We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Days Inn revisited”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Leicester, visiting friends, and stayed again at the Days Inn, Leicester Forest East. Myself and two friends really enjoyed our stay.
This hotel is situated on the M1 motorway, northbound, at junction 21.
We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it to be clean and well presented and we found the hotel to have the same high standards when we revisited it last week.
The rooms are clean and spacious enough with TV, including Freeview and free WiFi in all rooms. There is a plentiful supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk with complimentary biscuits. Lovely towels and hair and body wash supplied, as was a hairdryer and trouser press.
The bathroom was great, very clean taps and even the shower head was really clean !
The staff are friendly and obliging and the parking is free, albeit in the main welcome Break service area car park. You just key your Registration number and how many nights you are staying into the machine at reception.
We are smokers who adhere to smoking rules but one of the bonuses of this hotel is that they supply designated smoking rooms, which means you do not have to keep running outside when you fancy a cigarette (great in cold winter months methinks).
You can order continental breakfast or have the full English. There is a shop on site as well as more amenities over the motorway walkway.
Northbound carriageway is easily accessed and southbound you just go north for a few hundred yards, take the first turning, follow Kirby Muxlow sign then turn right at the roundabout to access southbound carriageway. Alternatively,for Leicester north just follow signs.
For quality and value for money you cannot go far wrong with this hotel.
It was great to see that the standards of the hotel were well maintained and we will definately be staying here again when visiting Leicester !

Room Tip: Smoking rooms on second floor. Executive rooms on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    139
    80
    23
    26
See reviews for
111
91
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is one of the better Days Inn establishments. With ample parking and easy access from the motorway the hotel is situated in the Welcome Break Service area of Junction 21 and 21a on the M1 Motorway. Entry is on the northbound side of the motorway.

The check in was fast and efficient and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious with all the usual coffee / tea making facilites that you would expect. The only drawback was the fact that this particular Days Inn did not have air conditioning in the room and the weather was quite hot.

Free Wi-Fi worked well and the bathroom facilities were spotlessly clean and well laid out. You have the added bonus of being right next to the main Welcome Break area with the shops and food outlets just a quick walk away.

Breakfast at the hotel is available for an extra charge but the breakfast room is a little on the small side and some of the chairs have seen better days. Not bad value for money though.

The Days Inn fits the bill in terms of budget and for a one night stop over you can't complain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

If you are just looking for a nice, clean, comfortable but most importantly cheap hotel then this is ideal. The rates are very reasonable. Obviously with this you are not going to get any real amenities (bar/restaurant etc) but as this is based at a service station there was always food/drink available (KFC, Burger King, Starbucks etc)

Only issue is that it is northbound, meaning that if you are traveling somewhere the next day that is south Leicester then it is a rather long and busy stretch of motorway to go up a junction and then back on. Bear this is in mind if you have a morning meeting for example as you may need to add 30mins to your journey through rush hour (no exaggeration)

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PhilMiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Needed somewhere to stay overnight after seeing Bruce Springsteen in Coventry. Left it late to book somewhere and this was the nearest budget hotel I could find, but I'm glad I did.
Manned for 24 hours, so we booked in well after midnight with no problems whatsoever.
The room was spotless and comfortable.
My only very minor gripe would be that it was a humid night and the air conditioning wasn't upto much and the window didn't open far enough.
Being in a motorway service station meant there was food on tap all night although the fast food outlets were closed overnight.
Staff friendly and informative when we left.
I'd definitely recommend it for an overnight stay

Room Tip: We had a room that backed onto the lorry park, but hardly heard them all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here just for a bed(s) as we were going to Alton Towers the next day and worked out pretty cheap versus other closer hotels. It was about 40 minutes away from the destination, most of the drive from the hotel to the park was a clear route.

We had booked a double with a sofa bed room but upon arrival we were given a room with two double beds, great free upgrade! Plenty of parking, the reception service was very impressive. The room was of a good size considering the brand and price paid. Location is handy for the service station within less of a minute walk.

As the park didnt open until 10 am we woke up about 8 and didnt leave the hotel until just after nine. Shower had a good pressure and heat. If I ever do a similar trip i would definately consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank theenglishorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

visited the hotel evening time on 09/06/13 as family member was staying there for a number of nights. very reasonable rates through late rooms, ample parking, reception staff were excellent, very friendly, helpful and efficent. The room was very clean and of a decent size with nice bathroom.feedback from family member was that a good nights sleep was had on a comfortable bed and it was quiet even though next to the M1 and staff were welcoming every night upon return to the hotel. Well worth consideration if require just a room for the night.

Room Tip: If you need an iron and ironing board ask at reception and one will be provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Was really surprised with this hotel. Just booked it as i was visiting friends in the area. Ok, so my reservation wasn't in the system but the receptionist sorted this out asap, all they needed was my email confirmation to prove i had booked it. Friendly staff, Clean rooms, close to the centre of Leicester. Fab price too! :)

Room Tip: A room away from the truck park as it can be a tad noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecat1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
5.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#17 of 40 in Leicester
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,515 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1

Property: Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Address: Welcome Break Service Area J21/21a M1 | Leicester Forest East, Leicester LE3 3GB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Leicester Forest East is located 3 miles from Leicester City Centre and Train Station. It offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour reception and free parking. Rooms feature a flat-screen Freeview TV offering over 80 different channels. The bright and airy rooms also include a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Situated between junction 21/21a of the M1 motorway, this Days Inn is a 20-minute drive from East Midlands Airport. Nottingham and Birmingham are both within a 30-minute drive.Local attractions such as The National Space Centre, Leicester Racecourse, Mallory Park, Donington Race Track & Silverstone are all located nearby. For added value children up to the age of 12 years stay and eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Leicester Forest East Hotel Leicester
Leicester Days Inn
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1 Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing