We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Nottingham
1 review
“Flawless”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Fab hotel, fab staff, brilliant food, lovely view from room. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The best hotel in Leicester by far!! (The Marriot is too corporate, The Belmont is a lot friendlier)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review of the hotel, the team are chuffed to bits with your comments! We are working really hard to impove our service, in line with our work to improve our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    347
    129
    48
    18
See reviews for
155
238
75
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed at the Belmont Hotel last night with my husband as we came to visit family and do some christmas shopping, We picked the belmont as it was a central location, We had a lovely stay the lady on reception was very friendly and courteous, our room that we stayed in was fantastic and the hotel was just five minutes from the city centre

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgm2Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2009
Dear guest
Many thanks for your very positive review of the hotel. We hope you will choose us when planning your next visit to Leicester, and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I stay regularly at The Belmont and with a group of 18 guests stayed there last night in a room I've never stayed in before, which was clean and comfortable with every amenity. Contrary to the previous reviewer, Steve and his colleagues on Reception has always been courteous and extremely helpful and always goes the extra mile to do whatever he can to make stays as good an experience as possible. The Belmont is undergoing refurbishment of rooms and the completed rooms are stylish, elegant and extremely comfortable. It has been my experience that the rooms yet to be completed are still kept clean and comfortable and the restaurant is very good. The hotel is in an excellent position relative to the town centre, restaurants, the station and the new Leicester Tigers rugby stadium all of which are within an easy and pleasant walk. Unlike the big chain hotels in Leicester, The Belmont offers a welcome into an interesting building with individually styled rooms and personal attention.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerninglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very positive review of the hotel, the team and I are really pleased you enjoy what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Like many hotels the Belmont's reception and bar areas flatter to deceive. Leather chairs and a walkway created along the front of the individual houses the hotel is composed of create a pleasant welcoming atmosphere . Only when you enter the warren of corridors is the full story of the place apparent. Its very dirty, dingy and run down. The lifts [elevators] are out of the ark, small doorless in one case and grungy in the extreme. The first room we were offered [401] was dark, and seriously in need of redecoration. The small bathroom smelled strongly of urine. When we asked to be shown another room we were shown four adjacent rooms in a different part of the hotel, all of which stank of stale tobacco smoke . [It seems this hotel positively encourages smokers, so if you do smoke this might be for you if you are not too fussy about other things]. No other non smoking rooms were available and although we had booked well in advance we were told by a surly reception manager called Steve that the hotel's “refurbished rooms” were all booked by other people [ obviously more important than us] and none was available “ We cant refurbish all 75 rooms at once” was Steve's excuse, thus confirming that the rooms were indeed in need of refurbishment. How many had actually been refurbished and what they might be like was not revealed.

Internet access is £5 [$8.50] per hour which possibly tells you all you need to know.

Truly awful. Avoid and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DencUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback.

I trust other users of Tripadvisor will bear in mind a collection of reviews when making their purchasing decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Stayed here on business for two nights. My room was on the second floor and was very smart and immaculately clean - obviously recently renovated with modern stylish fittings and a large well equipped bathroom. The bed was the best hotel bed I've stayed in for a long time!
One of my colleagues stayed on the first floor. Her room was yet to undergo such an overhaul and it was rather tired. The staff went out of their way to move her to the second floor but without luck. They acknowledged that the renovation was an ongoing process and that it would be a while before the overall renovation would be complete. My advise would be to check you are in a 2nd floor room before you go!
The staff were fantastic - pleasant, always smiling and happy to oblige at every opportunity!
Location too was excellent - with the lovely walk into town and only a couple of minutes walk to the station.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very positive comments about the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We went to the Belmont for a family wedding - lots of our friends and family were also staying there - this worked out very well, since it's a large and friendly hotel with lots of space for everyone to stay in the same place which was lovely. The downstairs area of the hotel has recently been refurbished, it's not terribly stylish but it's comfortable and modern, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the place generally has a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was fine - lots of choice, though they did seem to run out of food on one of the days we were there!!
The bedrooms are a bit of a contrast to the communal areas of the hotel - they're very old fashioned - lots of chintz and peach floral wallpaper - it felt like stepping back in time! I think if we'd been going there for a weekend break rather than for a family event I'd have been really quite disappointed by the room, but since we were there for a do, it didn't really matter. It does sound from reading other reviews on here as though they've started doing up some of the rooms but all the ones we looked in (apart from the bride and groom's, thank goodness!) were stuck in an early 80s timewarp, so if you were going and you cared about the room you might want to double check!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorriedLookingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2009
Dear Guest
Really glad you found the hotel clean, friendly and well located and that you thought we gave good service. As mentioned in other reviews we are working through our refurbishment program and now appoximately 40 of our 75 rooms are of a more modern style. Our traditional style rooms are well equipped and well maintained as you will read on the "rooms" page of our website. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Having never been to leicester and visiting for a friend's birthday, it was very easy to locate the hotel in the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. I loved the room which looked great as it was newly refurbished. I would really reccommend a stay just because how comfortable the bed was!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engima4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Customer Service manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Guest
Many thanks indeed for your very positive review of the hotel, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing