We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good economy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Leicester
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good economy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

After 1 night at the Ibis Budget I then moved on to the ibis in the town centre. It's a good location, close to the station. Parking is limited but you can park opposite by the station for £6 for 24 hours.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a new, modern hotel. The room was very pleasant and functional. It was clean and well laid out. There was free wifi.
At £50 I considered it very good value. There is a full breakfast selection at around £7. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    260
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
56
159
110
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here numerous times in November and December whilst working in Leicester. The hotel is modern and is about a 5 minute walk out side the main city.

Check in can be a little slow at times, this mainly due to the dual responsibilities the reception staff have with restaurant duties. This aside the staff are good and will attempt to oblige to customers request.

The room usually are good, basic but clean with every thing you need from a budget hotel. I did get put in a disabled room a couple of times, which I dislike, I love having a bath but these rooms don’t come with baths.

Food is good and reasonably priced, the breakfast is well worth the additional small charge the hotel makes for the inclusive rate

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much
and the team and I hope to welcome you back to the ibis in
Leicester in the future. Kind regards Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and found the Ibis Leicester to be of very high quality. Room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfy. The noise from the train station and the traffic outside did wake me up in the morning but that's not the hotels fault I guess. Breakfast was again excellent with lots to choose from. Hotel if a couple of minutes walk from the town centre so it's in a great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingstonGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad
you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis in Leicester very soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not very lavish not too bad either. At a reasonable cost a very reasonable Hotel. The location is quite good though. Market is close & so is few other good places in Leicester.

Breakfast was good & had sufficient options to choose from. Conversation wid the Staff was upto the point.

We had to keep the window open at night to avoid suffocation & that lead to traffic noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and for your constructive feedback which is much appreciated. I do hope you will chose to visit us once again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Please don't be deluted that this place is a worthy of any acclaim- you are almost better of sleeping in the train station.
I arrived early evening and there was nowhere to park- staff gave me some confusing information about where to find a public car park which has happy to receive me at a cost of 6 pounds per day (which is not too bad but it is an extra).

The corridor leading to my room smell of something I cannot specify but was nevertheless unpleasant. I entered a small cold room whose carpet was dirty, there was missing paint from the bathroom door and the telephone cables were exposed. I put the heating on and headed to the restaurant.

The restaurant is a place where food is served after being reheated- I ordered the pizza and can honestly say it was disgusting in every way ( texture, taste)- I saw placentas in the operating theatre who looked more appetising.

As far as prices where concerned were ridiculous - almost £4 for a bowl of soggy chips is a joke.

So it is a run down, smelly, almost hazardous and very expensive hotel- if you have a choice, you are better off avoiding it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sojournios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

You have to remember what this hotel is about -
Its an ideal stop over with good food , very helpful staff and good basic rooms
Check in is flexible and the rooms are clean and comfortable , just as needed
There was a hair dryer , kettle , TV ,internet , tea ,coffee too
The power shower in the plastic pod is fantastic and feels a pleasure to use , I worry with baths and showers in hotels , here I cannot fault the cleaners
Car parking is a slight issue as there are a few spaces but you could end up in pay and display parking , this cannot be helped I guess
The hotel is on a major road and train line but this seems to give little problem's in practice
I have stayed in far more expensive places that lack the cleanliness and staff detail this does , I always pick ibis on price and delivery when in leic

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373outandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at Ibis Leicester, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m very glad
you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis in Leicester very soon. Kind regards, Sarah Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leicester

Property: Ibis Leicester
Address: St. George's Way | Constitution Hill, Leicester LE1 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Leicester 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leicester City is just a short walk from Leicester City Centre, close to the Train Station, Curve Theatre and the Athena. All 94 contemporary guest bedrooms have free WIFI, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The Restaurant offers snacks 24 hours and the hotel bar provides range of wines, beers and spirits. Reception is open 24 hours. Car parking is limited at the hotel, however ample additional pay parking is available within a few minutes walk, just behind the hotel. A short drive from M1, M6 and M69 motorways. 35km from Birmingham International Airport, 40km from East Midlands International Airport. 4km from the National Space Centre. A short walk from the cities restaurants, bars and Highcross shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ibis Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing