We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wall To Wall Excitement”
Review of Jewry Wall Museum

Jewry Wall Museum
Ranked #23 of 108 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Jewry Wall Museum you can discover the archaeology of Leicester's past and find out about the people of Leicester from prehistoric times to the medieval period. A special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, 'Archaeology and Endeavour' explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston's House. The museum grounds contain one of Leicester's most famous landmarks, the Jewry Wall, part of the Roman town's public baths. It is one of the tallest surviving pieces of Roman masonry in the country. The celebration of Leicester's Roman history continues inside the museum, with stunning collections including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece. Complementing our Roman archaeology collections, there are fascinating artefacts from other eras. From ancient stone tools to striking medieval decorated tiles from Leicester Abbey, there's something to interest the whole family.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wall To Wall Excitement”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you're in Leicester for some reason then this is a great place to visit. The figures of Gods look like they are totally tripping balls. The man behind the desk had a pretty sweet mullet but I really feel they missed a trick by not playing Pink Floyd's 'The Wall' on an infinite loop. Furthermore, there was a lack of places to sit down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an interesting visit.

Sorry that you felt that adequate seating wasn't provided, we have since installed several benches around the site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    59
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value money”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Although i have been here before it doesn't seem to have changed. Everything is there that was there last time and there's nothing new but if your looking for something cheap to do then its worth the money just once you've been there there's no reason for going back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

During the winter months we conducted a minor refurbishment to the museum and can now inform you of a special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, ‘Archaeology and Endeavour’ explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston’s House.

We also made some further improvements to the Jewry Wall Museum so we hope you will visit the site again. Admission is always free and we are open every day, February to October, from 11.00am to 4.30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“A bit dull”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visited as part of a day visiting attractions in Leicester city centre.
The museum is devoted to the ancient history of the area including a large section about the Romans. The displays are rather dull and uninspiring, I've seen better museums explaining this part of our history.
Although our party were all adults, I would not recommend this museum to parents and grandparents looking to entertain the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry that you feel this way. Jewry Wall Museum has undergone minor refurbishments since you visited and we can now offer a new gallery, ‘Archaeology and Endeavour’; a re-display of the prehistory section; an interactive kiosk entitled ‘Virtual Romans; and as always the archaeological excavation area and replica clothing to try on.

The Leicester Arts and Museums Learning Team also offer trails and backpacks to use for free, whilst on site.

Maybe there is a special event that you will find entertaining? We offer, for example, family-friendly events, with activities for children, illustrated talks and theatre productions. Please see the Leicester City Council website for further information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historically interesting but a little dull.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I love history and I am an English Heritage member. I have visited many EH sites throughout England and I have to say this one needs a bit of a refurbishment. The interior exhibition appears to be stuck in the past as much of the story it attempted to tell about the history of Leicester, however all that said, it was very informative, I learnt a lot about the City and its history.
The exterior and excavations are the highlight, but again, it struggles to come alive unlike so many other EH sites I have visited.
It is free admission, taking that into account, it is worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BFPO45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Surprise on Our Walking Tour”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was visiting a friend who lives in Leicester and we decided to spend the afternoon doing a walking tour. We found a guided map somewhere online and were following it when we stumbled upon this little gem. Fascinating ruins of Roman baths just sitting out there in the middle of the city beckoned to us to explore more closely, and by so doing we were led to this little museum. We just took a quick, cursory tour of the museum, but even so I learned a lot about the history of Leicester for free. I did contribute a small sum as I was impressed with the artifacts and the educational displays. For a free attraction it is well worth the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewry Wall Museum also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Jewry Wall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing