We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great central hotel (literally smack in the center of everything), and usually really competitive prices for what is a very good hotel (we searched and this was cheaper than Ibis/Premier Inn etc, which are all out of town). It is very grand, parking is a bargain £5 - never ate there so cant comment - would thoroughly recommend if in Leicester city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Glad you found the hotel to be Marvellous and you also took advantage of one of our fantastic summer offers.

The hotel still has most of its original Victorian character which gives the "Grand" feel on entry.

We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ok not really a million degrees but at least 25-30 centigrade and the window barely opens! The hotel as you walk in is beautiful and grand, staff are amazing- really helpful. Room size is suitable as a twin in a city centre however the bathroom feels a little industrial but no issue with the shower and its power (apologies for the rhyme). I have stayed at Mercures before but none as uncomfortable as this one, something needs to be done about the heat to make this hotel better.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank rza3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Interestingly most of our regular clients like a firm bed, however we are currently trialling two new beds from different suppliers to gather feedback with a view to replacing our complete stock in the next few months.

In relation to the heat we do supply portable fans for guest comfort during the very odd hot week or day we have in Leicester. Unfortunately fitting air conditioning throughout is a non starter due to being Grade 11 listed.

Delighted you found the staff amazing and obviously I would totally agree with you on that as does most of the previous tripadvisor comments.

We do hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Business trip to Leicester resulted in a stay in this former Grand Hotel palace. Great city centre location with added bonus of parking too. My room was on the fifth floor which annoyingly the lift only heads up to floor four then a walk around the old building to get to the newer studio style appartments up top, which is a little frustrating is you have lots of kit to carry.

Room very clean modern and spacious (in a Premier Inn sort of way) but lacks some of the wow factor which I have experienced in other Mercure's I have stayed in, and on the night I stayed city was uncomfortably hot the room lacks aircon which added further to my disappiontment. Breakfast was nothing special and I guess the hotel was rather quiet given that the buffet was sparce.

Service very attentive espeically with local knowledge and fan for my hot room. Would recommend a stay here as great location although not on a hot night.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was glad to read you found our location and hotel to be good.

Regarding the 5th floor, we do explain this at check in and always offer the help with luggage at the same time to every customer. The rooms are modern and spacous.

Unfortunately due to being Grade 11 listed we can not install air condition however I was pleased my team offered the portable fan to help with your comfort.

Delighted also with the comments regarding the team as they are very attentive and I was glad you recognised this during your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Accomodation : Spacious but very warm. (Sky Rooms on 5th floor)
Food : OK but flies all over the place. Have recommended to my colleagues not eat there again. Ate only half of my £22.50 meal limit but was charged an extortionate amount for one drink.
Service : Lacklustre service in bar/restaurant area

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Obviously disappointed by your comments regarding the service at dinner. As you can see from previous Tripadvisor reports we are very good at looking after most customers in a friendly and professional manner.

If you are staying with us in the near future may I ask you to contact myself direct so I can personally ensure a genuine hassle free stay and ensure my team provide you with our normal high quality of service.

Once again thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed on 17 August for one night. The hotel has a lovely grand feel to it. The staff made our stay, they were all helpful & friendly, especially the dark haired lady at breakfast who was lovely. We asked for a quiet room and were located at the back of the hotel so were pleased. The room was clean and had a great powerful shower over the bath. Parking was £5 for the stay and the car park had plenty of spaces which is excellent for a city centre hotel. Location was perfect in the centre for lots of shopping on the doorstep. Breakfast was great with a hot and cold buffet selection.

We will definately stay here again and were very pleased with the value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a very positive review.

I was delighted you had a lovely stay.

As per previous tripadvisor reviews my team do make the hotel and again it is great for me as a General Manager to read such comments.

I was glad to see my reception team dealt with your room request in an efficient manner.

We are centrally located for a good city centre break and at £5 per night for car parking we are very reasonable indeed.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to seeing you soon where I am confident you will receive the same hospitality as you experienced during this visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town, a short walk to the entertainment and shopping districts.

It is shabby and in need of refurbishment. For example the stair carpets are badly worn and patched up with gaffer tape in places. The hotel is rated a four star but in actuality is more like a low end 3 star.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Achieving four stars is not all about how new the fabric of the building is. It is about great customer service. I am delighted you have stated my team were helpful and polite during your stay as they are the main reason we have 4 stars.

We are as you say in a "great location" only minutes walk away from the train station, Curve Theatre and The Highcross shopping area.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we do hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night whilst in business and managed to find a great deal on booking.com for a night's stay. The room was well appointed although there was no air conditioning. This was solved by a friendly member of staff sending up a fan to my room. The rooms didn't have the wow factor but for £39 I was impressed. I didn't manage to catch breakfast but the menu for their lunch and dinner looked mouthwatering. If you need a central location without the hefty price tag I recommend this hotel. Comfort on a budget. I did manage to take a quick peek at the room they provide for weddings and was very impressed. The staff on every occasion were very helpful and polite. I'll certainly stay here again if I need a quick stopover in Leicester on business.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

Delighted you took advantage of one of our great value summer break offers.

More importantly I was glad to read you found my team to be polite and helpful throughout your stay.

Our Kings Hall which you refer to is impressive and the oldest Victorian ball room in Leicester 114 years young. It still has all its origianal marble features with two stunning fire places.

We do hope to see you soon where I am sure you will receive the same level of service and hopefully get a chance to sample the "mouthwatering menu".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#12 of 41 in Leicester
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing