We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly very good but not quite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
North Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nearly very good but not quite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

easy to find hotel, well lit and unusual " motel" type lodge. Arrived late at 8.30pm, waited for a good 15 mins whiles staff walked passed the reception area just looking at us, eventually manager type arrived looking tired and hot. Checked us in no probs. Room was large, nicely decorated and some good attention to detail. However the good detail seemed counterbalanced by silly little faults. The over riding smell of " jeyes fluid" from the bathroom was not nice. The rubbish TV with poor pictue no remote and no free view. And yet, the best tea/coffee tray, plenty of coffee and tea ...brilliant but the rubbish broken cheap biscuits spoilt it. The little alcove bits under which was the double bed and a smacked head waiting to happen, why put the bed there?? Excellent space, no noise from other rooms and an excellent comfortable bed with good pillows. Rubbish check in, yet speedy and friendly check out in morning was exact opposite. Great parking. Rubbish plastic loo seat which kept coming off and yet lovely big fluffy towels. This was a place of contradictions. That aside, it was overall a pleasing stay and we would go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coweejuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    36
    28
    38
See reviews for
51
64
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Excellent room, clean, tidy, spacious.

Friendly, very pub, excellent home cooked food,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Stayed here over night and found it to be not a bad sleep.When i first got the keys and walked in it smelt a bit musky,but when we went back to the room that night it was better.only thing we were not impressed with was the shower did not work and the front of it was missing on the wall.Best thing about the room was the bed it was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in and was good value for the price.we had breakfast in the morning too which was £7.50 EACH EXTRA.

we ate in the pub that night as we had eaten here twice before and enjoyed their stake pie ,mash & peas.
This time we went for the seabass in a tomatoe sauce with new potatoes from the special menu..BAD MOVE the potatoes were dry and powdery and a couple of them were grey in colour and hardly any fish....still felt hungry after it so had a orange crisp dessert which was nice.

OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD VALUE ROOM FOR THE PRICE AND HAD A MODERN INTERIOR.STAFF WERE POLITE AND THE PUB IS NICE INSIDE TOO.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARPHIL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed here as I was working nearby, and I don't know if the cleaner was on holiday when I stayed. The bathroom was absolutely filthy, the toliet was badly stained and there were far too many hairs that weren't from my body. They have attempted a refurb, but have done it to a very poor standard. Room was freezing cold, as the windows wouldn't close completely. Cobwebs trailing all over the ceiling. Food over in the pub was basic. Breakfast consisted of burnt toast and microwaved eggs. Could be lovely if the work had been finished to a higher standard and if it was actually cleaned! Staff were friendly enough, and I have to say the bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Was diving nearby at Stoney Cove, this was one of the nearest places to stay. Although the post code covers a wide area and sat nav directed us to a different place - it's not the hotel's fault and if you just check the location on an online map before setting off it's easy to find. Food was good and room was good sized, comfy and clean, will stay again if diving nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jediknightwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

it's great looking place, the rooms have been tastefully refurbised and are really more than what I expected. The beds are huge and very comfortable and you have plasma tvs in the room. The restaurant serves good value food well, its a chain pub restaurant but its a great menu. however its the staff who make the difference they are very friendly and really make you feel at home. have stayed before and i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Dated, but clean and staff more than helpful. Enjoyed it and would book again. Think slightly overpriced though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
2.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
11.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Property: Mill on the Soar
Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing