We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel in central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
home
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for one night. All very clean and smart as only been open 6 weeks! The location was excellent. Room was good. Very generic and uninteresting but everything worked! Kettle, hair dryer etc. Good bedside lights on bendy stalks! The bathroom was well lit and had nice handwash and shower gel, but plastic glasses! Powerful shower in bathroom but would have been better with a door as whole bathroom got wet! It was ideal for one night but would not want to spend any more time there! The check in was easy and staff friendly. The bar was expensive in comparison to other local bars and we ate elsewhere. Only negative was plates left in corridor over night and not cleared away despite staff having been round with check out forms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iggit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review, following your recent stay with us. This is particulary useful as we have only recently opened as you have mentioned.

I was pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and have taken careful note of the comments you have raised. Unfortunatley as the bathroom is a wet room, plastic bathroom glasses are being used in the interest of H&S.

We are currently undergoing a review of our menues and pricing from the feedback already received and will take on board the observations you have made.

With regard to the food tray being left outside your room, this should have been collected and I thank you for your observations once again.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of offering you our Hospitality again in the very near future.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    221
    135
    51
    31
See reviews for
71
132
35
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place is so nice - its modern clean and comfortable. You enter into a really trendy bar area and the check in is informal and friendly. You can sit and have a drink or some food( I did not use the bar ) A spiral staircase or lift takes you upto the room - everything is brand new - really warm reds have been used. The room is so trendy - I loved it - deep red curtains and matching nets - flat screen TV and modern lighting - large plate glass windows and the shower room was fantastic - its a wetroom with moulton and brown toiletries - very modern and unusual. I really enjoyed my stay and cant wait to go back. The hotel is also well located with The Curve theatre just down the road and many bars/restaurant on your doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHarr49768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for placing a review on Trip Advisor. This particularly useful to us as we have only recently opened.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed yoru stay and loved our Hotel. I shall certainly share your comments with our team who will be delighted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the very near future when we will offer you our Hospitality once again.

Sincerely
Henrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here on a 4 day business trip and was very happy with the room which was well appointed with quality fittings and a very comfortable bed albeit slightly small by aussie standards. Staff were very friendly and helpful...........this hotel is very well located to the city centre and has a great variety of restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the door, so consequently we did not eat at the hotel so i can't comment on the quality of the restaurant
We did several meetings in the large reception/bar area which we found to be comfortable and well serviced by friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel as being good value for money and would happily stay here again when next in Leicester

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay with us. As I am sure you will appreciate, it is only through such guest feedback that we are truly able to monitor the standards of service and product quality we offer our guests. As we have just recently opened, your feedback is particularly useful to us.

I was happy to learn that you liked our Hotel and would gladly return. I sincerly hope that you will and look forward to offering you our Hospitality again in the very near future.

Yours Sincerley
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

back in town on a business trips, meet some old friends here for dinner and although the surroundings were nice the food did not do it justice, was ok but will hope for better on next visit.That said my room was perfect and just what i needed for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a trip advisor review following your recent stay with us. This is particularly useful to us as we have just recently opened the Hotel.

I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with our food offering on your last visit. We have been listening to our guests since opening and are in the process of reviewing our menu as a result of thier feedback.

I was pleased to learn that you were happy with the rest of your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

First of all I need to say that we did not stay at this hotel but only visited the restaurant prior to a show at Curve Theatre. We were hoping that this would prove a good place for a pre-theatre meal on a regular basis. Unfortunately both service and quality of food was not as good as 'chain' restaurants in the city which we would like to better. No record of reservation made in advance, wrong orders, wrong (different) items on bill, cold, overcooked main courses, Cheap looking 'Supermarket' sweets obviously bought in (but highly priced). Both courses quite small portions. Leicester could have done with a different good pre-theatre offering but I'm sorry to say that without some simple customer service training and better food this is not it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to place a Trip Advisor review follwoing your recent visit to our Restuarant. Your feedback is particularly usefull to us as we have only just recently opened the Hotel.

I was sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the quality of food and servce recived during your visit. Please be assured that your comments will be addressed and used to help further develop our new team.

I sincerley hope that you will not be detered from dining with us again in teh very near future when I trust you will see a marked improvement.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

First, let's start with the positives. The room we stayed in was excellent for my one night birthday treat. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the TV had a good range of channels and excellent reception, the en-suite wet room had a powerful shower, and good quality handwash, shower gel etc.

Before we left our room to go downstairs for some food, given the quality of the room and the price paid, the hotel would have received a maximum 5 rating. However, we then made the mistake of going to the hotel restaurant for some food before we went to the theatre.

We cannot comment on the quality of the food unfortunately, as we didn't manage to eat any. We entered the restaurant at 5.30pm, and seeing there were only a couple of other tables occupied, we thought we would have plenty of time to eat our food prior to gettnig ready to go to the theatre, particularly as all we ordered was a BLT Club Sandwich, a portion of chips and Chicken Caesar Salad. 50 minutes later we left the restaurant having not eaten anything. In the meantime, us and the table behind were offered a burger and chips and coq au vin that neither table ordered (twice in the case of the table behind!). Eventually after 45 minutes when the waiter came back to ask us what we had ordered, we gave up.

However, it is possible that this was a one-off "bad day" for the restaurant, and if we return in the future, I hope that we may have a much better overall experience.

But, if I am being honest, however, the restaurant experience did put a slight dampner on our weekend. Furthermore, given that we had a train to catch the following morning, we did not want to risk a delayed breakfast in the hotel, also at £10 a head for a buffet breakfast, we felt that we could get better value elsewhere as my wife only wanted a bowl of cereal. It is unfortunate that many hotels now only offer this one priced breakfast as it does not cater for those with smaller appetites or dietary restrictions.

In conclusion, both the standard of the room, and the accommodation service were excellent (hence the mark of 4 out of 5), however, during our stay our dining experience did leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. This feedback is particularly useful to us as we have only recently opened and it helps us guage how we are doing at this early stage.

I was pleased to learn that you were happy with the standard of your accommodation but particularly dissapointed in the experience you had in our Restaurant. It is quite apparent that your order was missed and unacceptable that you were unable to get a meal in the evening. Please be assured that your feedback is important to us and your experiences will be relayed back to the team and form a part of the training at the Hotel. Breakfast should not have been and issue however as it is self service.

I hope you will accept my apologies and sincerely hope that you will return to the hotel and that we will have the opportunity of offering you our hospitality again. I would be happy for you to call me direct to make any reservation.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Lovely modern hotel. Staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Comfortable bed with modern wet room ensuite. We were on 7th floor with great views over Leicestershire, all the way out to Bradgate Park. Perfectly placed within the cultural quarter, walking distance to several attractions. Short walk to main line railway station if commuting. Convenient secure parking diagonally opposite with greatly discounted fee from hotel validation of your ticket. Plenty to choose from at breaksfast buffet. My girlfriend and I will definately be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. This feedback is particularly useful to us as we have only recently opened and it helps us guage how we are doing at this early stage.

I was pleased to learn that you were happy with the Hotel and what we had to offer, I too enjoy the view from our 7th floor.

I am glad to see that you will be returning to the Hotel with your girlfriend and look forward to the opportunity of offering you our hospitality again.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre

Property: Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Address: 84-90 Charles Street, Leicester LE1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#7 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing