We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and unwelcoming. Do not go unless your looking for the real 'hostel' movie experience.”
Review of Grafton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton House
Ranked #16 of 23 Leicester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Where can I start! The staff were very rude on arrival, stating their rules and threatening us by saying 'do not make mistakes, you have been warned'. I have never been spoken to like that before in any hotel I have stayed at! We were made to pay a £10 deposit for a key in order for us to re-enter after 11.30pm, which we were willing to pay as we also valued security.

When we were shown to our room, we were majorly disappointed. The room was freezing and smelt like sick. One of the wardrobes had a draw full of somebody elses underwear. If that was not enough, we realised that the bedding had not been changed that day (or that week) as it had somebody elses hair all over it an smelt used. The facilities were dreadful, only consisting of one single mirror in a "double" bedroom and 2 plugs (one of which had the miniscule heater plugged in). The lighting was terrible, with light bulbs missing.

We went out for the night and returned to find both the front doors ajar (what was that about security?) which of course makes you feel uneasy. Because we were worried about who may have entered the bnb while we were out, we decided to call a friend to come help check the place out. Of course we were panicking all the way through as we we 'clearly' told that if we made the mistake of bringing somebody back there will be consequences (he had told us that he watches the camera's every night and every morning). After checking that the place was safe enough for us to stay we walked our friend out and was saying bye when one of owners crept up behind us and told him to leave this second or we should leave. Of course we left, at 4am. Do not make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nedster1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I can honestly say that this place was more like a flee ridden hostel than a British B&B. on the day of arrival we were greeted with a simple '' Hello, Hello, get in quick it is cold '' which to me sounded rude , not the right way to greet any paying customer. He gave us a list of rules which is fair enough however he threatened us by saying , '' do not invite anybody , if you want to sleep with men go to their house, you have been warned , do not make that mistake in my B&B'' when we made it to our room , there was one small mirror , a sink and a bed. The room had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly as we found at least 5 hairs in our bed .There was a heater the size of a shoe box , in a large room . All in all I would never recommend this place upon my worst enemy , the staff were awful , also looked as if the lady needed a good wash , and the rooms were dirty .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsarahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

On line this hotel states there is internet, and heating which is what i needed as i work as a dnacer in the city of leicester this is all i needed.. i got there and my room was freezing i had to leave my hair dryer on all day and night to get some warmth.. no internet i could get 1 bar in the bath room.. shared bath rooms.. could even have a bath! no towels no soap, the staff were ok.. but didnt speak hardly any english.. and there was only one plug socket in the room.. and for the price i paid i could have stayed in a nicer proper hotel for an extra 7 pounds per night.. HORRIBLE experience i would wish this place on anyone.. i think its ment for workers, i got the impression there were builders staying there and 3-4 people in one room.. aweful made my trip very uncomfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank adele334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the sort of hotel used in depressing TV dramas where something bad happens! Having said that, there are a few good points - there are some, which is why I didn't mark it 'terrible'. It is convenient for Leicester train station. You get a parking permit so you can park in the road outside. It is warm and you get breakfast. Would perhaps be ok for a student passing through for one night only. Staff were ok.
Now the bad. It is quite dirty and tired in décor with marks on the wall and dirt on the carpet. The bed is uncomfortable and seems old. The old fashioned TV is run from adaptors hanging down the wall. The sink has no plug. No towels, soap, drinks or kettle provided. There was one strip light and a wardrobe with a door that kept swinging open. No table to work at. No sockets. No Wi-Fi even though it is advertised. The shared bathroom has a notice saying 'please do not use the bath'. The shower trickles boiling water for 5 seconds then freezing cold for 15 seconds.
The hotel closes at 11.30pm.
Breakfast is a choice of 2 cereals and a mug of tea/coffee. Then bacon, eggs and beans which was ok. Toast too, no choice given. 2 choices of fruit juice. TV blaring on the High Street Channel selling bras.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Awful place to stay in. Freezing cold and dirty rooms with no towels or soap(not to mention kettle or tea), unplesant staff, ridiculous rules - 10 pounds key deposit, very tiny parking. You cannot enter the hotel after 11.30pm. 1 toilet to be shared by the whole floor. The information in the room says that breakfast is being served between 7 and 9 on Sundays. Having come to dining room at 8.40 we've been informed breakfast is gone("8.30 every day"). No refund offerred. Staff hardly speak any English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billubipkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Booked for a Saturday evening; the light in the bedroom was too dim to read or see the mirror, dirty toilets, the door number written on in biro, and there was a very loud party going on which the manageress did not think was a problem as it was 'only until midnight'. I couldn't stay here and had to call a friend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMW322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Cheap and cheerful near the station is what I was hoping for. Awful unclean rooms with not even a towel. Cold rooms with no extra blankets. The rules are very strict too, you have to pay £10 to leave the hotel for a drink and you must be back by 11pm or you turn into a pumpkin.

This is a place you go to die in.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thezazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#26 of 41 in Leicester
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#36 of 41 in Leicester
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton House

Address: Grafton House 7-13 Saxby Street, Leicester LE2 0ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range: £27 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grafton House 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Grafton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton House Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing