We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see - do go”
Review of Jewry Wall Museum

Jewry Wall Museum
Ranked #23 of 109 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Jewry Wall Museum you can discover the archaeology of Leicester's past and find out about the people of Leicester from prehistoric times to the medieval period. A special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, 'Archaeology and Endeavour' explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston's House. The museum grounds contain one of Leicester's most famous landmarks, the Jewry Wall, part of the Roman town's public baths. It is one of the tallest surviving pieces of Roman masonry in the country. The celebration of Leicester's Roman history continues inside the museum, with stunning collections including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece. Complementing our Roman archaeology collections, there are fascinating artefacts from other eras. From ancient stone tools to striking medieval decorated tiles from Leicester Abbey, there's something to interest the whole family.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So much to see - do go”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We didn't realize how large this free museum was and stayed until closing time! Impressive and well preserved Roman bath/forum remains in the grounds to walk around. Very good examples of a Roman pavement and wall paintings inside too. Heaps of historical artefacts to look at and read about, as well as skeletons to look at! Definitely worth a visit. We felt it was a museum that didn't get enough attention by visitors as we were almost the only people in there (maybe because it was a Monday?) which seems a shame. It needs more publicity; I only found it by looking on my phone for things to do in Leicester earlier in the day and glad we went.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank TuttiGoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    22
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“No need to stop the car.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The main point of interest is a short section of a wall of the Roman Baths, and as you can see this perfectly well from the road, there is no need to stop the car.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are sorry that you feel this way.

Jewry Wall Museum houses impressive collections, including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece.

We also have a special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester.
‘Archaeology and Endeavour’ explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston’s House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Closed in winter”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Jewry Wall museum is closed in winter. You can see the remaining wall and foundations of the bath houses from the main road but you cant get close up and the museum is closed in the winter months.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S-Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review, unfortunately we are closed throughout November, December and January each year in order to conduct essential maintenance, minor refurbishments and reduce costs where possible.

February to October we are open every day from 11.00am to 4.30pm, admission is always free.

Please see the Leiceter City Council website for further information and listings of our varied events programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wall To Wall Excitement”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you're in Leicester for some reason then this is a great place to visit. The figures of Gods look like they are totally tripping balls. The man behind the desk had a pretty sweet mullet but I really feel they missed a trick by not playing Pink Floyd's 'The Wall' on an infinite loop. Furthermore, there was a lack of places to sit down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an interesting visit.

Sorry that you felt that adequate seating wasn't provided, we have since installed several benches around the site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value money”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Although i have been here before it doesn't seem to have changed. Everything is there that was there last time and there's nothing new but if your looking for something cheap to do then its worth the money just once you've been there there's no reason for going back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

During the winter months we conducted a minor refurbishment to the museum and can now inform you of a special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, ‘Archaeology and Endeavour’ explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston’s House.

We also made some further improvements to the Jewry Wall Museum so we hope you will visit the site again. Admission is always free and we are open every day, February to October, from 11.00am to 4.30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewry Wall Museum also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Jewry Wall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing