We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loads of refurb happening at the hotel.
But the staff were great - always helpful
Only draw back about the hotel is being charged GBP7.00 + for car parking
Will go back once all the work has been done

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sparkyjam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted you found our team to be great and always helpful.

Our car park is capped at £7 per night per car which is more than competitive within the market place.

We are currently investing heavily into our beautiful Grade 11 listed hotel. Our bedroom corridors are receiving a makeover currently and should be complete in the next few weeks. The work is being carried out through the hours of 9.30am and 4.30pm so little disruption to our valued guests. It is already looking fantastic.

Once we complete the corridors we move to the ground floor were we are creating a new stylish restaurant, large bar, new reception area, new chill out area and a small fitness room. Having seen the mood boards for these areas, they are stunning. Hoping to be complete the latter part of this year.

We look forward to seeing you again soon where I am confident you will receive the same level of comfort and care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had booked three rooms as we were at a wedding reception at the Grand. Having read some very negative reviews in Trip Advisor recently I was very concerned and seriously considered booking elsewhere. I am really glad that I did not!
I contacted the hotel in advance as one of the rooms was for my elderly parents who have mobility problems. They organised quiet rooms, close together and with fans in when we arrived. They also reserved disabled parking for us. They could not have been more helpful.
Yes the hotel is tired, but is clearly receiving some much needed TLC - which was the only reason that I did not rate it as excellent. However, there are comfortable public areas to sit in with lots of history and character which are great for 'down time.'
The staff were friendly and efficient throughout our stay. If you needed anything, somebody was always there to help - we received great service which is often sadly missing from more modern hotels.
The rooms were fine, all very different and very clean with comfortable beds. I would never normally consider a hotel room without air con however, with the fans we were fine. It was good to have rooms with a bit of character rather than the sterility of some hotels (and to be honest air con rarely works properly in hotels anyway!)
The staff at breakfast deserve a special mention, so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was a fine, a small hot buffet which was regularly replenished as well as cold choices. We were able to book a large table to have a family breakfast, there was no pressure to move away and they kept the coffee flowing!
As previously mentioned we stayed to attend a wedding. The reception was very good, the food was of a good standard, efficiently served and hot. I would not hesitate to recommend as a wedding venue, and based on previous reviews I did not expect to say that - but am delighted to be able to!
The room rates for this hotel are very reasonable, it has a great location and great character and service. Taking all of this into account I feel that it represents very good value for money.
Well done, and thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if required. They will provide fans if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMWCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy that everything was to your satisfaction because of your previous reluctance.
99% of the time the team always receive a glowing review, which we are very proud of. I thank you for pointing out the breakfast team.
As you stated the hotel was looking a bit tired but will soon be back to the 'grand hotel'.
We also pride ourselves on the wedding service we offer and thank you for your kind comments.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future when l am confident your stay will be as pleasing as this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with colleagues from work and cannot praise the staff enough for politeness, efficiency and a friendly attitude. Made to feel welcome and asked why we were staying and given tips on best bars to visit. Tom could not do enough to make sure our needs were met. Lewis in the bar was great too and Annika at check out was very helpful.
One of our party was in room that backs on to the bell tower and did not sleep very well. On return from our meeting his room had been changed with a fan, and thin cotton sheets to help him have a more comfortable stay. All done with minimum fuss and a friendly approach.
Food is excellent. Decor is a little dated and tired but not a problem. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Request a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for such a positive review, which like every review we receive will be shared with the hotel team.
We are mindful that we don't always get it right, but it is issues like your colleague had, which were rectified immediately, that hilights we are moving in the right direction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location right in centre of town, really nice staff especialy the breakfast restaurant staff. Hotel is being refurbished at present but this didn't cause us any problems. Close to railway station and lots of nice restaurants.
Hopefully this tired old lady will be fuly refurbished soon and brought back to her former glory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you David for posting your review.

We are pleased that you found the location to be suitable and yes we are very central for all amenities. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the hotel team.
As you so rightly said we are slowly bringing this magnificent 'old lady' back to its former glory but with a hint of the 21st century thrown in.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel once all the refurbishment has been completed. by the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Mercure is situated on Granby Street in central Leicester. It is a large Victorian building with some character. The public spaces inside are open and light and the 19th Century carved woodwork is attractive. Much of the contemporary furniture throughout the hotel is rather tired. Renovation was clearly in progress in parts of the hotel, but was no inconvenience.

The staff at reception was thorough and pleasant as we checked in.

The rooms were clean and adequately appointed, though vanity arrangements are poor. The bed was very comfortable.

Though we booked our two double rooms several months in advance, we were still relegated to the so-called Sky Apartments. Despite the impression given by their name, these rooms are pokey and ill-lit, jammed under the roof and beyond the range of the hotel’s lifts. Our son’s room, in particular, almost totally lacked any natural light and was rather airless and claustrophobic. A chair in one room broke and shed a castor when sat upon by an individual weighing about 65 kg, pitching them onto the floor. The shower didn’t drain adequately in the other room.

Our idea had been to enjoy a four-star experience for our son’s graduation but the hotel failed to deliver it. We have genuinely had better accommodation and an (at least) equally comfortable experience at other, less-starred hotels.

Room Tip: If you book a room at the Mercure I recommend that you stipulate that it is not a Sky Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review, however l was disappointed to read that we did not exceed your expecatations during your stay and for this l am sorry.
As noted on other reviews we are some way into our investment journey which should be concluded at the end of November.
Regarding the 'sky studios' these are some of our most popular rooms, please be assured that we have rectified the problem with the shower and the chair, l am sorry that you did not bring these issues to our attention at the time.
If you have the opportunity to return to Leicester please contact me direct to make the necessary arrangements for you, so that l can ensure of a hassle free stay.
Thank you again for your feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We came from Northern Ireland for our son's graduation last Friday, and received a very warm welcome. We were impressed with the car parking facilities, and the fact we had the whole of the next day parking too - all for £7. Very central location, just round the corner from our son's flat, but not noisy (or at least where we were). No air-con and it was very warm (30 degrees on Friday, and not just the graduates'!) so I am interested to see that fans were available - maybe you should have mentioned that in the weather we were having? At least the windows in the bedroom and bathroom both opened. Otherwise, the staff were very happy to move one of our rooms so we could all be on one floor. Our room, a double had a nice large lobby area with wardrobe, chair, table, ironing board etc, a room mainly filled by the bed, but the lobby made up for that, and a clean and functioning bathroom though a shower cap would have been good, the toiletries were basic. I do always wonder that hotels don't put out more milk, tea and coffee on their trays - just a little stingy, but really everything was fine. There was decoration going on along the corridors, but generally the place was a little tired. The sofas in the lounge seriously need to be replaced - I sat on a wide-looking arm and nearly fell off as the arm had no stuffing left and there was nothing but a thin wooden arm under the cover. We didn't have breakfast as we decided to eat out with our son and friends. The bed was very comfortable, but it would have been nice to have had just a sheet option in the heat. We only paid £63.20 for each room (our friends had a twin room, it didn't have a lobby and the TV had a malfunction, but otherwise it was fine) which is excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms looking into the central area, ie away from the street were quieter, and ones higher up. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Henrietta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley M, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review
I am pleasesed that you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed in the centre of Leicester.
For future reference we do supply fans, shower caps and other guest amenities, which is advertised on our hotel guide on the TV.
As you noted we have started our refurbishment programme on the bedroom corridors which will soon be completed, then we will be completely revamping the ground floor area, still maintaining the victorian splendour but also bringing in some 21st century.
Thank you again for your feedback which will be shared with all the hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for son's graduation ceremony at the Curve Theatre and this venue was ideal for this and also the shopping centre / centre of Leicester. The bathroom in our room was huge and had a lovely big bath but the room itself was a little on the small side but adequate. It was very warm the week we went though and there was no air conditioning or fan to use and the window only partly opened so we were sweltering at night though the beds were comfy. Breakfast was ok though when we asked for coffee this was brought in two mugs with milk in both and dumped in front of us (my husband doesn't take milk !!), however the following day we did get our coffee in a pot with a milk jug etc as one would expect. The hotel is probably going under some refurbishment as the carpet gripper was on display down either side of our bedroom corridor and the building did look a little tired in places but the staff were pleasant and helpful and the location was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review
On a positve note l was pleased that you liked the location, which is in the centre for everything also the room size but particularly the great team we have at the hotel.
For future reference we do supply fans by request for any room from reception.
I was disappointed and sorry to note your coffee service at breakfast, which certainly is not a standard of ours, but pleased that we were able to redeem ourselves on your next visit to breakfast.
As noted we have begun our refurbishment which will be completed by the end of November to our bedroom corridors and our ground floor.
I do hope we can welcome you back to share the new look with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 40 in Leicester
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
661 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing