I felt I had been given an inferior room as retribution for the trouble I had caused the receptionist (though perhaps all the room in this hotel are in this state). It was disappointing, to say the least. On checking out the next morning I was again asked to pay for a room I had paid for in full several weeks before. On the plus side the hotel is within walking distance of the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

As mentioned in my email to you I am very dissapointed that the service you experienced was not as it should be, and that because we were busy we only had older style rooms available. I am working with my reception team to improve service, and with the MD to plan for more refurbishment in the first quarter of 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for The Belmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed for one night in an executive double room. Very clean, well furbished with an excellent bathroom and a very comfy bed. Great service by some attentive staff. Also a good location with only a 5 minute walk to the City center.
Only two small quibbles. It's an old building so has some creaky floorboards and the Wi-Fi was not the best.
Would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: We overlooked New Walk and with the Church opposite a great view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinmbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at the Belmont Hotel for one night in October. It was a last minute decision, based mainly on the hotel's location (close to New Walk) and room price, but I enjoyed my stay. The hotel staff were very helpful, as I had to ring a couple of times to check and confirm details. I arrived very late (after 11 p.m.) but had no problems with late check-in. I had deliberately chosen one of the non-refurbished rooms, as I was just looking for a place to sleep, and whilst the decor was (obviously!) old-fashioned, the bed was very comfy, the TV was more modern, and the shower was good, functional and hot (if not very pretty!). The room was also a decent size and I had no problems with traffic noise. I had a good night's sleep (and a good breakfast the next morning) and would stay here again if visiting Leicester for work.

Room Tip: The non-refurbished rooms are a bit chintzy and 80s, but offer good value for money if you're no...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LambethBarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here with three friends for one night. I pre-booked the rooms, at least a month before. Upon arrival at the hotel, I discovered that although I had booked two rooms, they had only reserved one. This was not what I expected, especially when booking so far in advance. The receptionist did not seem to care and the Deputy Manager tried to fob us off with a bottle of wine as compensation, despite not even asking if any of us actually drank alcohol. TERRIBLE. We were then offered the only room available as an alternative, which was a smoking room. I'm sorry but since when are you able to smoke in hotel rooms?! It smelt vile and there was no attempt made to even freshen the room up with air fresheners - we were given a bottle of spray and expected to do it ourselves! Fuming! Rooms and the whole hotel infact, are very, very dated and require updating, which is a shame as it looks lovely from the outside. Managed to get a small discount on the room after being told, we already had the best rate available. Not acceptable. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel is HUGE. Be prepared for endless walks, down endless corridors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I'm very sorry for your experience. We are working to move our booking system to an online system early next year which should eliminate over booking. A great deal of our accomodation has been refurbished but yes we do still have 3 smoking rooms, this helps as we are able to offer them to smoking guests so that they don't smoke in our refurbished bedrooms. I have tried to contact you to discuss this further by emailing you via tripadvisor.
As a 4th generation family business for almost 80 years it pains me personally when we disappoint our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Location is very good with easy access to New Walk which leads straight into the city. Plenty of restaurants nearby, I ate in one night having wood pigeon to start which was a little over cooked the turkey dinner was very nice. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff very friendly oh and I did have , a sandwich for lunch also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Ian
Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay at the Belmont, we're very pleased you rated the location of the hotel with 5* and that you enjoyed your Turkey, breakfast & sandwich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival we were given the keys to our room and duly walked the couple of minutes to it only to find that room had not been made up. Were allocated another which was duly ready. Pleasantly surprised with the room, excellent shower and decent bed, more attention could have been made to cleaning i.e. hovering of the carpets. This small point was to be followed throughout the hotel, lampshades not on correctly, dirty windows in restaurant and I had 2 coffees whilst there both served in cups with chipped rims. Small items I know but it is these small things that either make or break the decision to return or recommend. Very well located, good parking and inexpensive it just feels as though it needs a keener eye for detail from staff and management to elevate it above the norm. A drunken guest who could not find his room in the early hours disturbed our sleep on the night we stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Nick, many thanks for the feedback about your stay, really glad you found the location excellent and enjoyed the room. I am ordering hoover parts as I write and have been into the bar and found three cups with chipped rims that have gone straight in the bin! I will talk to my bars manager about this, and that standards we must maintain, and to my housekeeper about the hoovering. I will also walk round with my housekeeper and maintenance manager and make sure we are more vigilant about the detail (including lamp shades) in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for a Cheistmas event....which went really well. The hotel had a discounted rate for the function guests and we decided that as this wouldn't cost much more than two taxis we would stay over. Our room was lovely....spotlessly clean and well decorated. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious....piping hot and perfectly cooked.

I would certainly stay there again.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear JulieAnn
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas party, accomodation and breakfast, and that you found the team friendly & welcoming. Have a great festive Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
653 reviews
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 40 in Leicester
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing