We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Roman ruins and museum”
Review of Jewry Wall Museum

Jewry Wall Museum
Ranked #22 of 112 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Jewry Wall Museum you can discover the archaeology of Leicester's past and find out about the people of Leicester from prehistoric times to the medieval period. A special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, 'Archaeology and Endeavour' explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston's House. The museum grounds contain one of Leicester's most famous landmarks, the Jewry Wall, part of the Roman town's public baths. It is one of the tallest surviving pieces of Roman masonry in the country. The celebration of Leicester's Roman history continues inside the museum, with stunning collections including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece. Complementing our Roman archaeology collections, there are fascinating artefacts from other eras. From ancient stone tools to striking medieval decorated tiles from Leicester Abbey, there's something to interest the whole family.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I arrived half an hour before closing time so unfortunately didn't have enough time to look around everything in detail, however I found this a very interesting museum and could easily have stayed much longer if I was able to!

I had no idea that Leicester had the remains of Roman baths and it was really nice to be able to wander around these in the open air and imagine how it would have looked when it was still up and running. I was sad though to find out that the museum itself was situated over part of the remains.

The museum itself was much larger on the inside than I had first expected and had some really fascinating exhibits, particularly some Roman mosaics and wall paintings which gave a great context to the baths outside.

Definitely worth visiting!

5  Thank RowanRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Many thanks for your kind review. The museum is open daily, February to October, 11.00am until 4.30pm. We do hope you can visit again!

The furnaces area of the bath house is the only part not on view - at this stage, I am not aware whether any of that archaeology remained in situ but I have asked the Senior Curator for further information. Please call the museum if you wish to know more.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Jewry Wall Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We didn't realize how large this free museum was and stayed until closing time! Impressive and well preserved Roman bath/forum remains in the grounds to walk around. Very good examples of a Roman pavement and wall paintings inside too. Heaps of historical artefacts to look at and read about, as well as skeletons to look at! Definitely worth a visit. We felt it was a museum that didn't get enough attention by visitors as we were almost the only people in there (maybe because it was a Monday?) which seems a shame. It needs more publicity; I only found it by looking on my phone for things to do in Leicester earlier in the day and glad we went.

5  Thank TuttiGoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The main point of interest is a short section of a wall of the Roman Baths, and as you can see this perfectly well from the road, there is no need to stop the car.

Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We are sorry that you feel this way.

Jewry Wall Museum houses impressive collections, including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece.

We also have a special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester.
‘Archaeology and Endeavour’ explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston’s House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Jewry Wall museum is closed in winter. You can see the remaining wall and foundations of the bath houses from the main road but you cant get close up and the museum is closed in the winter months.

1  Thank S-Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review, unfortunately we are closed throughout November, December and January each year in order to conduct essential maintenance, minor refurbishments and reduce costs where possible.

February to October we are open every day from 11.00am to 4.30pm, admission is always free.

Please see the Leiceter City Council website for further information and listings of our varied events programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you're in Leicester for some reason then this is a great place to visit. The figures of Gods look like they are totally tripping balls. The man behind the desk had a pretty sweet mullet but I really feel they missed a trick by not playing Pink Floyd's 'The Wall' on an infinite loop. Furthermore, there was a lack of places to sit down.

1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewry_Wall, Museum Assistant at Jewry Wall Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an interesting visit.

Sorry that you felt that adequate seating wasn't provided, we have since installed several benches around the site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewry Wall Museum also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Jewry Wall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing