We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 times stayed easy and acceptable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“3 times stayed easy and acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

we have stayed here three times so far and we have had nothing but a good report for this accomodation.You do get abit of noise but you are beside the resturant and bar.Is in a good location near to the main road into fosse park shopping center and to the motorway which is 20mins away from accomodation. there are two parts to the rooms one set on ground level with ramp access and the other both up and down stair rooms,each room are decorated similar could do with a lick of paint now but its acceptable.good service from staff if you need extra things for the room and when booking in and out.The resturant is good for a bar lunch or for a main meal resonalblly priced and good food.The beds were always clean and made up when you came back to room later.Never had any problems,they do have wifi you just need to ask at main desk.bathroom facilities are good and clean again may need an update but still good pressure.Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay for a few days,only thing no bus stops near to get into town need to walk abit to get to main street for that but it is worth the money......just an update with decor needed but you can look by this as everything else cancels that out....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janettet863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    36
    28
    38
See reviews for
51
64
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night in room 16 which seemed to be newly refurbed. Modern deco and a comfortable clean bed. TV, coffee/tea facilities and wifi included. The bathroom was slightly less impressive and the bath could do with a good clean but nevertheless lots of (very) hot water and did the job. We had a snack in the Pub which was very reasonably priced and again was adequate. Only downside was that breakfast was only served until 9am which was too early for us after a late night, shame as we would have eaten had it finished at 10am instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Well, I booked this hotel last week on the basis it was advertised as having WIFI throughout the hotel. This is important to me due to my line of work as I need to have VPN access during the night as I'm on call.

During check-in I asked about the internet to be told they use the 'Cloud' network and that it was not specific to the hotel, concerned with this I checked and sure enough I could see it while stood in reception.

However once I checked into my room (room 4 far building) my latop could see NO networks for any kind. I asked at reception and was told that building has problem seeing the cloud network. So I asked to be moved, which they kindly did to Room 22 nearer to reception.

Again, laptop started and no network available, checked my phone and it was the same. Spoke to a fellow guest who stayed regular and they said it sometimes works but more often than not it is down or not available.

Summary, staff were not very interested in the issue and laughed it off as a known problem.
Had to wait 5 minutes this monring to check-out as the Bell in reception does not work and nobody was about.

Overall, bad experience and certainly won't be staying here or sending any of my client to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-youd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

What you pay for, it was you get!

Mill on the Soar is in an accessible location, with good local amenities and miles and miles of rolling countryside hills.

The room was fine, everything you need from a Bed and Breakfast, only criticism being the TV was miles from bed, so perhaps provide some sort of telescope for viewing!

The meals were lovely, just what you would anticipate from a Hungry Horse. Breakfast was great, unfortunately finishes particularly early on a Sunday, so not great for those wanting a lazy weekend!

The staff were friendly, but were lacking on some local knowledge! When asked what attractions were in the area, I wasn't quite expecting Next and Primark to be top of the list! Perhaps a little more in the way of tourist information wouldn't go a miss.

The venue is regularly used for functions, so you may want to check this out before your visit, as it can be a little noisy of an evening!

Regardless of these minor criticisms a weekend break is only as good as what you make it, and therefore I had a fabulous time and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room attached to the pub, rather than accross the car park, the walk can be a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamYork13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadeby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The rooms are okay, clean etc. They are off-set from the main building so for security reasons do keep your door locked at all times. The bedroom is good but the bathroom really does need an upgrade. I guess the fittings were painted at one time and now they have chipped etc and look as it they are dirty.

Parking is excellent.

The staff are really great and an asset to the pub/hotel.

I have eaten a few times and is nothing more than quick ar food, which can be good but generally not. A few good things but you cant eat those on every visit. However, a typical average meal for two.

It's a fast food pub and that is about it.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sps1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here last weekend with my daughter and two grandchildren (2 year old twins) A lodge type room with its own door and car parking just outside. Basic but very clean . Reasonable size ,1 double and 1 single bed with extra cot, good size bathroom , The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a meal in the very busy restaurant, which was well cooked and reasonable value for money, crayons and drawing paper for the kids and a balloon each when we finished eating. I would recommend The Mil and will certainly stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: rooms two and three have adjoining door so good for a family if you need extra rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

When I booked here the staff were very helpful as I was not sure who was coming with me up to the last minute, the guy gave his name as a point of reference. Got a room in an outside building for me and two of my kids, this was a very very fair £50. Staff were welcoming on my arrival, this despite the place being rammed with Christmas parties, must say something about the evening meals !
Room was warm, well equipped, basic but clean and stylish enough, nice comfy bed. Clean but basic bathroom. Did what I needed well.
My biggest complaint - Breakfast, well below par, ok it was thrown in for the room rate but still....
Adequate cereal, toast and soft drink stuff. Cooked breakfast not great, rock hard sausage, not sure what the bacon was all about. Don't let this put you off, nice very friendly staff, good room, good value. Would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
2.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
11.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Property: Mill on the Soar
Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing