We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campanile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff.
Room comfortable.
Location is ok but could be better, about a good half mile walk to the centre , views drab from the room and Hotel very close to busy road and underpass, a good nights sleep was had which was the main thing.
They allowed us to use the car park all day which was lovely, its a shame it was so far from the Uni though, around a mile and a half to 2 miles to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marveloussnessess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be welcoming, and the room to be comfortable.

It is unfortunate that the university to which you were travelling was not located as close to the hotel as you would have liked, although in future stays, the hotel staff would be delighted to arrange a taxi for any journeys that you may require.

We are pleased that you had a good nights sleep, despite the close proximity of the road. Next time you stay with us, there are a number of rooms located on the car park side of the hotel, so feel free to enquire as to whether these are available and may help you enjoy a more peaceful nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Kalps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Arriving at the Campanile in Leicester you know for sure that you are on the wrong side of the tracks. Set amidst decaying warehouses, vacant weed-blown lots, and overshadowed by an overpass, you wonder why on earth they chose this scenic location to build a hotel. I guess the land was cheap. Leicester is an attractive town if approached from the right direction, but there is nothing attractive about this run-down side of town, I have truly never had worse views from an English hotel window! Still, it's built now, so too late to move it, I suppose.

I don't know about you, but when I arrive weary after a day's travel there are two things I need more than anything else - a long soak in a hot bath and a clean and comfortable place to lay my head.

It was thus with some disappointmen that, upon arrival, we were shown into a room with only a shower. The room was crammed with furniture, leaving no walkway at all. This was because a sofa bed had been made up beside the double bed, although we had only booked a double room.

Reception, staffed by a cheery and helpful young woman, folded up the sofa bed for us, and offered to see if a room with bath was available. One was quickly found, and we decamped down to floor 1. There was certainly a bath here, but my toy poodle would have felt cramped in it. It was the shortest bath I have ever seen outside a doll's house. There were chips in the enamel which gave the impression that someone had recently attacked it with a sledge hammer. However, it was technically a bath, and thus to be preferred to the shower on the third floor. Also, the room was not full of sofa bed. We accepted it.

Like most budget hotels (and several pricier establishments, who ought to know better) there was evident confusion in the minds of the management as to the distinction between pillows and sandbags. Many an otherwise comfortable night's sleep is ruined by pillows that are hard and unyielding. Such was the case here. I really should have learned my lesson by now, and pack my own pillow everytime I venture from home.

The bed itself was reasonably comfortable, although it had casters which were very efficient. To sit up in bed and place any pressure on the headboard...as in reading, say, or watching TV... was to risk setting the bed off across the floor at a fast canter.

Laying aside these annoyances, there is much to praise here. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves good food, and they are prepared to accommodate difficult tastes. Breakfasts are excellent value, and you have plenty of choice.

In short, the Campanile is clean and offers acceptable comfort at a budget price. If only it were in a better part of town!

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossicker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you found the food served in the restaurant to be of a good standard, and the staff to be both polite and helpful.

With regards to your comments on the view, I'm sure you will appreciate that to have a hotel in close proximity to a city centre such as Leicester, it's highly likely that you would encounter a more industrial view.

May I recommend in future for a more picturesque location, the outskirts of Leicester which will also offer great access to the city centre.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over night when I was working in Leicester. The hotel is centrally located so is appealing for city dwellers.
Rooms are comfortable and have tea, coffee facilities.
Continental breakfast was included with the option of upgrading to full English for £2.
Lovely stay thanks. Would definitely stay again when working in Leicester again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathgirl2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Heathgirl 2K3

Many thanks for taking the time in posting your big 5 Star review!

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be both well located and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went to stay with a number of friends for 2 nights when we were down seeing Kasabian. We arrived about 11pm after enduring a 9hour bus journey from Scotland and when we got into the hotel we were immediately made to feel uncomfortable as the nightporter/worker said to us "No other people in your rooms or you're out, No noise or you're out, No drugs or you're out!" After he repeated this to us about 10 times he reluctantly gave us our keys where we went to our rooms to sit in silence and not enjoy ourselves. After that night the service was returned to an acceptable standard and the rooms were clean enough. Although the first impression the staff made on me and my friends made us very uncomfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Coochbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Coochbloke

Thank you for taking the time in posting your recent review.

I was sorry to read that out night porter made you feel uncomfortable on your arrival to the hotel.

As i am sure you will appreciate the safety and security of our guests is of the upmost importance and as such we from time to time feel it necessary to make our expectations clear when checking in groups such as yours.

We hope that this did not detract from your overall stay and that you enjoyed your time on Leicester.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed over for a night, the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms clean tidy basic but to be expected. Reception appeared clean. We paid the extra £6.50 or thereabouts for a continental breakfast which was lovely. Lots of choice and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful and with the hotel offering clean rooms and with a lovely breakfast.

I hope that when you are next in Leicester you will stay again and award us "5 Stars"

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Staff are really friendly and will your make your stay a great experience. Rooms are good. Convenient bar located downstair and restaurant with a smile selection, but the quality of meals may just surprise you! Delicious! Good location, not far from the city centre (walking distance).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzyS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Staff are really friendly and will your make your stay a great experience. Rooms are good. Convenient bar located downstair and restaurant with a smile selection, but the quality of meals may just surprise you! Delicious! Good location, not far from the city centre (walking distance).

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and approachable. We will pass these comments over to the team.

We are glad that you found the on-site bar and restaurant to be useful, and that you enjoyed the meal you had here. I will pass on your compliments to the chef.

Kind Regards.

Kalps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband stayed here for one night, the location is great just a short walk from the city centre and all the shops. The lady on reception at check in was very helpful and told us lots of helpful information. The room was lovely, they are quite small but this wasn't a problem for us. The room also has a hospitality tray with tea and coffee. We were unfortunately woken up very early in the morning due to building work in the hotel but we spoke to the manager, she was lovely and very apologetic, she also offered to rectify this which is very much appreciated.
Over all this was our second stay at the campanile and we would not hesitate to recommend. Very nice budget hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for you recent review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and that you were provided with useful information. We will pass on these comments to the team.

We apologies once again about the disruption during the stay. This was due to some re-carpeting work occurring in some of our hotel rooms, but we are glad that you felt it was dealt with appropriately.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Leicester

Kind Regards,

Kalps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Leicester

Address: St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £34 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Hotel Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Leicester Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing