We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Air Conditioning not Working”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just spent two nights at this hotel for our daughters graduation. The hotel looks modern and the rooms a spacious and the beds are comfortable, although the air conditioning was not working and the hotel room was filthy. I complained to reception and they arranged for the room to be cleaned, but on our return the floor was still very dirty. We checked under the bed and the floor had not been cleaned for a number of weeks. I was told at reception that the air conditioning would be repaired, but this didn't happen. So my advise to any future clients is that this may appear to be good value for money, but the standard of accommodation is poor!!!

Room Tip: Avoid if possible. Plenty of better hotels in the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.
I was sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay and that you were let down by our maintenance and Housekeeping departments. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the relevant members of my team and remedial action has been taken.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I returned back to this hotel in early May for 4 nights and what a difference it was from the last time I stayed there. The cleaning staff did a very good job this time on a daily basis, the breakfast was very good as always and the staff very helpful and pleasant without fail. The location of this hotel that is literally across the road from the city is a bonus with lots of good pubs in the surroundings. I would recommend it to anyone who wants the convinence of easy access to the city center.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor with easy access to the lift but no noise at all during the duration...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and could see marked improvements following your previous visit in May.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was nice enough, room comfortable and food edible. All the staff bar one were lovely. Unfortunately the first member of staff was surly, awkward and downright rude. Sam on reception urgently needs some help with his customer service skills.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank omorphocavaliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to see that you were generally happy with your stay but sorry to learn that you felt let down by one of our staff members. Please be assured that your experience on this occasion is not indicative of our usual high standards which I hope would not deter you from returning in the very near future.
Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions as it is ideally located for my work when in Leicester and usually my stays are fine, that is until yesterday.

Upon getting to my room i found that i had been given a twin room despite the fact that I had booked a double room and this was confirmed in the confirmation, I phoned reception to ask why I had been given a twin room and not double and was told that this was the only room available!!!! By this, I can only assume that someone who checked in earlier than me had been given my room.

At 1.45 am I was woken by the noise of loud music, at first I assumed that the music was coming from a nearby room, however after a few minutes I realised that the music was coming from the outside speakers that are connected to the music in the bar. I phoned reception to ask what time the music would stop and the person I spoke to said 'I didn't realise the music was still switched on outside'!!!! The music was switched off immediately. The thing that surprised me most though was the fact that I was staying on the 4th floor with the windows shut but I could still hear the music.

Next time I'm in Leicester I will probably try one of the nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the hotel's outside sitting area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay, particularly as you have enjoyed many visits with us in the past.
I would ask that you accept my most sincere apologies for the confusion concerning your room type allocation and for the late night music outside the Hotel. I am sure you will agree that your experiences on this occasion are not indicative of our usual high standards and hope that you will reconsider returning to our Hotel when next in Leicester.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A reasonable walk from Leicester train station takes you to this good budget hotel. I had a room on a high floor at the end of the corridor and enjoyed the views from the floor to ceiling windows. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well and I liked the wet room in the bathroom which provided a good spacious shower. Breakfast was good and as I always eat poached eggs in hotels I'm becoming an expert on judging their poaching skills! These were good. The staff are friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend being high up for a quieter room and a good view of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptgrrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff hospitable. I am also glad to see that we produced excellent poached eggs for your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed here before, but forgot to review previously! As budget business hotels go this one is as good as can be expected. It is ideally located in city centre, although the car park is across the road. The rooms were nice with comfortable beds (pillow was a little lumpy). Staff were helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to learn that this was a return visit for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the ramada hotel Saturday night(28-6)I found the bedrooms clean and well styled,bed was comfy,most of the essentials where there..eg..tv,kettle....but that was the end of the good points..we went back to our rooms to relax and get some sleep,but unfortunately that did not happen,we were kept up most of the night by people partying in one of the rooms till the early hours..the next morning after maybe an hours sleep we went down for breakfast around 7:45..we walked into what looked like a war zone,with one little soldier running around like her life depended on it..I was obviously angry with no sleep and no breakfast either,however this one waitress did everything she could to get a table clean and get us breakfast amongst the chaos...which she did with a smile which was difficult considering there was no other staff around to help..other than that I would stay there again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik J, General Manager at Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear David C

Thank you very much for writing a review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I was very pleased to learn that liked our hotel and its facilities. However I was sorry to learn that you were disturbed by other guests in the Hotel who demonstrated a disregard to other users.
I would also ask that you accept my apologies for the delays at breakfast, we were a staff member short on that morning, which did adversely effect our service.
I sincerely hope that you will not be deterred from staying with us again, when I can assure you of our every attention.

Sincerely
Henrik Jespersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
901 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre

Address: 84-90 Charles Street, Leicester LE1 1GE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#7 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing