We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time lucky”

YO! Sushi - Highcross Leicester
Ranked #257 of 1,159 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I found my very first visit to Yo!sushi quite expensive, but their blue Monday was an excellent way to taste without counting your dishes. I had 4 main dishes and a dessert and loved all of them. firecracker salmon rice, battered king prawns, raw beef and a portion of surprise balls. I wasn't in the mood to match dishes back to the menu (something a lot of guest do), I just enjoyed them all. I am not sure what they do with the dessert rice dishes, but just like last time I loved these to. Sweet pancakes, with rice filling and syrup it worked for me. Based on this vsisit I can safely say: "I'll be back..."

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My first sushi”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was the first time I had sushi and I will gladly try it again. I did find it a little pricy though, but I am on a budget. I am sure it's good value. Staff were very nice and attentive too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the concept but poorly executed”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have been to 3 different Yo Sushi branches and I just want to assure you that this review is not the norm.
This particular restaurant seemed poorly managed and run.
The staff greeted us at the door then just pointed to us to find a seat somewhere on the conveyer belt if we could - it was a busy Saturday night. We then had to ask the people sitting next to us for a menu because we were not supplied with one making the whole experience awkward.
The food we ordered hot was very good and the chefs seemed professional - I did however see one chef use an unwashed knife on the different coloured chopping boards - one for meat and one for veg!
Overall, I would be more than happy to visit a Yo Sushi branch again but I will definitely not being using this particular one!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“my most favourite place in Leicester”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I am huge fun of sushi so you'll find me there most of the Mondays (blue Mondays, each dish on the conveyer belt for £2.50).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NareGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good range”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I like the good range of the food and you get to see the chefs making the food. Its all very freshly made and it taste yummy. It is good value for money as you can choose what you like to eat, the price are clearly identified by colour code and the service is good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank penny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YO! Sushi - Highcross Leicester also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to YO! Sushi - Highcross Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing