We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and a bit different”

Abbey Pumping Station
Ranked #11 of 111 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Interesting and a bit different”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great little museum to while away an hour or so with children - lots of hands-on activities and some interesting exhibits. Looking forward to returning on one of the steaming days.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPeterDRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    112
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“abbey pumping station review”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited this following a trip to the space centre. It was excellent fun for both my nine year old son and myself. Very good value for money and interesting exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank c4arl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unusual Quirky Museum”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Abbey Pumping Station as we had returned to Space Centre with our annual tickets but couldn't get in as they had a special event day. Its free to enter (once you have paid for the ubiquitous car parking). This small quirky museum is well worth an hour of your time. It's interactive exhibits show how plumbing (loos etc) have changed throughout the years. The kids loved it. Lots of interactive exhibits. Well worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Industrial interest; machinery marvel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Abbey Pumping Station just by chance through surfing the internet a couple of nights before, stumbled upon it through the attraction of a Steam Toy event. On arrival was greeted with a lengthy queue which displays it's popularity and the delightful smells of coal smoke and warm oil. With a very reasonable £3 deposited for the admission, we visited the indoor areas for the event, but progressed to the main pumping station showing off the remarkable operational beam engine reaching vertically through three levels.

We did feel that if the event wasn't on, would there be as much to see (apart from the beam engine which is an exhibit on its own) but if the admission is only £3 you cannot grumble at seeing such a sight for so little cost. There is also the opportunity to ride a steam train around the perimeter; for the 50p per person or £1.50 per family, I'm sure that would excite those of most ages!

It's another one of those places that is a cast iron trophy of our industrial past and should be visited to keep it alive and steaming, run by people that do it for love. Go and support it and enjoy a few hours there whilst it's still here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaeldgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Freebie fun”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great free attraction, interesting and historical. One of the first places I visited when I moved here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HeidiXRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey Pumping Station also viewed

 

Been to Abbey Pumping Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing