We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Chearful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Leicester
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap and Chearful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Ibis in Leicester is on the main ring road ... its a good clean hotel without the frills - so if you're looking for a somewhere to sleep, watch the news on TV and have a good basic English Breakfast at a reasonable price ... this is your place. The staff are warm and work fast and the bar has some good beer. Only downside is parking - there's only a handful of spaces so if you want one check in at 3pm!!!

Room Tip: All the same ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    259
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
56
158
110
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We all know - and therefore presumably accept - that Accor's Ibis brand is a budget one, and presumably therefore that expectations are not as high as "better" brands (I stayed at this establishment due to availability problems elsewhere).

But frankly the staffs' attitude and competence fell below even my low expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Very clean and comfy. Just I did not get any promised internet access, no good quality shower gel and no breakfast. Location was very great: just in front of the Railstation. I stayed there for one night and I get almost all I wanted; pity I did not get any intenet access. Personal was friendly. Great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marturans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The usual Ibis room layout but unusually foam mattresses which I had thought previously were only used in Etap hotels. So not the most comfortable bed but more than adequate for a night's stay.

Room perfectly clean though decor a little worn but nothing horrendous. I'd stay again if I needed to visit Leicester and the location just by the station is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofty_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed over night for works Christmas do at Athena - a 5 minute walk away so perfect location for Cultural Quarter.

Fairly easy to find (aim for Mercedes garage) and was lucky enough to get a parking space thanks to the nice lady on Reception which made my 3 trips to empty the car a whole lot easier...........

Room very clean and much like any other Ibis - basic but acceptable, especially considering I paid only £34. Receptionist efficient and pleasant and bar smelled of freshly cooked chips which was tempting but I managed to walk past without ordering - small bar/restaurant area but looked clean and tidy and fairly pleasant.

Everything worked in the room but really needed 4 pillows as small and thin - just my personal taste! Bathroom could have done with being a little larger as shower water soaked the whole floor which wasn't pleasant when using the loo but the water was hot and powerful and the two small towels provided were clean.

Not too much noise elsewhere which was a pleasant surprise for s city centre hotel in Christmas party season so sleep was pretty decent.

Check out fine - didn't do the all you eat breakfast for £7.50 as too hung over but no real problems at all.

For a night in a city centre hotel for £34 it did exactly what it said on the tin and the free parking was an extra bonus. If I need to stay in Leicester again and can get similar deal I will definitely use this hotel again without question - you get what you pay for ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emskiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leicester

Property: Ibis Leicester
Address: St. George's Way | Constitution Hill, Leicester LE1 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leicester 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leicester City is just a short walk from Leicester City Centre, close to the Train Station, Curve Theatre and the Athena. All 94 contemporary guest bedrooms have free WIFI, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The Restaurant offers snacks 24 hours and the hotel bar provides range of wines, beers and spirits. Reception is open 24 hours. Car parking is limited at the hotel, however ample additional pay parking is available within a few minutes walk, just behind the hotel. A short drive from M1, M6 and M69 motorways. 35km from Birmingham International Airport, 40km from East Midlands International Airport. 4km from the National Space Centre. A short walk from the cities restaurants, bars and Highcross shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ibis Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing