We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We decided at last minute to stay overnight as it was really cheap for a student budget in Leicester, the bathroom was quite frankly disgusting..the room was okay and basic as you would expect, the bed was made up and the room was reasonably clean however the make-up on the bathroom walls and lipgloss smudges all over the toilet seat were not!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Due to roadworks and being in the city centre this was not the easiest place to get to at first. There is a car park next to the hotel but it is for the casino next door and is expensive. There is however the shopping centre car park (Highcross) just around the corner and if you validate your ticket at reception it costs £5 for 24 hours. The staff were friendly and helpful. Upon seeing our room we were a bit disappointed as the desk/dressing table is so large that the childrens beds don't fit in as well as they should have. We personally would have preferred a smaller table and more space so we weren't falling over the bed! The corridor was very hot as was the room. There was quite a small window but they did supply a fan. Due to the city centre location and being next to a casino we found that it was relatively noisy and wasn't helped by peopel in the car park who insisted on revving their engines?! We had breakfast on the second morning. It was ok but there wasn't a huge amount of choice, i.e. only one type of egg etc. As a romantic retreat i wouldn't recommend it but as a base for exploring Leicester or a night out it was fine. We went to the space centre which was a bout a 10 minute drive away. However as the room was quite cheap and we were out for most of the day it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank VJJ_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Travelodge Leicester is spotlessly clean, modern and welcoming. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Tea / coffee facilities in rooms and meal in restaurant was good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel has been refurbished recently, so the rooms looked nicer than previous Travelodge stays. However, the room was very hot, and there is no air conditioning.

Staff we encountered were all friendly. Breakfast was poor for the price paid. There was no one else eating breakfast, and we had to wait for a member of staff to turn up at the desk, as there were no plates to help yourself. It's a tiny breakfast area right next to reception. The hot buffet looked like it had been sat there since breakfast started, and there were flies landing on the uncovered food. In hindsight, we wished we'd not paid extra for breakfast, as we found lots of cafes nearby where we could have got a much better and cheaper breakfast.

Location is great, as it's right near the High Cross shopping centre, and bars and restaurants are a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkButterflyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the Leicester Music Festival . Perfect location. Right beside the shopping centre. Parking was over the road at The Rooftop parking place. It costs £5 for 24 hours when you get your parking ticket validated at the hotel when you leave.

We didn't have breakfast this time as there are plenty of restaurants across the road.

Our room was exactly what you get at a travel lodge. Nice and clean. Comfortable bed. Tea coffee baking facility. We had a tiny window in our room, but we were provided with an electric fan as it was a very warm night.

The hotel corridor reminded us of a cruise ship, as its curved!!

Anyway staff were very helpful and gave us perfect directions to the places we needed to get to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SFB2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location for visiting Leicester. Very close to the main shopping area and De Montfort University. Plenty of places to eat & drink close by. The Travelodge is well run by very helpful, friendly staff. Breakfasts are good and the rooms have been refurbished with comfy beds. We stayed when it was warm weather and could have done with a fan in the room as there was some traffic noise when the window was open but it was still excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The hotel is centrally located and the staff are friendly, but the rooms are so hot we couldn't sleep well. The corridors are unpleasantly hot too. There is no air conditioning in the rooms and unfortunately the staff could not offer us a fan. The windows do not open fully and we couldn't get much air into the room. Also, our room fronted a very noisy road.

The rooms are a reasonable size but basic. You get what you pay for. However if you are willing to spend a little more I would recommend you do, especially if it's summer and you want a good nights sleep.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ALBoro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
969 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#25 of 41 in Leicester
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel

Address: Vaughan Way, Leicester LE1 4NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £38 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Leicester Central hotel is perfectly located for those visiting this Roman city. Whether you want culture from the Haymarket Theatre, shopping at the Highcross Centre or football at the King Power Stadium, it's all here. The city boasts the National Space Centre, a must-see for wannabe astronauts, along with the New Walk Museum, with exhibits covering everything from Ancient Egypt to Victorian Art. Or grab a drink on buzzing Belvoir Street. Our new Business Floor Room option guarantees you a room on one of our quieter business floors. All rooms feature a comfy king size bed with four plump pillows and a cosy duvet. Our on-site restaurant and bar serves breakfast and tasty evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Travelodge
Leicester Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Leicester
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing