We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference Centre with rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of College Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
College Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Conference Centre with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I don't beleive this can be called a hotel. I would say it is a conference facility with rooms. Nevertheless, it ticks all the boxes for most people. They have extended the breakfast and checkout times which is a bonus. No lifts and narrow stairwells may not suit everyone but it was no issue for us. We paid extra for an executive room and it was worth it. Looking out onto a south facing green with two balconies - heaven! The rooms are obviously new and in great condition. The whole place is very stylish with good quality toiletries and linens. Had a great nights sleep.

The restaurant is not always open and the bar meals are limited. However, there is a pub right across the road and we had a very decent meal there. The bar on site is really quite pretty with tables and chairs to sit outside and soft candles at night. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Huge cavernous dining room with only large conference style tables and breakfast ingredients that had been on the hotplate a little too long. Still, tasty and the waitress was lovely.

Personally, I would not look elsewhere if staying in Leicester but it might not be to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony in Chamberlain block. We had room number 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Dee-Di,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, taking advantage of the recent good weather to enjoy the established trees and landscaped gardens that we are surrounded by.

Unfortunately our restaurant is not always available for residential guests, when in use for private dining functions, however on any other occasion, guests are given the option to dine in either the restaurant, bar or garden lounge, the latter two providing a more intimate dining experience, with a menu designed to suit all dietary reqirements and to a high dining standard.

Our breakfast and check-out times have been extended in response to customer feedback and as a relatively new business, customer feedback of any kind is always invaluable to improving our customer experience for all our visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future to College Court.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    131
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
45
83
19
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We were attending a 21st/50th birthday which was also being held in the Hotel. When I set eyes on the renovated Listed Building I was very impressed and reminded of my days Teaching/Lecturing in similar surrounding! The room we were given was very clean and modern and priced appropriately at £70 for two for one evening with breakfast. I was suitably satisfied. We enjoyed the breakfast which was all well laid out and easy to access. The staff were always around and very approachable. Our birthday event was very well presented in the main hall. I shall certainly book this accommodation in the future. Very easy access to Motorways and City Centre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ernest,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent visit to Leicester and your stay with us at College Court. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay here for my wife's 40th birthday we found the staff friendly and helpful at all times the room was fantastic and breakfast had great choice and good quality ... Clean ..reasonable price ..the free coffee machine for all guests in the bar is a massive bonus too :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank baron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Baron28,


Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at College Court. The compliementary coffee machines located in our bar and conference break-out area allow guests to 'recharge their batteries' at their own pace and at any time of the day!

We look forward to welcoming you to College Court again on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Breakfast was well cooked and all in all the hotel is excellent value for money. The sheets and beds were wonderful, everywhere was spotless and finished to a high specification. If I have one negative comment it would be that the staff @breakfast looked bored and were slightly rude and the lack of other gusts the night we stayed did give it the air of a ghost town.
If you are new to the area then Cradock pub 100m away does wonderful food and the nearby queens rd is full of good restaurants and bars. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra for an executive room. 215 has 2 balconies and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Naticle,

Many thanks for your kind review following your recent visit to College Court. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some unsatisfactory customer service during your time with us, and I will ensure that this is fedback to the team involved during your stay.

As you mentioned, both The Cradock Arms and Queens Road offer some excellent dining options, however we also serve evening meals in our restaurant, bar and garden lounge for guests staying with us overnight, designed to suit all dietary reqirements and to a high dining standard.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
718 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed my staying at the College Court, a University structure recently transformed in an hotel. My room was fine, big shower, with all the facilities available. At the reception they were all so kind. Breakfast could be more assorted, with more cooked meals, but it was quite good anyway. Perfectly working wi-fi. A few steps from Queens Street, a shopping Street, and 20 minutes far from the railway station on foot. I recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liviaugusta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Liviaugusta7,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was once a halls of residence for the university and is still owned and operated by the university today. The rooms are spacious modern clean and very well appointed. The staff excellent and attentive. The bar chilled and relaxing. The breakfast was to die for!

Room Tip: Book and then book again and again...great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apache2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Apache2149,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent stay with us. I will make sure that all of your compliments are fedback to staff, particular those regarding breakfast to our chef.

We are very proud of what we are able to offer at College Court in terms of conference, dining and accomodation facilities and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford
Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a lovely, reasonably priced place for a short stay. It only opened in October 2013 so everything is still nice and new. Plenty of free parking. We did walk into the centre of Leicester from here although it's quite a long way. It was £7.00 for a taxi back and there are buses. The room was small but cosy with a very comfortable bed. Powerful shower and plenty of good quality toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was tasty - no extra charge for a cooked breakfast unlike many places now. The staff were friendly and helpful. Could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjrjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Sjrjacobs,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind comments following your stay at College Court.

We offer 3 different types of room - Standard, Executive and Suites. The latter two of these offer more space making them ideal for longer stays. We are also approximately 1.5 miles out of Leicester city centre, so for those who don't feel as fit as yourself, we are served well by frequent buses passing right outside our front door and into the city!

We hope to be able to welcome you to College Court again on your next trip to Leicester.

Steve Crawford,
Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Court Hotel

Property: College Court Hotel
Address: College Court 150 Knighton Road, Leicester LE2 3UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — College Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College Court is a brand new £19m facility that opened on 1st October 2013 in the heart of Leicester! With a great range of facilities, tranquil setting and excellent transport links, College Court offers a restful and relaxing stay in our 123 bedroom hotel as well as fine dining. College Court offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the building in addition to ample complimentary car parking spaces in our secure barrier controlled car park. Located just minutes from Leicester's vibrant City Centre, College Court is a haven of tranquility, surrounded by established trees, landscaped gardens and quiet residential streets. Conveniently located within easy reach of the M1 and M69 motorways and only 1.4 Miles from Leicester Train station, where guests can travel only 70 minutes from central London. East Midlands Airport is also located less than 30 minutes away and Birmingham International Airport only 45 minutes. College Court is the perfect place for your stay in Leicester. Please note - When travelling to us using a SatNav device, please use the following postcode: LE2 3TQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your College Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Court Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing