We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced meal”
Review of The Forge Inn

The Forge Inn
Ranked #52 of 1,170 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Forge Inn - Village Pub & Dining is Passionate about Freshly Prepared, Sustainably Sourced Food, Cask Ale & Wine - We love what we do & like most businesses we are not perfect but we try hard- so if we get it wrong give us a chance to put it right! :) x
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced meal”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Ordered the ribeye steak at £14. When the meal arrived it consisted of portion of chips, rocket and a small piece of steak..the waitress asked if the meal was ok. I replied I thought it was overpriced for what I had. At this point the waitress could not reply walked away...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank daddymoonmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H, Owner at The Forge Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with others and us through the TripAdvisor medium.

We are disappointed that did not feel that the steak you ordered on your recent visit represented value for money to you.

Our Ribeye Steak is a locally reared, dry aged cut which is trimmed and rolled by our butchers to our exact specification with an uncooked weight of 226g, served as standard with skin on chips & fresh watercress and generally as mentioned in other reviews, this is a dish that most guests find very enjoyable.

Please accept my apologies that your server didn’t take the opportunity at the time to response courteously to your feedback with our position.

We do hope that you will consider returning to us at some point and perhaps trying our Flat Iron Steak, a flavorsome cut and at £11 for the same weight and presentation perhaps offers even more value for money.

Best regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    80
    35
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Large portions and friendly service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We called in here for lunch and ordered the filled rolls. Good quality and enormous. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The service was so good we booked to return for dinner. The menu is a bit limited but both meals we ate were good quality and again enormous portions. The location is good if you are staying at the Premier Inn Leicester North West.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H, Manager at The Forge Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our Beautiful Pub with the fellow users of TripAdvisor. Guest feedback is of jolly importance to us and it's always nice to know what we are doing well as well as wrong. We do hope that next time you are in the area you will join us again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Wishes,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Good meal but the sharing board was a bit disappointing ”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Staff very good and efficient, took our drinks orders and food orders at a good pace. We sat in a nice booth just the 3 of us. My mum had the veggie sharing platter as a main and there was no houmous and she didn't really like the slimy grilled veg. My sis had the pesto pasta which she enjoyed, chips nice, I had the baguette and soup lunch deal which was lovely. Finished with the cheesecake and ginger sponge which both tasted homemade and nice. All food is homemade here and cooked fresh. For all 3 of us came to £50 with a drink each. Very pleasant!

Helpful?
Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H, Owner at The Forge Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you, so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your reasonably recent visit to our beautiful pub. (my apologies for the delay in replying) We are delighted that you found the majority of your visit to us very pleasant but we are obviously not so delighted that your ‘Veggie Sharing Board’ did not live up to either other our expectations, we would therefore be eternally grateful before next time you visit, if you could either give myself a call or drop me a line so I can arrange for a gift voucher for the value of the sharing board to be sent to you by way of an apology. Once again though thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and we are very glad that you had an enjoyable time.

Best Regards,

Sam
sam@ssoosh.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lovely place friendly staff lovely atmosphere clean tidy well presented place excellent food at a good price would definitely go again :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first visit”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Forge Inn. after reading some of the reviews we were unsure of what our experience would be! As it turned out from the minute we walked in the door, the staff were excellent. Smiling staff that could not do enough for us but not over bearing. The menu was not extensive but I had the sea bass and was so glad that I did. It was lovely and fresh. Cooked to perfection. Well done the Chef. Our guests had the fish and chips and said it was some the best they had ever tasted. The bill came without the first round of drinks added, but we told the waitress and she thanked us for our honesty. We thanked them for the service and the lovely food. Well done all and keep it up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forge Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Forge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing