We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed on Business - I've stayed in the Ramada Encore and the Holiday Inn Express, so i've experienced okay and bad so far.

The hotel entrance is fantastic, really gives a great atmosphere. That being said, it does need some TLC; alot of the corridors are showing their age with wood panels showing cracks and the carpet being quite worn.

The hotel is on a busy street, so I was lucky to get a Sky Studio Room on the top floor, facing away from the street. Very comfortable and very quiet, not the best view but that for that really wasn't a priority. If you're really wanting a good night sleep i'd recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel.

Had food in the hotel bar, pleasant staff, good food.

Overall, very comfortable experience. Due to stay here again in a couple of weeks time and will be asking for another 5th floor room!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnySheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Johnny

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel, food and team.

The entrance does have a great atmosphere however it will be even better. We are in the designing stages of creating a new bar, restaurant, lounge and reception area and hoping to be complete sometime in the summer.

You will also be delighted to know that we will continue the theme through to the bedroom corridors with new carpet and decor.

Thank you for your tip and glad you will be requesting the 5th floor again in a few weeks. However all our front facing rooms have secondary glazing which does erradicate any noise from the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    272
    222
    110
    71
See reviews for
96
275
45
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel was a bit shabby but our room was spacious and comfortable. It was obviously a diasabled person's room which we hadn't requested but meant that there was plenty of room around the enormous bed! The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read you has a good stay in one of our adapted rooms that are spacious and has an enormous bed.

Our hotel is 116 years old this year and there are certain areas that could be doing with a little investment however the word "shabby" is not a discription of the hotel. We are in the process of designing our ground floor areas, creating a new bar, restaurant, lounge and reception areas. We will also continue the theme through our bedroom corridors with new carpet and decor.

May I also thank you ffor the kind comments regarding the team and the breakfast as they are both excellent.

Once again thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding breakfast at this Hotel.
Parisha the Wedding co-ordinater was fantastic and ensured everything we required was dealt with.
Julian assisted us on the day and was very professional and extremely helpful.
Our day was great, everything went as planned we couldn't have had a more Special Wedding Day.

We also stayed in the Bridal Suite which was very nice, lovely original bathroom with old fashioned fittings. Something rather special.
Some reviews on here complain about noise, it was a little noisy but you are in Leicester City Centre and at the weekend it can be noisy but it does settle down. We enjoyed our night and had a nice breakfast with everything you could ask for.

This is a hotel worth seeing and staying at, it's beautiful, nice to have such a wonderful piece of history.

Staff are all brilliant, polite and will accommodate for any needs.

The Grand Hotel it is! Brilliant, and thank you so much for everything. We hope to stay with you on our Anniversary with you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind review.

I was delighted to read you had a very special day and my team helped make it so.

I will share your comments with all the team as I am sure this feedback will serve all to continuously deliver great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Location: Leicester city centre with easy access to bars restaurants and shopping.

Room: Our room was on the 3rd floor, it was spacious with plenty of storage space. There was an extra large, very comfortable double bed, 2 seater sofa and desk and chair. There was a TV with a wide variety of channels and Coffee/Tea making facilities. Because of the nature of this listed building some of the rooms have individual 'quirks'. In this room (324) it was the bathroom which was up some steps from the bedroom and was a long thin shape. Nonetheless the facilities were functional. The floor was a little creaky, though this too is due to the nature of the building. The one thing we did find odd was the lack of bedside cabinets, this combined with the thickness of the mattress prevented us from having our usual glass of water by the bed - not a major problem, just odd.

Breakfast: Breakfast was waitress served on this occasion, although we have been at this hotel in busier times when it is buffet style. The Menu was varied and the food well-cooked.

Staff: all the staff we came in contact with were pleasant, helpful and efficient, contributing to a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make your requirements clear when booking, the rooms vary and have their own quirks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a detailed and nice review.

Our rooms do vary and as you say they all have their own quirks which makes it so popular with our regular visitors.

Our beds are very comfortable and where in fact chosen by our regular customers, after a 3 month trial during the summer of last year.

Breakfast is cooked to order when we have less that 50 guests in house and this would not be very often.

I was delighted to read the comments regarding the team who are a helpful and friendly bunch.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeingyou again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business, the location of the hotel is central and convenient, even if the street leaves something to be desired.
Beautiful lobby and bar area.
Corridors are tired and dated.
Rooms, good size for my double, nicely put together and decorated, and comfy bed. The tv is tiny, and a little uncomfortable chair. No mini-bar.
Bathroom was small and very dated, the finish of the installations was poor, not what you expect in a high end hotel, screws loose and loose panels, the bath was narrow and lacked any luxury, perhaps worse, my towels we're shabby and looked well used.

Food - average to poor. Had some bread and oil (nothing to complain about) French onion soup (average to good, but not home made) and pork on mustard mash with veg. The pork was fatty rather than moist, the fat hadn't been rendered. Bland mash and sauce, and frankly, rubbish veg. The 'crackling' was the worst I've ever had, quite simply appalling, was more like a wet piece of cardboard.
Michael the waiter was great, really attentive and polite, top class service, for which he should be commended. Indeed all the staff I encountered we're great.

Final thoughts, good hotel, not luxury, doesn't deserve 4*, but if you're in the city, it's probably your best choice. Just go across the road to Nandos for supper.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lavers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

Its always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive comments.

You will be delighted to know that the ground floor area you describe as beautiful is to get a full refurbishment this year and at the same time bedroom corridors will be done with the design flowing from recpetion to bedroom.

I was disappointed to read the comments regarding dinner as my team get this right almost all of the time. All our food is fresh and the soup is changed and home made daily. The pork, is a belly of pork and there will be no surprises that is the fattiest cut on a pig.

I will share your feedback with the team and in particular Michael as they are a great team who at every possible ocassion try and provide fantastic service to every guest.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel feels quite dated and the rooms would benefit from modernising. That said there was free WiFi in the room which is very important to me, the bath and shower were good with lots of hot water and good water pressure for the shower. All in all my stay was OK

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

Our hotel was built in Victorian times in the late 1880s and we have recently upgraded our bedroom product. Decorated in three carefully chosen designs to fit in with the age and character of the building, brand new comfortable beds, new chunky duvets and pillows finished off with throws and cushions. Each room a different shape and size giving them a uniqueness which differentiates us from your normal soulless pod you would find in modern hotels these days.

The shower pressure has always been good with constant hot water.

Delighted you found the free wifi a bonus.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Leicester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#19 of 40 in Leicester
315 reviews
1.7 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing