We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Railway Station to Hotel in 5 Minutes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Leicester
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    260
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
56
159
110
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casaloldo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Ibis is centrally located only a short walk from the train station. Hotel is modern and functional. I found the price to be very compettive. If you like indian restaurants then very easy to walk to the high street where there are number of places to choose from - and all very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis in Leicester very soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've reviewed a few budget hotels and I always allow for the fact they are doing their best to give as much as they can for as little as they can. This visit was therefore a very rare disappointment for a budget hotel in my experience.

So let's start with the good stuff: All the staff we met were great, very pleasant and as helpful as they could be - particularly the young lady who pushed the envelope a little with the snack menu to get us a meal before we left which included some items not officially available for the time of day.

The rest? The real issue is the location, sandwiched between a busy main road and the station. We were guided to the road side to avoid disturbance by station announcements. That's fine so long as you can keep the window shut, but the stifling heat and broken air-con denied us that luxury, so a sleepless night 'entertained' by sirens (and I don't mean the Greek myth type) and night club exiles was endured. There was a very helpful young man on the front desk who advised us the air-con would work after a while (the maintenance man had told him) and that he couldn't provide a key to open the window wider (the maintenance man had it)....and unfortunately the maintenance man went off duty at 1600 hours, 7 hours before the lack of air-con strated to threaten our slumber.

General consent in the morning was that working air-con was the exception, not the rule, although in a few rooms (higher up than our first floor accommodation) the windows weren't on a restrictor. Apparently - according to the maintenance man - we couldn't open our window wider as it was an anti-suicide measure. Well, he (reportedly) said it...and 2 nights in the Ibis might have upped my personal susceptibility! Funny then that some upper rooms had fully opening windows.....but the real issue is getting the surplus heat out of the building: the reception/bar was also stuffy throughout, and all probably due to building design.

Final note on the room: the bathroom vent also didn't work. Pretty stale in there by the end of our stay as a result. Not a pleasant experience whatever the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a guarantee the air-con works...otherwise it will be either hot or noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyke1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to here that you were disappointed by your experience during your recent stay with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that all comments are taken very seriously and therefore I will be looking into the matters you have raised personally.On a positive note I am pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpfull and I do hope that we may welcome you to the ibis in Leicester in the future. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

5 minutes walk from the railway station, even with luggage. Nice clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff. The only drawback is that they do not have free wifi available and they charge GBP9.9 for a 24-hr pass with what you will get cable internet and unlimited movies, not exactly a bargain imo. They have a PC in the lobby that you can use to surf the net at GBP1 for 20 min.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the rail tracks or highway. Mine was facing the highway. There were some traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad
you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis in Leicester in
the near future. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Our stay was very enjoyable. Room was very quiet and well insulated. No noise problems even with the train station just outside our window! the room was clean and even though it was basic, it had some nice touches. Highly recommended. Very central location. Parking onsite available. staff were very helpful and even moved their car to let me park.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelio_arranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis hotel in Leicester again very soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

good location with lots of restaurants nearby and everything was straight forward. excellent service and checked in easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busytraveller1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m so pleased that
you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis in Leicester
very soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leicester

Property: Ibis Leicester
Address: St. George's Way | Constitution Hill, Leicester LE1 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leicester 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leicester City is just a short walk from Leicester City Centre, close to the Train Station, Curve Theatre and the Athena. All 94 contemporary guest bedrooms have free WIFI, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The Restaurant offers snacks 24 hours and the hotel bar provides range of wines, beers and spirits. Reception is open 24 hours. Car parking is limited at the hotel, however ample additional pay parking is available within a few minutes walk, just behind the hotel. A short drive from M1, M6 and M69 motorways. 35km from Birmingham International Airport, 40km from East Midlands International Airport. 4km from the National Space Centre. A short walk from the cities restaurants, bars and Highcross shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ibis Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing