We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Situated next to a very busy 4 lane bypass which is also fed by a busy overpass. Sleep was hard to come by.
The hotel itself is looking dated and resembles a block of council flats. Inside is not helped by the open plan layout, the bar is at the bottom of the stairs and lift, so a quiet drink is not possible.
The rooms are small and need updating. The bathroom has a broken tile and the shower head was all broken.
Half the freebies channels do not work on the TV so trying to watch the news in the morning, I had to resort to my laptop.
The cooked breakfast is no great shakes and tastes like it was cooked much earlier, kept warm and plated as and when needed.
I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooby1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recen review.
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

If possible I would welcome to discuss your comments with you further.
To do so please contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife and son for one night only.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Room was small but clean and comfortable with everything required for a stay of a day or two. Good bathroom, shower, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable bed, TV and free wi fi internet access (which you pay a fortune for if you stay at Travelodge).
We had a room overlooking the car park which is quiet at night.
Within a 15 minute walk of town centre, restaurants, bars, etc.
To my surprise, the hotel bar was open quite late and was reasonably priced.
We didn't eat there and so cannot comment on the quality of the food
The car parking was free although quite limited.
My only (minor) gripe was that there was only one power outlet in the room, a problem if you need to charge up a number of gadgets.
Would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: try to choose a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I was delighted to read that you considered the hotel to be both clean and comfortable and within close proximity to the City centre.

We hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to stay again.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Room wasn't cleaned made me move around and staff didn't even apologise...service was horrible and wouldn't even go there if u paid me to. The lady on reception couldn't even smile and the language was terrible.

Room Tip: Premier inn or travelodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I was however extremely dissapointed to review your comments.

I would very much like to obtain some further information so that I can address these issues with the team.

Could you please contact me on manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here with work for a few days and its a good budget hotel. The rooms are clean, with all the usual expected features. It also (somewhat surprisingly for a hotel in its price range) had a decent shower, that was powerful and had a fully functioning temperature control.
The staff mostly friendly. The young lady who was on the bar in the evenings was very friendly and always smiling. Which makes a real difference.
The food is ok, but nothing special. And I did find my breakfast to be a bit 'greasy'.
We didn't really explore the local area but it didn't look like there was a lot nearby (resteraunts, pubs etc) but I may be wrong on that.
Other than that it was a perfectly good budget hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jimmyodsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I was delighted to read that you considered us to be a "Good Budget Hotel"

I was particulary pleased to also read that you found Alex to be friendly and I will pass on your thanks to her.

With regards to your comment on our proximity to bars and restaurants, we are infact just a 10 minute walk from the city centre so when next visiting we would be happy to provide directions to this area fro you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel campanile and had a pleasant stay, we were there for 2 nights and we found the all you can eat buffet breakfast very good with lovely fresh bread and selection of meats. the rooms are small but plenty big enough for a few nights, we had a rear facing room which was very quiet, The hotel is within walking distance of the town which is a good town for shopping and a few museum's. The hotel offers free car parking which is a bonus as being so close to town you don't need to move your car.
The staff were lovely and so helpful the hotel only has a small bar but you get free WiFi at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you found our Continental buffet breakfast very good, that you consider our hotel to be of good value and within walking distance to the city centre.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Michelle Weir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have stayed at the Campanile several times as it is very conveniently within walking distance to the centre and the Golden Mile (15 mins each way).
The hotel is clean, rooms are decent size and also clean and they offer free wifi and free parking which is a bonus. Only complaint would be the rooms and corridors are very warm especially in summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the car park, it is much quieter on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBeresford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was pleased to read you find Campanile leicester to be of good quality and located in a convienent distance to the city centre and golden mile.

If you are to stay with us again in the future we do have a number of fans available at reception which we would be happy to provide you with.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Michelle Weir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked early and Staff communication was excellent prior to our stay. Reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the room was very clean, beds comfy and shower excellent.Perfect after a long haul flight.With 12md check out and free Wii Fi this has to be one of the best value hotels Ive ever stayed in.I would definately come back.

Room Tip: Request back room near carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I am delighted to see that you have given us a five star rating.

Also i was very pleased to read that you consider us to be one of the best value hotels you have ever stayed in. I shall pass on your comments to the team with regards to our friendly reception staff.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Weir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
691 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.6 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Leicester

Address: St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Hotel Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Leicester Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing