We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, full of character & excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, full of character & excellent staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had booked three rooms as we were at a wedding reception at the Grand. Having read some very negative reviews in Trip Advisor recently I was very concerned and seriously considered booking elsewhere. I am really glad that I did not!
I contacted the hotel in advance as one of the rooms was for my elderly parents who have mobility problems. They organised quiet rooms, close together and with fans in when we arrived. They also reserved disabled parking for us. They could not have been more helpful.
Yes the hotel is tired, but is clearly receiving some much needed TLC - which was the only reason that I did not rate it as excellent. However, there are comfortable public areas to sit in with lots of history and character which are great for 'down time.'
The staff were friendly and efficient throughout our stay. If you needed anything, somebody was always there to help - we received great service which is often sadly missing from more modern hotels.
The rooms were fine, all very different and very clean with comfortable beds. I would never normally consider a hotel room without air con however, with the fans we were fine. It was good to have rooms with a bit of character rather than the sterility of some hotels (and to be honest air con rarely works properly in hotels anyway!)
The staff at breakfast deserve a special mention, so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was a fine, a small hot buffet which was regularly replenished as well as cold choices. We were able to book a large table to have a family breakfast, there was no pressure to move away and they kept the coffee flowing!
As previously mentioned we stayed to attend a wedding. The reception was very good, the food was of a good standard, efficiently served and hot. I would not hesitate to recommend as a wedding venue, and based on previous reviews I did not expect to say that - but am delighted to be able to!
The room rates for this hotel are very reasonable, it has a great location and great character and service. Taking all of this into account I feel that it represents very good value for money.
Well done, and thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if required. They will provide fans if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMWCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy that everything was to your satisfaction because of your previous reluctance.
99% of the time the team always receive a glowing review, which we are very proud of. I thank you for pointing out the breakfast team.
As you stated the hotel was looking a bit tired but will soon be back to the 'grand hotel'.
We also pride ourselves on the wedding service we offer and thank you for your kind comments.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future when l am confident your stay will be as pleasing as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    272
    222
    110
    72
See reviews for
96
275
45
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with colleagues from work and cannot praise the staff enough for politeness, efficiency and a friendly attitude. Made to feel welcome and asked why we were staying and given tips on best bars to visit. Tom could not do enough to make sure our needs were met. Lewis in the bar was great too and Annika at check out was very helpful.
One of our party was in room that backs on to the bell tower and did not sleep very well. On return from our meeting his room had been changed with a fan, and thin cotton sheets to help him have a more comfortable stay. All done with minimum fuss and a friendly approach.
Food is excellent. Decor is a little dated and tired but not a problem. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Request a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for such a positive review, which like every review we receive will be shared with the hotel team.
We are mindful that we don't always get it right, but it is issues like your colleague had, which were rectified immediately, that hilights we are moving in the right direction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location right in centre of town, really nice staff especialy the breakfast restaurant staff. Hotel is being refurbished at present but this didn't cause us any problems. Close to railway station and lots of nice restaurants.
Hopefully this tired old lady will be fuly refurbished soon and brought back to her former glory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you David for posting your review.

We are pleased that you found the location to be suitable and yes we are very central for all amenities. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the hotel team.
As you so rightly said we are slowly bringing this magnificent 'old lady' back to its former glory but with a hint of the 21st century thrown in.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel once all the refurbishment has been completed. by the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Mercure is situated on Granby Street in central Leicester. It is a large Victorian building with some character. The public spaces inside are open and light and the 19th Century carved woodwork is attractive. Much of the contemporary furniture throughout the hotel is rather tired. Renovation was clearly in progress in parts of the hotel, but was no inconvenience.

The staff at reception was thorough and pleasant as we checked in.

The rooms were clean and adequately appointed, though vanity arrangements are poor. The bed was very comfortable.

Though we booked our two double rooms several months in advance, we were still relegated to the so-called Sky Apartments. Despite the impression given by their name, these rooms are pokey and ill-lit, jammed under the roof and beyond the range of the hotel’s lifts. Our son’s room, in particular, almost totally lacked any natural light and was rather airless and claustrophobic. A chair in one room broke and shed a castor when sat upon by an individual weighing about 65 kg, pitching them onto the floor. The shower didn’t drain adequately in the other room.

Our idea had been to enjoy a four-star experience for our son’s graduation but the hotel failed to deliver it. We have genuinely had better accommodation and an (at least) equally comfortable experience at other, less-starred hotels.

Room Tip: If you book a room at the Mercure I recommend that you stipulate that it is not a Sky Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review, however l was disappointed to read that we did not exceed your expecatations during your stay and for this l am sorry.
As noted on other reviews we are some way into our investment journey which should be concluded at the end of November.
Regarding the 'sky studios' these are some of our most popular rooms, please be assured that we have rectified the problem with the shower and the chair, l am sorry that you did not bring these issues to our attention at the time.
If you have the opportunity to return to Leicester please contact me direct to make the necessary arrangements for you, so that l can ensure of a hassle free stay.
Thank you again for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We came from Northern Ireland for our son's graduation last Friday, and received a very warm welcome. We were impressed with the car parking facilities, and the fact we had the whole of the next day parking too - all for £7. Very central location, just round the corner from our son's flat, but not noisy (or at least where we were). No air-con and it was very warm (30 degrees on Friday, and not just the graduates'!) so I am interested to see that fans were available - maybe you should have mentioned that in the weather we were having? At least the windows in the bedroom and bathroom both opened. Otherwise, the staff were very happy to move one of our rooms so we could all be on one floor. Our room, a double had a nice large lobby area with wardrobe, chair, table, ironing board etc, a room mainly filled by the bed, but the lobby made up for that, and a clean and functioning bathroom though a shower cap would have been good, the toiletries were basic. I do always wonder that hotels don't put out more milk, tea and coffee on their trays - just a little stingy, but really everything was fine. There was decoration going on along the corridors, but generally the place was a little tired. The sofas in the lounge seriously need to be replaced - I sat on a wide-looking arm and nearly fell off as the arm had no stuffing left and there was nothing but a thin wooden arm under the cover. We didn't have breakfast as we decided to eat out with our son and friends. The bed was very comfortable, but it would have been nice to have had just a sheet option in the heat. We only paid £63.20 for each room (our friends had a twin room, it didn't have a lobby and the TV had a malfunction, but otherwise it was fine) which is excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms looking into the central area, ie away from the street were quieter, and ones higher up. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review
I am pleasesed that you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed in the centre of Leicester.
For future reference we do supply fans, shower caps and other guest amenities, which is advertised on our hotel guide on the TV.
As you noted we have started our refurbishment programme on the bedroom corridors which will soon be completed, then we will be completely revamping the ground floor area, still maintaining the victorian splendour but also bringing in some 21st century.
Thank you again for your feedback which will be shared with all the hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for son's graduation ceremony at the Curve Theatre and this venue was ideal for this and also the shopping centre / centre of Leicester. The bathroom in our room was huge and had a lovely big bath but the room itself was a little on the small side but adequate. It was very warm the week we went though and there was no air conditioning or fan to use and the window only partly opened so we were sweltering at night though the beds were comfy. Breakfast was ok though when we asked for coffee this was brought in two mugs with milk in both and dumped in front of us (my husband doesn't take milk !!), however the following day we did get our coffee in a pot with a milk jug etc as one would expect. The hotel is probably going under some refurbishment as the carpet gripper was on display down either side of our bedroom corridor and the building did look a little tired in places but the staff were pleasant and helpful and the location was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review
On a positve note l was pleased that you liked the location, which is in the centre for everything also the room size but particularly the great team we have at the hotel.
For future reference we do supply fans by request for any room from reception.
I was disappointed and sorry to note your coffee service at breakfast, which certainly is not a standard of ours, but pleased that we were able to redeem ourselves on your next visit to breakfast.
As noted we have begun our refurbishment which will be completed by the end of November to our bedroom corridors and our ground floor.
I do hope we can welcome you back to share the new look with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We came to stay at the Mecure for a graduation at university. We thought the outer decor of the hotel and lobby were beautiful on arrival and the central location was perfect for us. We checked in with ease and were very pleased that we were allowed into our room 2 hours prior to the stated check in time of 2pm. We were told by the receptionist to reach our room we take the lift to the 4th floor and then had to walk up some stairs. We were not told before arrival that our room could not be accessed exclusively via the lift, and the stairs were pretty steep and difficult with heavy bags. I understand the hotel was aware our age when booking, therefore would not think this was a problem (as we are young). However despite being young, we may have had some ailment that incapacitated us to reach our room. For example, elderly people would have found reaching our room very difficult, especially with large bags.
The hotel is nice, and it is clear that they are trying to renovate currently as some of the hallways had just been painted. In our room the bathroom was slightly tired with some mold (black spots) in the sealant in the shower. Some of the fittings around the room such as the cupboard door were not closing properly and we had a missing spotlight from the ceiling which was evident when lying down in bed. The door on the outside was also chipped and a bit worn. Despite this, the main thing - the bed - was very comfortable and we slept well and the room was very clean. We had the room made up during our stay also.
We experienced difficulties with the television switching itself on and off and the channel signals being crackly or not receiving certain channels at all. We had to fiddle around with the wires at the back to sort the television out. We also experienced difficulties rooms cards which stopped working after our first night, reception commented that their machine to validate cards was not currently working to full capacity. This was quite irritating to reach the room (being far away) and then have to go back down to reception. This happened with both keys we had for the room. We had a breakfast deal and did enjoy our breakfast and thought the choice and selection was very good, however it wasn't made clear to us that we could order special breakfast dishes from the kitchen, we were disappointed to see this on our second morning when it was too late to order a special dish.
Overall we were happy with our stay and we are not particularly fussy, but it may not be for everyone. Despite a good location, our family staying in other rooms experienced a noisy stay due to the clubs and bars on the road outside but in our room we did not suffer. I felt the hotel could go a little further to please guests. We have stayed in smaller institutions where more amenities were available. For example, i required a shower cap and i called down to reception and they brought me one. It seems they could have just put these in the room, like most hotels do. We would return to this hotel for a short stay, but i do think there are improvements that can be made.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs, it is advisable to state when booking. Request a room away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethSidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review.
Any guest that has been allocated a room on the 5th floor is made aware of the stairs at the time of check in, if this is not acceptable, if we have the availability of room type we do offer another room, also our standard at check in is to offer luggage service.
We are aware of the TV problems and l am sorry you were affected by this during your stay.
As you have noted we have started the refurb on our bedroom corridors which will be completed by the end of August, the investment will then continue to the ground floor for a complete new makeover. As we decorated all of our bedrooms recently we do carry out an ongoing maintenance check to update chips/ grout etc. .
I am sorry that you were not made aware of the breakfast menu on your first morning but pleased that you enjoyed what you did have.
Thank you again for your feedback, which enables us to share your comments with the hotel team and make improvements where necessary.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#18 of 40 in Leicester
315 reviews
1.7 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing