We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Leicester
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed there for one night.
Hotel is located close to city centre and right beside Leicester railway station. It was not hard to find, but a piece of map in booking confirmation email would have been useful.

Room was nice, clean and comfortable with large double bed. As it was stated on their web site- room is suitable for two persons (and in that case price is really great).
My room was facing the railway station, but noise was minimal- not a problem at all for me. (I have to note that I checked very early, before most trains start running).

Overall- great budget hotel- clean, comfortable, great location and even better price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduards Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    259
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
56
158
110
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spent an enjoyable four nights at this hotel. Within walking distance of the city centre. Took me about eight minutes to walk there. Breakfast with plenty of choice and at week-ends you can lie-in, breakfast finishes at midday, very welcome after a night clubbing! The other meals were very tasty and I would say average priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Good value for money but here is my feedback:
1. Room internet did not work, nor did my colleagues. Tried helpline but with no success.
2. No gluten free bread available at breakfast. Most european hotels keep gluten free bread in freezer for coeliac's like me.
3. Limited parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here for one night. Parking is VERY limited (about 15 spaces in total), but I managed to get the last available space. I was in Room 407 which overlooked the railway station and railway station car park. Bed was very comfortable, room clean. Only issue was the noise carrying from the railway station to the hotel (I know the routes of most of the trains leaving Leicester station on a Sunday morning from 8.45-11.45!).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

The proximity of the Ibis Leicester to the train station has its benefits and drawbacks. Whilst the location is just a short walk from the station (max 5 mins), you can also hear during the night at regular intervals the platform announcements. For some, this is ok, however for light sleepers it does become painfully incessant. The room size was fine and it was relatively clean. Shower pressure and temperature are good. However, the bed is rock hard.

Room Tip: They don't have safes in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

All I can say regarding this hotel is that it really is the worst of the worst. I'd like to think I am a fair person but I cannot identify any redeeming features about this terrible establishment. Reception/check-in - awful service given by two ladies who clearly have no clue about how to run a hotel.  Lift - Don't do it, you may die. Room - shocking. Dirty carpet, dirty sink, no proper heating and crap bed.  Restaurant - is part of the foyer and the bar and the entrance.  Food - don't do it.  If you don't like curry, there is nothing for you.  Location - excellent, if you don't mind listening to constant traffic screaming around the hotel and loud train station announcements every 46 seconds. Save yourself the hassle and do not go near this place. The highlight of my visit - leaving. 

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrewsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

For an Ibis the hotel was not up to standard. Rooms were small. The light switches were hanging off the wall. The car park is ridiculously small. The smoking area was right on the main entrance so you have to walk through clouds of smoke to get in. The lifts seemed to stop at every floor on the way to your floor.
Breakfast was over priced so we refused to eat there in the morning.
Will be using a different hotel the next time we stay in leicester

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingedwithguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leicester

Property: Ibis Leicester
Address: St. George's Way | Constitution Hill, Leicester LE1 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leicester 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leicester City is just a short walk from Leicester City Centre, close to the Train Station, Curve Theatre and the Athena. All 94 contemporary guest bedrooms have free WIFI, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The Restaurant offers snacks 24 hours and the hotel bar provides range of wines, beers and spirits. Reception is open 24 hours. Car parking is limited at the hotel, however ample additional pay parking is available within a few minutes walk, just behind the hotel. A short drive from M1, M6 and M69 motorways. 35km from Birmingham International Airport, 40km from East Midlands International Airport. 4km from the National Space Centre. A short walk from the cities restaurants, bars and Highcross shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ibis Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing