We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
College Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a lovely night at this hotel, the whole place is spotlessly clean. We stayed in an executive room which had 2 balconies, one with a table and chairs. Couldn't fault the room, plenty of space and the bathroom was lovely and modern. Breakfast was self service and had everything you could want, all of the food was piping hot and fresh. The staff were all very friendly and polite and made us feel welcome. It's not a conventional hotel but would definitely recommend it and would stay again if I was going to Leicester.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Littlewin,

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay at College Court and I am delighted to hear the fantastic comments about your experience.

I will make sure to pass on all of your comments to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    145
    57
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
98
22
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at College Court to attend a family party. As there was two of us we stayed in an executive suite - billed to be larger than the standard rooms.
Arrival was fine - friendly staff directed us to our room. The rooms are in accommodation blocks separated from the main admin block by open air pathways. There was a little of rain and umbrellas are provided but you do have to walk between the block which is not what you'd expect of a hotel.
Access to the accommodation blocks was with your room key which is good for security but does mean that you can't get to friends rooms as you would in a proper hotel.
The accommodation blocks are basic. There are no lifts and staircases are narrow. This mean that if you have anything larger than a small suitcase you are going to have difficulty getting to your room. We were on the 3rd floor - the top floor, and while having to walk up the stairs every time you went to your room was a pain, it was OK.
The rooms are tiny! Each room appears to be two of the study rooms knocked into one. This means that they are narrow - the double bed (... they only have double beds - no kingsize beds) plus a narrow pathway on each side of the bed is maximum width. The rest of the room has a desk, as wardrobe and an ensuite bathroom. These are all shiny and new but do mean that the room feels cluttered. This room would be fine for a single occupant but not for two.
Breakfast was in the "restaurant" ... which is a large catering hall that they call a restaurant. Breakfast was OK but it was mass catering - hot plates, buffet, coffee pots on the side etc. rather than being a restaurant. Furthermore, there weren't any staff around. Someone popped in to take my room number but then disappeared again ... and this was on a Sunday morning. Breakfast was therefore very much self-service.
In conclusion, this is a great halls of residence - the feel of the place, the size of the rooms and the quality of the staff - and I can see that this would be a great place for an academic conference or a work offsite event, but do not be fooled into believing this is a hotel - it isn't.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiny. Don't go for a double room occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Daniel-860,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court.

Our main buildings were previously a university Halls of Residence and are Grade II listed, which inevitably limits what we are able to do structurally to the buildings and naturally lends itself to retaining some feeling of life in a students halls of residence! This does however give College Court a great sense of history and we take much pride in working within such a unique environment.

We offer 3 different types of bedroom - Standard, Executive and Suites, the latter two of these offering more space, making them ideal for longer stays and guests who are sharing. Due to the absence of lifts and for any of our guests, staff are happy to assist in taking luggage to and from their rooms, whether it be on the ground floor or third floor.

I am sorry to hear that you found the breakfast and restaurant to be below what you expected - we are proud to offer an extensive breakfast range for guests including cereals, fruit, pastries and a full English breakfast and accomodate a variety of dietary requirements also.

Ultimately, whilst primarily a conference venue, we do hope to create a pleasant and enjoyable stay for all of our overnight guests also.

We hope to welcome you in the future to College Court on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Reading
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently stayed here for work (April) booking a small meeting of 5 for two days. Three of us stayed overnight.

The meeting room was very good for our needs, with a small anti-room where our working lunch and tea/coffees were laid out so as not to disturb us. All requirements were catered for and particularly good that there are no extra charges for items like flip charts etc.

Dinner was served in the bar as there was a private event in the main restaurant. The three of us chose different items from the menu and all were pleased with our choices. Be aware that you have to order at the bar and no one will come to take your order - we were waiting for a while before the Barman passed by and advised us of this.

The bedrooms were suitable (we had exec rooms) and so nice to be able to open a window (so many hotels have windows that are sealed up). Another small but important point was that the hairdryer was a normal domestic-type one - not one wired into the wall that you need to hold your thumb on (it's a ladies thing, I know!!) Great fluffy towels.

The bedrooms aren't particularly large (even the exec) but big enough for a comfortable nights sleep with a desk to work from. Just a shame that there is no safe to put the laptop in whilst at dinner.

And the lady that showed us around when we went to view the property (Joanna) was knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaBella47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear MyraUK,

Many thanks for youre review following your recent stay at College Court and use of our conference/meeting rooms.

As you are aware we offer a number of different size conference rooms with the option for additional breakout areas, an extensive catering selection, complimentary hot beverages and flipcharts etc and I am delighted to hear that what you discussed with Joanna, one of our dedicated Sales Executives, worked positively for you during your two days with us.

In regards to your comment about the 'standard issue' hairdryer, not commonplace at most hotels, its the small details such as this, that make a stay that little bit more comfortable and that is what we pride ourselves on at College Court.

I will make sure that your feedback is passed on to Joanna and we look forward to welcmoming you and your colleagues to College Court in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I chose this rather than travel lodges etc as I thought It would be a bit more individual but similar price.The room was fine for one but in my opinion would be too small for two. Basically furnished but very clean. My room faced the busy road so choose one away if you do not like traffic noise especially if it is warm. Although it was only April even with the heating off the room was very warm. You have to go out doors to get to reception and breakfast area. Breakfast was mixed quality, coffee not drinkable, scone hard, bacon ok , did not try anything else. Reception were excellent, friendly and they had no problem contacting my office to sort payment out. Would I stay again yes if on business, no if for pleasure but no disrespect to Leicester I would hve no reason to visit Leicester other than for business.

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Rosie,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court.

We offer 3 different types of room - Standard, Executive and Suites, the latter two of these offering more space, making them ideal for longer stays and guests who are sharing. Due to the layout of our accomodation buildings, we also have a number of different outlooks from our bedrooms, including out onto our courtyard or gardens, with established trees and landscaping. We will always endeavour to accomodate any requests for specific outlooks at the point of booking and upon check-in.

I am sorry to hear that you found our breakfast to be below satisfactory and I will pass your comments onto our chef. We are proud to offer an extensive breakfast range for guests including cereals, fruit, pastries and a full English breakfast and accomodate a variety of dietary requirements also.

We look forward to welcoming you again to College Court when you are next visiting Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I don't beleive this can be called a hotel. I would say it is a conference facility with rooms. Nevertheless, it ticks all the boxes for most people. They have extended the breakfast and checkout times which is a bonus. No lifts and narrow stairwells may not suit everyone but it was no issue for us. We paid extra for an executive room and it was worth it. Looking out onto a south facing green with two balconies - heaven! The rooms are obviously new and in great condition. The whole place is very stylish with good quality toiletries and linens. Had a great nights sleep.

The restaurant is not always open and the bar meals are limited. However, there is a pub right across the road and we had a very decent meal there. The bar on site is really quite pretty with tables and chairs to sit outside and soft candles at night. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Huge cavernous dining room with only large conference style tables and breakfast ingredients that had been on the hotplate a little too long. Still, tasty and the waitress was lovely.

Personally, I would not look elsewhere if staying in Leicester but it might not be to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony in Chamberlain block. We had room number 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Dee-Di,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to College Court. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, taking advantage of the recent good weather to enjoy the established trees and landscaped gardens that we are surrounded by.

Unfortunately our restaurant is not always available for residential guests, when in use for private dining functions, however on any other occasion, guests are given the option to dine in either the restaurant, bar or garden lounge, the latter two providing a more intimate dining experience, with a menu designed to suit all dietary reqirements and to a high dining standard.

Our breakfast and check-out times have been extended in response to customer feedback and as a relatively new business, customer feedback of any kind is always invaluable to improving our customer experience for all our visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future to College Court.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We were attending a 21st/50th birthday which was also being held in the Hotel. When I set eyes on the renovated Listed Building I was very impressed and reminded of my days Teaching/Lecturing in similar surrounding! The room we were given was very clean and modern and priced appropriately at £70 for two for one evening with breakfast. I was suitably satisfied. We enjoyed the breakfast which was all well laid out and easy to access. The staff were always around and very approachable. Our birthday event was very well presented in the main hall. I shall certainly book this accommodation in the future. Very easy access to Motorways and City Centre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ernest,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your recent visit to Leicester and your stay with us at College Court. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay here for my wife's 40th birthday we found the staff friendly and helpful at all times the room was fantastic and breakfast had great choice and good quality ... Clean ..reasonable price ..the free coffee machine for all guests in the bar is a massive bonus too :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank baron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Baron28,


Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at College Court. The compliementary coffee machines located in our bar and conference break-out area allow guests to 'recharge their batteries' at their own pace and at any time of the day!

We look forward to welcoming you to College Court again on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
859 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
1.7 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Court Hotel

Property: College Court Hotel
Address: College Court 150 Knighton Road, Leicester LE2 3UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — College Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College Court is a brand new £19m facility that opened on 1st October 2013 in the heart of Leicester! With a great range of facilities, tranquil setting and excellent transport links, College Court offers a restful and relaxing stay in our 123 bedroom hotel as well as fine dining. College Court offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the building in addition to ample complimentary car parking spaces in our secure barrier controlled car park. Located just minutes from Leicester's vibrant City Centre, College Court is a haven of tranquility, surrounded by established trees, landscaped gardens and quiet residential streets. Conveniently located within easy reach of the M1 and M69 motorways and only 1.4 Miles from Leicester Train station, where guests can travel only 70 minutes from central London. East Midlands Airport is also located less than 30 minutes away and Birmingham International Airport only 45 minutes. College Court is the perfect place for your stay in Leicester. Please note - When travelling to us using a SatNav device, please use the following postcode: LE2 3TQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your College Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Court Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing