We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
London
1 review
“Customer service at its best”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Being African, I'm used to expecting a little less of hotel customer service. African hotels tend to overdo the custome care thing. Mercure Leicester has just changed my prejudice.
Their customer service skills were beyond their 4 stars. I was amazed. I asked for some favours that were ‘above and beyond’ call of duty of the staff and they were very helpful. I did have queries regarding billing but again, your staff deals with problems/ queries in the most friendly and personal manner. The events manager, Julian was very helpful, so was the lady at the bar yesterday morning. The ladies at reception were great. I was very impressed. I might have just been lucky, but I have no qualms whatsoever about recommending this hotel to anyone. Icing on the cake was that my survey was actually READ! This hotel obviously takes customer care very seriously. Try it out for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyaaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

As per most of the previous tripadvisor reviews, if there is one thing we are consistantly good at, it is looking after every single customer to the best of our ability. I was pleasing for me to read your comments as clearly the efforts my team go to are being recognised.

I will share this with the team as it does help for them to continually improve our services.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    272
    222
    110
    71
See reviews for
96
275
45
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Ridiculous rooms, Dirty Showers, Poor Service, Dated Hotel. Only upside to this place is that it is in the city centre.

I certainly will not be going back here! I would have been better off at the Ibis or Premier Inn, Everything Premier but the Price. If you are looking to go to this place you will regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am extremely disappointed with the comments made as our rooms are very clean, very well maintained and at a price that is very reasonable.

We are in a great location and as per the previous tripadvisor comments our staff are fantastic.

Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Excellent location - 5 minutes from the railway station.

Hotel room is on the small side with door needing replacing - the hotel itself is very grand with excellent staircase. Staff are all very helpful. Carpet in hall in need of replacement.

You can park at the weekend for £5 per day.

Very comfy bed - BBC2 does not work for some reason

Got a really good deal £20-12 per night room only.

Breakfast is £10 or go outside turn right and you have a Weatherspoon pub available 60 metres away !.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted you where one of the lucky ones who managed to take advantage of the special £20.12 rate we put on sale to celebrate the Queens Diamond Jubilee.

I was also glad to read our team were very helpful and the bed to be comfortable.

Breakfast is better here as you can have as much or as little as you want.

I hope to see you soon on your next vist to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great central hotel (literally smack in the center of everything), and usually really competitive prices for what is a very good hotel (we searched and this was cheaper than Ibis/Premier Inn etc, which are all out of town). It is very grand, parking is a bargain £5 - never ate there so cant comment - would thoroughly recommend if in Leicester city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodykibworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Glad you found the hotel to be Marvellous and you also took advantage of one of our fantastic summer offers.

The hotel still has most of its original Victorian character which gives the "Grand" feel on entry.

We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ok not really a million degrees but at least 25-30 centigrade and the window barely opens! The hotel as you walk in is beautiful and grand, staff are amazing- really helpful. Room size is suitable as a twin in a city centre however the bathroom feels a little industrial but no issue with the shower and its power (apologies for the rhyme). I have stayed at Mercures before but none as uncomfortable as this one, something needs to be done about the heat to make this hotel better.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rza3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Interestingly most of our regular clients like a firm bed, however we are currently trialling two new beds from different suppliers to gather feedback with a view to replacing our complete stock in the next few months.

In relation to the heat we do supply portable fans for guest comfort during the very odd hot week or day we have in Leicester. Unfortunately fitting air conditioning throughout is a non starter due to being Grade 11 listed.

Delighted you found the staff amazing and obviously I would totally agree with you on that as does most of the previous tripadvisor comments.

We do hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Business trip to Leicester resulted in a stay in this former Grand Hotel palace. Great city centre location with added bonus of parking too. My room was on the fifth floor which annoyingly the lift only heads up to floor four then a walk around the old building to get to the newer studio style appartments up top, which is a little frustrating is you have lots of kit to carry.

Room very clean modern and spacious (in a Premier Inn sort of way) but lacks some of the wow factor which I have experienced in other Mercure's I have stayed in, and on the night I stayed city was uncomfortably hot the room lacks aircon which added further to my disappiontment. Breakfast was nothing special and I guess the hotel was rather quiet given that the buffet was sparce.

Service very attentive espeically with local knowledge and fan for my hot room. Would recommend a stay here as great location although not on a hot night.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was glad to read you found our location and hotel to be good.

Regarding the 5th floor, we do explain this at check in and always offer the help with luggage at the same time to every customer. The rooms are modern and spacous.

Unfortunately due to being Grade 11 listed we can not install air condition however I was pleased my team offered the portable fan to help with your comfort.

Delighted also with the comments regarding the team as they are very attentive and I was glad you recognised this during your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Accomodation : Spacious but very warm. (Sky Rooms on 5th floor)
Food : OK but flies all over the place. Have recommended to my colleagues not eat there again. Ate only half of my £22.50 meal limit but was charged an extortionate amount for one drink.
Service : Lacklustre service in bar/restaurant area

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Obviously disappointed by your comments regarding the service at dinner. As you can see from previous Tripadvisor reports we are very good at looking after most customers in a friendly and professional manner.

If you are staying with us in the near future may I ask you to contact myself direct so I can personally ensure a genuine hassle free stay and ensure my team provide you with our normal high quality of service.

Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#19 of 40 in Leicester
315 reviews
1.7 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing