We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure”

Newarke Houses Museum & Gardens
Ranked #17 of 108 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newarke Houses Museum is composed of two historic houses, Wygston's Chantry House and Skeffington House and tells the story of contemporary Leicester and the history of the Royal Leicestershire Regiment. The museum displays include a cinema experience, a collection of toys from Tudor to present day and a play area for children to try various games. Find out more about Leicester's famous son Daniel Lambert and visit a 1950s street scene inspired by Wharf Street that includes the Jolly Angler public house, a grocer and a pawnbroker, with sounds and conversations from the times. Discover more about the story of Leicester at War. Through personal stories find out about the home front and the history of the Regiment, including a recreation of a First World War trench with sound and lighting. Through oral histories, archive film, computer interactives and collections discover the histories of Newarke Houses, the surrounding historic area and contemporary Leicester.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I haved lived in Leicester for nearly 30 years and not realised what an excellent museum this is. I came to see the history of Ugandan Asians settling in Leicester but there is so much more. An excellent way to bring history to life by telling stories through local events and people. I really learnt a lot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank April276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    65
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“History of Leicester and it's people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This museum is more of a local treasure than a worldly museum. I just about had enough time to go in before heading back home to London. I enjoyed the history of stocking, the world's heaviest man and the history of Indians migration from Uganda to Leicester the best. The
upstairs is a regimental museum and looks at the history of Leicesters military through all of the wars.Definately worth visiting if you go to Leicester.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than originally thought...!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Came here due to it being a cold day and there wasnt much to do and was really impressed with the museum and how much was inside!

Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Visited here with my Mum & Dad who are both well into their 80's and as it was Half Term there were lots of families with children enjoying it too. There is lots of interesting things to see and do for all ages, it is over two floors and there are lifts. We were surprised at how much is in there and it is Free admission. We all agreed we would recommend this lovely place to anyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shazza_suga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited the museum with our 5 year old son on a rainy day in the school holidays, struggling for things to do that didn't cost the earth. We were impressed with how much there was in the museum and how well it was done and we all found it interesting. Highly recommended for all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hcp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newarke Houses Museum & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Newarke Houses Museum & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing