We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leicestershire hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
College Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Leicestershire hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was once a halls of residence for the university and is still owned and operated by the university today. The rooms are spacious modern clean and very well appointed. The staff excellent and attentive. The bar chilled and relaxing. The breakfast was to die for!

Room Tip: Book and then book again and again...great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apache2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Apache2149,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent stay with us. I will make sure that all of your compliments are fedback to staff, particular those regarding breakfast to our chef.

We are very proud of what we are able to offer at College Court in terms of conference, dining and accomodation facilities and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford
Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    138
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
95
21
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a lovely, reasonably priced place for a short stay. It only opened in October 2013 so everything is still nice and new. Plenty of free parking. We did walk into the centre of Leicester from here although it's quite a long way. It was £7.00 for a taxi back and there are buses. The room was small but cosy with a very comfortable bed. Powerful shower and plenty of good quality toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was tasty - no extra charge for a cooked breakfast unlike many places now. The staff were friendly and helpful. Could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjrjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Sjrjacobs,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind comments following your stay at College Court.

We offer 3 different types of room - Standard, Executive and Suites. The latter two of these offer more space making them ideal for longer stays. We are also approximately 1.5 miles out of Leicester city centre, so for those who don't feel as fit as yourself, we are served well by frequent buses passing right outside our front door and into the city!

We hope to be able to welcome you to College Court again on your next trip to Leicester.

Steve Crawford,
Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
384 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent a lovely two days here for a Richard III conference. The complex opened in 2013 and the clean and attractive en-suite rooms and suites are very competitively priced with a good breakfast included. The Grade 2 listed buildings were 60s accommodation blocks in pretty grounds, which have been beautifully restored and landscaped. Lots of sandy coloured bricks and wood. There are large fluffy bath towels, and good products. Our room had a balcony, a comfy sofa, good sized TV and free wi-fi, throughout. There is a pleasant lounge bar and dining room, and breakfast was very good, particularly the freshly made porridge. Our included lunch and dinner were pleasant, though at Sunday lunch, the vegetables could have been cooked a bit more and the meat a bit less. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful; and this venture really deserves to succeed.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can to a larger room. There is no swimming pool, I can't clear the boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear sjhHove,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court, whilst attending the Richard III conference - a very unique and interesting event hosted by the University of Leicester.

We are very proud of what we are able to offer at College Court in terms of conference, dining and accomodation facilities and believe that we are extremely well suited for residential conferences, such as the one you attended.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from a great stay at College Court. While it is primarily a conference venue it was exceptionally pleasant for a weekend break. The rooms are well sized and equipped and very clean. The staff were also very helpful and we enjoyed a pleasant drink and evening meal. it was also a bonus that we could use the University's new Sports Centre for a swim. We will definitely return and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try a suite if staying for a bit longer, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very proud of what we are able to offer at College Court in terms of conference, dining and accomodation facilities and whilst primarily a conference venue, we do hope to create a pleasant and enjoyable stay for all of our overnight guests also.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night as part of a trip to a leicester comedy club. The hotel was absolutely ideal for our stay.

Once I had got over the memories of my time at uni I could see the hotel as a hotel and not as regenerated uni digs.

The room was of an adequate size with a great unsuite bathroom. The only negative was the fact I couldn't move the shower head and as 6ft 3 I couldn't get under the shower or change the direction of the spray.

For the breakfast there was plenty of options from full english to continental. The full english bit I tried were lovely but I steered clear of the soggy hash browns. I also had some fresh fruit and croissants which were lovely.

All in all a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SALOPIAN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear SALOPIAN81,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived and it looked really nice, looked really clean smart and modern. It lived up to this. Reception was in its own building staff were very professional and friendly. was assited to my room in a separate building (which is splitin different sections/blocks) room was immaculate biscuts and coffee/galaxy chocolate available. power shower and all facilities in room that you would need. bar and resturant were high standard and relaxing with a calming amtomsphere. food only served to 930pm and breakfast starts at 7.30am which was a let down as i left at 730am. great place and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmuch2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Travelmuch2402,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very proud of what we are able to offer at College Court in terms of conference, dining and accomodation facilities. Having been opened for just over four months now, we are continuously looking at ways we can improve our customer experience, so thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast service.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Unfortunately the refurb cannot disguise the brutalist architecture, wind swept passageways, and "student accomodation block" feel. Staff friendly, making an effort, but it all felt a little amateurish. When I asked about local places to eat, I was directed half a mile down the road, even though I later found out their is a nice pub/restaurant round the corner. I was told I could not get a drink after midnight, because of a row with the adjacent houses about disturbance. And the lack of lifts meaning I had to lump my suitcase up the stairs was not ideal, and I imagine could be a real problem for many. Personally, I think the nearby Regency or Belmont might be a better bet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Taj,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court. Our main buildings were previously a university Halls of Residence and are Grade II listed, which inevitably limits what we are able to do structurally to the buildings. This does however give College Court a great sense of history and we take much pride in working within such a unique environment.

I’m sorry to hear that you were directed to the local Queens Road shopping area rather than the nearby Cradock Arms pub, which offers a great range of lunch and evening meals. I can only assume that this was because our staff were aware that The Cradock was not open for customers at the time you spoke with them – a light lunch menu is served there from 12.30pm.

Also for any of our guests, staff are happy to assist in taking luggage to and from their rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, when you are next visiting Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Court Hotel

Property: College Court Hotel
Address: College Court 150 Knighton Road, Leicester LE2 3UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — College Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College Court is a brand new £19m facility that opened on 1st October 2013 in the heart of Leicester! With a great range of facilities, tranquil setting and excellent transport links, College Court offers a restful and relaxing stay in our 123 bedroom hotel as well as fine dining. College Court offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the building in addition to ample complimentary car parking spaces in our secure barrier controlled car park. Located just minutes from Leicester's vibrant City Centre, College Court is a haven of tranquility, surrounded by established trees, landscaped gardens and quiet residential streets. Conveniently located within easy reach of the M1 and M69 motorways and only 1.4 Miles from Leicester Train station, where guests can travel only 70 minutes from central London. East Midlands Airport is also located less than 30 minutes away and Birmingham International Airport only 45 minutes. College Court is the perfect place for your stay in Leicester. Please note - When travelling to us using a SatNav device, please use the following postcode: LE2 3TQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your College Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Court Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing