We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their food is great”
Review of Star Vishnu Dhaba

Star Vishnu Dhaba
Ranked #748 of 1,169 Restaurants in Leicester
Restaurant details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Their food is great”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is pure vegetarian restaurant and they do really good set menu as well as their paratha is really nice and tasty. They aslo do good samosa. Good location and good food with good quality and very friendly staff..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aruna2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    0
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third class would be better than this.....”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My family and I ordered pizza for delivery as it was on offer, it took u about 3/4 attempts to get across what we wanted. An hour later later we called back to see where the order was only to be told it was on the way, a further half hour later it finally arrived. The food was warm at best and the whole family ended up being ill after eating the food with vomitting, will not being ordering from here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unknown_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best veggie punjabi restaurants in Leicester”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My partner and l visit here at least once a week because the food is fantastic and amazing value for money.
They offer a thali for 5.50 which includes three curries, rice, raita, 2 chappatis, a sweet dessert and a drink. Can't go wrong!
They also make one of the best daal dishes around, reminisent of what you get in the state of Punjab itself. Their somosas are only 30p each, or 4 for a pound!
Now they have another branch on Uppingham Road we will be visiting more often as it's on the way home from my office.
If you are looking for a no nonsense veggie indian lunch/dinner this is the place to come.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cheap and fantastic food”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is possibly one of my favourite Indian restaurants. Small, no frills, always busy. Everything is made to order so you do have to wait but it really is worth while. I always eat in but they do an excellent takeaway service as well. Lovely people and fantastic atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loopylouhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have eaten in and had takeaways from here a few times. Service is a bit slow considering it's seldom busy but you can tell effort goes into preparation of the food and it's always cooked from fresh. Good value for money and all in all a good veggie indian cafe.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank clockface123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Vishnu Dhaba also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Markfield, Leicester
 

Been to Star Vishnu Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing