We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exciting visit always sems to be part I have never seen before.”
Review of Watermead Park

Watermead Park
Ranked #16 of 110 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An exciting visit always sems to be part I have never seen before.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderful outdoor experience close to Leicester and Loughborough.
The lakes are all bordered by accessible footpaths and there is a choice of at least 4 car parks around the site. There are wildlife hides and lots of flora and fauna. Lots of picnic areas spread throughout, and a sailing lake with some disabled sailing available through mosaic shapoing disabilities Leicester.
Wardens work very hard to give an excellent experience ,
Some area will become flooded after consistent heavy rain. It is a shame that Leicestershire county council choose to charge £2.50 for car parking. Good for all ages and mobilities.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    88
    27
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Country Park”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I run around this park regularly from work and as am not local get happily "lost" along the many paths and trails. The park is always full of runners, cyclists, dog walkers etc but there is room for all.

The lakes are lovely, and although I don't park there there seems plenty of space.

All in all a lovely place to spend some time taking in the views and getting some fresh air.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TC1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Country park at its best...”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Watermead is a lovely place to visit, there is an entrance fee of £2.50 unless you have a Leicestershire Country parks annual pass which is £60.00 and gets you entrance to all the Country parks, Beacon, Bradgate Park etc.
We've been going to Watermead regularly for the last 18 months with the dog and we all love it. The re are several lakes all with tarmac paths and benches for those who want to take a break. The largest King Lear and John Meerick Lakes are about 2 miles all the way round, lovely walk, plenty of wildlife, other dogs, joggers, boot campers and cyclists. Its a lovely trip for all the family. Most weekends there is an ice cream van there and sometimes a hot drinks and food outlet, Kasper our dog would recommend the sausage sandwiches. The are fisherman on the John Merrick lake so dogs need to be kept under control.There are toilet facilities situated in between the 2 lakes if you're caught short!
Its a lovely place, take a picnic and spend a few hours having a walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Came here with a bunch of University friends. It's such a lovely find within Leicester. We had a picnic and a BBQ, enjoyed the weather and the lovely grounds. Much bigger than anticipated.

Lots of nice little spaces. The only things missing I'd say is bins!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A walk on the wild side”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great park, so close to the city, but with that 'away from it' feel. A dog walkers heaven, with lovely walks, loads of water, and, peaceful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watermead Park also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Watermead Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing