We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town centre hotel location with parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Placed in the centre of town with loads of parking spaces on site which is included in the price. Ideal for a night out or business as there is plenty of places to eat. Hotel is a three star plus with friendly staff some rooms are dated but not all and believe the price balances this out. The place is always warm and bright , have never eaten here only had breakfast but restaurant always busy . If your a family looking for an hotel it's ideal

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

It is always a pleasure to respond to such nice comments regarding the team and hotel.

We are centrally located with 120 car park spaces which is a great asset for a city centre hotel.

One again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

Loving historic hotels I wanted to like this hotel. It's gorgeous on the outside and has some cool interior features like it's well preserved ballroom. But to say the public room furniture is tired is a complete understatement. The arms of every couch are grubby and strangely deflated. Which brings me to the beds....these mattresses were the worse... cheap, with noisy wires on the two different beds we slept on. Speaking of wires, the wireless in the lobby is completely unreliable. The staff are friendly and the hotel is historic but the bad beds and shabby furnishings really are problems.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doveilvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted you found my team to be friendly.

We have replaced most of our beds in the last year and you will be delighted to hear the rest are due to be done in the next few months.

The public areas are also highlighted for a revamp however the couches are clean and not grubby as stated.
.
The outside of the hotel is stunning, with all the victorian character still preserved.

Once again thank you for posting a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights ,the reception staff were first rate and very helpfully .My room was very comfortable and quiet .I ate in the hotel bar area and the food was fine though it did take a long time from ordering to getting my food .Breakfast was excellent good choise and a pleasant waitres as well.Overall it's a good hotel in a very central location .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

I was delighted to read you found our hotel to be excellent.

May I also thank you for the kind comments regarding the team as they all do at every ocassion try to provide excellent service to every guest.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The outside of the hotel and public rooms is mainly Victorian in style and we loved this. The receptionist was helpful and pleasant when we arrived and we were made to feel welcome. We had booked a sky room which is described as superior. It was a large room but we felt it was aimed at the business market as it was functional with modern styling but lack any original features which we found disappointing. That said it was very clean as was the bathroom, though the water pressure in the shower was lower than I would normally expect but still useable.

Most of the sky rooms are located on the 5th floor and the lift only goes to the 4th floor so may cause a problem for those who find stairs difficult - it wasn't a problem for us.

Breakfast in the hotel was pleasant with a reasonable selection from the buffet. It's cheaper if you pay in advance and this can be done the night before.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobabout1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are as stated in a good location right in the heart of Leicester City Centre.

Our lift does only go to the 4th floor however the same receptionists who gave you the very warm welcome would ask the question on arrival if you mind the few stairs or ask you would you like help with your luggage.

The rooms on the 5th floor are quite modern however that was purposely done with the business guest in mind. There is one room that has the original sink and tiles in the bathroom from 1898 which we have preserved very well. On your next visit please request 319.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My partner and I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. Once again we really enjoyed our stay. Some people state that the building is old and dated, but I would completely disagree with this. In fact its up to date and vibrant. The staff and the management were particularly helpful and couldnt do enough to help out.

I would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for posting a very postitive review.

I was delighted by your comments regarding the hotel and the team.

Guests are entitled to their opinion and as a regular customer I was glad to read that you find the hotel up to date and vibrant. As a Grade 11 listed building we have to be very sympathetic to the age and character of the hotel.

Once again thank you for posting a very postive review and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a customers works party in Leicester. Hotel very nice and decor in keeping with style of building. Location to the city centre is perfect. Staff very pleasant and helpful. However I appreciate the need to hire out rooms for functions but more thought must be applied to your paying guests who most of would want to get some sleep not be kept awake by the booming bass coming from downstairs until 2am. Totally ruined my stay. For this reason I would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Our location is as stated superb, right in the heart of the city.

In relation to the bass from the function rooms, we are a very popular eventing hotel and particularly at this time of year. We do where possible allocate bed rooms to guest's who are not attending the party in rooms away from the function which finished at 1am. Had we known on arrival that you where not attending one of the events then my team would have quite gladly allocated you a bed room that would have experienced no noise.

On a positive note I was glad to read you found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

Once again thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

A lovely building situated ideally close to the city centre and the railway station. Seems to function as some sort of banquet central which creates quite a lot of noise. But everything about this hotel is worn and tired, and the smell of old tobacco smoke fills the corridors. My tip: gut the whole building leaving nothing but the beautiful original features (e.g. the woodwork, the brass, some of the lighting), and renovate everything with love. Meanwhile I'd prefer to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I do not disagree that we are a beautiful building and I believe it is pretty well maintained, clean and tidy.

Our corridors are clean and fresh and are not smoked filled as suggested.

Thank you for your tip and we are expecting some investment next year which will be spent wisely.

Once again thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £65 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing