We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice independent hotel”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Nice clean hotel, well run, good service. Good rooms, bathrooms and foyer areas. Although some of the have rooms do suffer from noise from the kitchen fans they do stop around 11ish. I have stayed here on residential courses now three times, and always found the stay at the hotel very pleasant.

There is a very poor mini gym, however the hotel has a deal for £5.95 to use the Nuffield Health (Canons) off the University campus, which is an extremely good gym with pool. Located near to the University of Leicester and the Tigers ground. Next to a very pretty pedestrian walked area that leads into town, far enough outside of central Leicester to avoid the horrors of the town centre.

Breakfasts are good and conference facilities fine. Only real downside is the evening meals which are overpriced, main courses tend to be complicated which although they look good do taste rather bland. Fortunately there are loads of good curry houses nearby so plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandydog30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay, and thank you for mentioning our affiliation with Nuffield Health. We also have food available in our bar which is less "complicated" and I will talk through your comments with my Chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for The Belmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

The best you could say about an hotel is you would have no probelms returning, and this is ever so true about this hotel, the rooms are huge, very clean, the bed was the best hotel bed I've slept in for a good while, the breakfast was outstanding and the overall service above average. Although we were not in town for rugby, if your looking for a great hotel within walking distance of the Tigers ground look no further, being a rugby fan (Ospreys) I know the hotel I will be looking to book if in Leicester again, very close to the city centre, you walk down a leafy lane right in to the town, where you will find good restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travelwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear John
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of the hotel, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We, like you, are big rugby fans and home or away supporters are always welcome for pre-match food, or thourough post match analysis (Over a cold beer or two).
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

A real surprise and it shows just how chain hotels can get it wrong - the hotel staff are friendly, the rooms spotless and the breakfast was delicious - fresh good quality food served with kindness and care. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear guest, many thanks indeed for your review of the hotel, and for your lovely comments. The team are really pleased that you like what we have to offer and felt you were treated with "kindness & care". We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The hotel is fantastic and in a great location. We stayed for 2 nights at the weekend in a deluxe executive room (don't bother with a standard room as there is a huge gap in quality and only a £10 difference in price).
The room and bathroom was excellent and we were very impressed with the furnishings. We just could not understand how they could provide a king size bed that felt like a soft sponge when lying on it. Most people like a medium firm mattress not an ultra soft one. This coupled with a lack of a cot in the room for the baby when we were told it would be brought to our room left us with little sleep. The second night being so tired and having a cot was a lot better.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear Anthony, really glad you thought the hotel was "Fantastic" but really sorry that the cot was not brought to your room when you requested. I will certainly take this up with my front of house team, as we know how important this request was for you. I must say we do get a lot of positive feedback about our matteresses, but I think it can be quite a personal preference- We will try and find you a firmer one! Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A smashing hotel - lovely building, excellent staff and customer service, first rate breakfast, beautiful environment on Leicester's New Walk, and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinWilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Dear Colin
Many thanks indeed for your fantastic review of the hotel, the team are chuffed to bits with your comments- in particular that you thought they are "excellent staff"!- We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont, and thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Last summer my husband and I had our wedding reception at the Belmont. This September, my Father in Law married his fiancee and chose the Belmont, largely based on how wonderfully they organised and executed our day.

As a guest I have only good things to say. The food was divine, the room beautiful, huge and very very comfortable. As we had booked an executive room, it was very nice to have dressing gowns (especially useful when you are getting ready for a wedding with hair and make up to do!)

I know other guests in our extended party complained that on the Saturday night (the wedding was a Sunday) there was noise from another wedding which disturbed them. Neither myself nor my husband were disturbed by this noise at all, and actually expected it anyway, knowing as we all did, that there was a wedding that night.

The staff, as ever, were very attentive, friendly and did all they could to assist us. Again, speaking as guests, not the bride and groom, we felt the day was seamless.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank july31stbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for you review of your stay, the team and I are very happy that you found your visit "seamless".
I am fully aware of the noise some other guests in your party were exposed to and as a result we have changed several policies within the hotel to minimise the impact of wedding events on other guests, including making the cut off for music earlier in the night. We do work hard to strike the right balance and take care of our weddings alongside all our other guests staying at the Belmont.
Many thanks again for your review of your stay and your kind comments about the team and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights to enable us to go on a day trip from Leicester station to Carlisle by steam train. The staff were very welcoming, our room was very comfortable and the standard of cleanlness could not be faulted. We had dinner in Cherrys restaurant on friday night and it was delicious - the wine was also very good. The waiting staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was limitless! and we would not hesitate to reccomend the hotel and intend to stay here again ourselves. It was lovely to find a hotel which delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Jacky
Thank you so much for your review of the hotel, the team and I are delighted by your comments, and we are all glad you felt we "delivered what we promised"
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 40 in Leicester
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £70 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing