We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Modern, clean Hotel in city centre. Food average. Rooms spotless but do allow street noise in - especially in the quiet of night. Reception staff lovely.
Evening bar staff rude and appeared to be more interested in chatting to their friends who "popped in" to see them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very pleased to learn that you liked our Hotel and that the majority of our staff looked after you well. Please be assured that I have taken careful note of your comments regarding our evening Bar team and have acted upon this accordingly.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    221
    135
    51
    31
See reviews for
71
132
35
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on a Saturday at the end of April with a friend in a twin room.

I've stayed in quite a few other reasonably priced hotels in central Leciester but this is definitely the best - we paid about £55 for the room, having booked a few months in advance.

Our room was very modern and clean with a great shower and comfortable beds. The location, on Charles Street, is only a short walk from the train station and also pretty much in the centre, adjacent to the nearby Granby Street etc. We didn't have breakfast or stay at the bar, but the downstairs looked nicely set up for a few pre going out drinks.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base in central Leicester for a short stay, with great value for a modern city centre hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear John H

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.
I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Hotel to be excellent value for money. I am pleased also that you would be happy to recommend us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I would like to point out that the staff there are excellent. Very happy and lively and helpful. But in particular, a chap at the bar erisson, he is fantastic, friendly, open and easy to talk to but keeps his cool and professional look. Absolute class, he listens ad makes sure you have a great time. I was down daringly stay personal reasons but after speaking to him felt so much better. Girls at reception were helpful especially with locations nearby gave really good recommendations..rooms are good especially for how much you pay but the service of staff makes the stay worth while. Will defo recommend to anyone short stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank john96p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very pleased to learn that you liked our Hotel and thought that our staff were excellent, in particular the bar person looked after you. I hope that we will have the opportunity in offering you our hospitality again in the very near future..

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed two nights based on Trip Adviser reviews and was not disappointed. It was close to the station and convenient for the centre of Leicester - it couldn't be better. Reception was efficient and the room was pleasant and quiet. It was a typical business hotel and the room (109) had been well used with scrapes on the wall, the voile curtain coming away from the header and one of the lights totally destroyed and the wet room rather tired. But the hotel overall was clean and it was a delight to find my satin and lace nightie carefully folded attractively ready for my second night! I didn't have breakfast because of adverse trip adviser comments, but brought the family back for drinks one night and service was prompt and pleasant, even though the bar (hub) was very busy. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pugwashahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very pleased to learn that you liked our Hotel and that you would be pleased to return.

Please be assured that I have taken careful note of your observations and have acted upon them accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice modern room as expected, service is very good, comfortable beds, fast internet with very strong wifi signal in the room, nicely located with few minutes walk to supermarket shop, average value rating was because of the pay parking at the NCP although reduced if ticket is validated at the hotel reception, this needs to be factored in to see if staying in the hotel is great value for money. If travelling by public transport, yes, reasonable value for money if under £40 for one night. Over that price, I would consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMomentHumansBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, Front Office Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very pleased to learn that you were generally happy with the Hotel. City centre car parking can be expensive but we do however have good concessions with the local NCP.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

You get what you pay for with this hotel, to be clear, this is not a bad hotel, staff are friendly and well trained and a the key strength of the place, the breakfast is OK for what you're paying and the decor has some nice touches both in the hotel and the rooms themselves.

However, the views are pretty awful from most rooms and the TVs are in a strange place, indeed, the room layout is a little weird with huge corridors and real wasted space throughout.

A plus is the location, if you are spending time in the cultural quarter of Leicester and the facilities of The Curve are close at hand. Also, the hotel has been recently renovated so is in good shape.

Beds are mediocre though but again, this comes with the constant caveat of what do you expect for the cost. However, I do believe that the other similar priced chain hotels in Leicester would serve you far better in the long run.

Room Tip: If you don't want to stare at an urban wasteland, do make that clear to staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr Abbot

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very pleased to learn that you liked our Hotel and thought that the staff were friendly and well trained.

I would like to add that not all of our rooms are laid out in the way, your room was. The vast majority do not have a corridor to navigate.

I would also like to apologise for the view, but am sure you will appreciate, this is not something that we can influence.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and there is always problem with noise from the street and bottle bins being emptied, the double glazing is really not up to the job. Try and get high up if possible.
Rooms themselves clean & fresh but don't be afraid to move rooms to find a more regular shaped room, they have some very odd shaped rooms.
Breakfast-totally avoid it, watered down orange juice, foul vended coffee and seriously low quality cooked breakfast. Pastries not much better either. It is not acceptable for a Ramada.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OCHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of our Hotel following your stay with us. I was very sorry to learn that you did not like your breakfast and have taken careful note of your comments. We do constantly review of food and beverage offering and your comments are certainly useful.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre

Property: Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Address: 84-90 Charles Street, Leicester LE1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#7 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing