We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Awful”
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for one night as everywhere else in the area was full. My room was in a block across the car park and was tired and dated, with broken light fittings, ill fitting doors and windows and it was a bit dirty, it was also cold, until the heating came on at 2.30am, and then it was too hot.

Shower in bathroom was just about a trickle. Room and bathroom were a good size though.

Had a group booking in the restaurant, service was OK, staff were friendly, and food was typical pub Faye.

Breakfast was truly awful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Room 2. Bath panel fallen off, sink enamel scratched, toilet won't flush properly, bath has brown stains. Lights are movement sensitive but don't work properly, beds very worn and soggy. Paintwork requires redoing Overall significantly worse than when I last visited 8 years ago.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Reasonable room for the money but definitely no frills. However, make sure you rise early for breakfast as kitchen shuts on a whim and not as advertised! We were ignored by the waitress in the restaurant and when pressed she said the kitchen had closed. This was in itself alarming given we arrived before the closed time advertised but even more surprising when our friends (who were not staying at the' hotel') arrived there 10 minutes AFTER us and were served breakfast????
Not a place I will return to, would rather pay for a taxi to somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I dont recommend this place to anyone, food was Terrible, staff, well they looked like robots as if they didn't even want to work! I stayed over night no WiFi room wasn't looked after at all stained covers with rips in shower didn't work and yet nothing got done about it when I asked!
The boss. Well he was just RUDE! didnt have a clue what he was doing.
Don't waste your money nicer places to stay 5miles away!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seltherbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went Sunday 15th September 2013. I can't really say anything good about, apart from the service. I queued for over 15 minutes, I had been given a slice of meat and a Yorkshire pudding, then waited for a family to serve themselves, after 15 minutes and watching them drop food on the floor and put it back in the serving dishes, the kids were picking up the food with their hand then putting it back, it was awful, I asked for my money back as the rest of my party had been served and finished their meal. I do think someone should have been over seeing the carvery as it was quite shocking. Anyway decided to cut my losses and have a sweet, they were in a glass case well away from mucky little hands, that took an age to arrive and when it did, that to was awful, it was made with some horrible synthetic cream that had the texture of cold thick porridge, it was horrible. The Mill on the Sour is certainly OFF my places to visit again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank skeggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We ate here two weeks ago and had a great time with the family, the food was great and the staff seemed very happy and really made an effort to talk to our children.

The outside area was great, it had everything you could want, play area, a lake and even hotel rooms to stay over!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCherrytreefarmpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stay at this establishment quite regularly as it is very convenient for diving at Stoney Cove. The Mill on the Soar is unpretentious and does what it sets out to do. It is well priced for what it offers, the rooms are clean and well prepared, the food is decent pub food and the staff are extremely friendly and courteous - indeed the staff are the company's best asset. If you want more/luxury then go somewhere else, pay double and take your chances :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
11.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#22 of 41 in Leicester
543 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#26 of 41 in Leicester
469 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Hinckley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing