We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected comfort in Leicester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected comfort in Leicester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Mercure's advantage for me was that it was 5 minutes walk from the railway station. I wasn't expecting much, and it is on a very run down street. However, you are central and there is a Tesco nearby and many restaurants and pubs. But I was really surprised by the hotel, which was extremely friendly and welcoming. The room (twin) was very spacious with a spacious bathroom. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The only downside was a rather miserable TV system which was slow and had very few channels, also no movies. But I would definitely go there again - it was only £60 for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

We are very centrally located and yes there are a few shops that are for let on the street but I do not think it is run down. This is unfortunately the same in any city currently.

The hotel and the team are very welcoming and I was delighted you recognised this.

The TV system is going to be changed during the current bedroom refit with the installation of Free-view so guests will have pretty much the same choice as they do at home.

I also note you took advantage of one of our special offers that can be fund on www.mercureleicester.co.uk.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    261
    205
    100
    59
See reviews for
88
266
41
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ta' l-Ibragg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is definitely out of date. Our room had a musky smell due to its age and the furniture and bathroom are in desperate need of refurbishment. We were deceived by the pictures above, probably taken quite a few years ago now. Breakfast was served in a dull underground hall while the carpets throughout the hotel were worn. In terms of the Mercure standard this definitely did not reach any of our expectations. My son lives in Leicester - I will definitely choose another established hotel next time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

The pictures where taken last year and in fact they are a little out of date as we have refurbished 7 rooms already and a further 97 to be done before the end of September this year. Once we have completed these we will up date our gallery.

Once again thank you for posting a review and please do pop in the next time you are visiting your son and I will happily show you the changes that are taking place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

At first glance everything seems fine, but once you have wandered around you notice tired looking carpets, poor decoration and a general lack of attention to detail. Went to the restaurant on the first evening of my visit and chose Shepherds pie, bad idea, 95% potato and cheese and maybe 5% meat. Rather expensive for half a pound of potato. Would I book again ? Don't think so.

Room Tip: Don't book a skylight room as it is a trek from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was disappointed to read the comments regarding the evening meal. The freshly home made Shepherds Pie is one of our most popular of dishes and normally receives great feedback.

We are currently investing into our beautiful grade 11 listed hotel and I am confident the changes taking place in our bedrooms will be fantastic for all.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We've used the hotel now for three years in succession, for a business conference with 170 delegates. We originally chose the hotel because of it's great central location, and the fact that it has a perfect, untouched, Victorian meeting hall on the first floor, which for our conference is perfect.
The hotel staff have got to know us and the whole A/V team, who organise all the techhie stuff, staging, ext. All the staff, from banqueting, to front of house to night porter have excelled over the past three years. Very unusual when it comes to a large business event.
Only one criticism - the front of the hotel badly needs restoring. The modern glass lobby just jars badly with the fine Victorian facade. And the rooms are tired, although spotlessly clean and well equipped.
Breakfast in the lower ground restaurant area is good - nice selection of cereals, cold meats, fruits, etc and the traditional English cooked breakfast looked pretty good.

Room Tip: I believe the suites are very good. Standard rooms are fine for one or two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcliff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.

It is always a pleasure to respond to such nice comments regarding the hotel, the team, the cleanliness and the good breakfast.

We are ideally located for conferences like yours that have now been coming for 3 years and I believe the 4th has been pencilled in.

In relation to the rooms they are soon to bed updated and hoping to be complete by September this year. The ground floor is currently being discussed as the next area to be refurbished however this will be early next year should approval be giving.

Once again thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you in May next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I needed to find a hotel at short notice on Bank holiday weekend, my 3G was slow so I telephoned direct to the hotel. They promptly told me I could have the same price as the internet displayed and I thought this was extremely reasonable for a Friday on a bank holiday weekend. I turned up to find ample parking for only £5. I was greeted by very friendly reception staff and I was advised on a number of places I could eat. I opted for the hotels own restaurant which was very reasonably priced and my food was brilliant. I will certainly stay here again if I am in the area. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.

I was delighted by the comments regarding the team as they are a pretty efficient, friendly bunch who do work extremely hard to provide the best possible service to every guest.

I was also glad to read to chose to dine with us and you found the food to be "brilliant" and reasonably priced.

Once again thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely stay in this grand old hotel. Our room, with large bay window overlooking the street, was very spacious, and provided an espresso machine and sufficient coffee pods to keep even us Pacific Northwesterners amply caffeinated. The queen-sized bed was conducive to a good night's sleep, and despite the hustle and bustle in the streets below our window, the room was delightfully quiet. The location is central such that we were able to walk to all of the areas which we had hoped to visit, save Bosworth Field, which is an easy bus ride away. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would put a plug in for the struggling little French restaurant, Le Petit Rouge, just half a block north of the hotel on Granby.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cactusck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

I was delighted by the comments regarding the bedroom which has recently be refurbished to one of our Privilege rooms. This includes the Espresso machine that you have referred to in your feedback. The bed is also brand new and has had raving reviews from guests who have stayed in our Privilege rooms. We have have started to introduce these into all our bedrooms as part of our bedroom refit.

Our location is very good and I was really please to note that you would chose to stay with us again in a heart beat.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Good clean hotel for a city break, basic rooms but do the job just fine. Fast and easy check in all staff seamed very nice. Its in a very good location right near the train station and the town centre. would recomened it for a stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

I was delighted to read your head line note "good location and value for money". Our location is great, right in the heart of the city only minutes from the main shopping area, Curve Theatre and for those who travel by train, the station is at the top of our street.

I was also glad to read the comments regarding check in and the friendly team.

In relation to the bedrooms, yes they are clean and tidy and are about to get a redesign which will be fantastic for all. The beds started arriving this week and decoration to start by the end of May with a veiw to finishing September this year.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing