We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely lovely!”
Review of Fratelli - CLOSED

Fratelli
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fratelli is a family run Italian Restaurant & Bar situated in Leicester's West End, on the corner of Braunstone Gate and Narborough road. We offer a mix of hearty Italian cuisine such as Pastas, Risottos and Steaks, as well as seafood specials such as mussels and scallops. Our price range caters for all, from those looking for an inexpensive and relaxed weekday dinner to those looking to celebrate a special occasion in style. We hope to welcome you to our restaurant soon!
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What do they say about property? It's all about "location, location,location". Well this Italian has lovely staff, lovely atmosphere and lovely food. We had a mid week meal, early evening and whilst the place wasn't busy the attitude of the staff told you that they cared. We have recommended to friends and their feedback is good too!

2  Thank TravelCrazy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Fratelli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I went for a meal here to catch up with some girlfriends. 2 of our party didn't turn up so we were moved to a smaller table at the back- fair enough. Annoyingly the table was right by the cutlery press so the waitress was hovering behind me a lot which was irritating. Me and my friend had the goats cheese starter and were disappointed that the toast was burnt black on all sides. It was meant to come with caramelised onions but just had 2 whole slices of raw red onion placeed on top with about half a teaspoon of caramelised onions. and the cheese was cold- it was supposed to be baked. Risotto Rosso was bland and dry with absolutely no taste of blue cheese or red pesto or any seasoning. At this point we complained and told it definitely contained blue cheese and the rice was meant to be hard- which I found patronising! Overall disappointing and won't be retuning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lilyvicmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dion20, Owner at Fratelli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

You will see from previous entries on Trip Advisor that we do not ordinarily respond to reviews whether good or bad. We feel that any dining experience is personal to the individual and although we try very hard to please this is not always possible.

We do however feel it neccesary to respond on this occasion as it is felt that some of the comments made are simply unfair and were not brought up with the staff on duty giving us a chance to rectify the situation at the time.

With regards the starters we are aware that you were asked both when eating and on clearing the plates if all was ok to which you replied yes. Absolutely nothing was said at the time about your disatisfaction. We serve many of this dish and have never receivced any complaints to date in fact it is some of our regular's favourite dish.

In respect of your Risotto we would make the following points. You made your original complaint to the waitress serving you. The Manager on duty then attended your table to check on the problem. The complaint made was the the Risotto contained no blue cheese, no peppers and the rice was not risotto rice.

This dish is served frequently and it was very apparent that there was blue cheese as the veins were visible, that again there were red peppers and that the rice (as we buy nothing else) was arborio rice used in Risottos.

It was said that Italian Risotto is different to say French as the rice tends to be harder rather than creamy. This was not intended to patronise only to explain why the rice did not taste as would be expected.

With regards your table. We are aware that the cutlery and glasses are stored behind the table on which you were sitting making us very aware not to loiter around the shelves. We are sorry that you found this annoying but can asure you that any disruption caused was minimal and unavoidable.

We would finish on the point that a tip was left at the end of your meal. We are really rather confused as to how we were so very bad when custom would suggest that tips are left for good service rather than bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is now one of my favourites in Leicester, atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very accommodating an very good. The food was excellent, filling, tasty and fresh. Will definitely be coming back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Justine1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had a couple of beers, shared a pizza and Pasta with my husband before a night out with friends... place was quiet...(but only due to us popping in early on a saturday night)............Overall we would return as it was pretty good food @ good price and enjoyable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank piggytailchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A table of 13 of us had a great meal here on Saturday night. The atmosphere was great, the food was tasty and the staff were attentive. We had three courses and good wine, and the chef was chatty and generous with us too. We will be back in September.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CKnight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fratelli also viewed

Markfield, Leicester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing