We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
College Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a lovely 3 night stay here for my 40th birthday, be aware this hotel is more of a conference centre, but don't be put off by all the suits lol. The breakfasts are amazing, free all day coffee and tea in the bar, which is a real bonus. Staff are friendly and more than helpful. Rooms are basic but fully stocked and clean. But with all there is to do in Leicester you shouldn't be in your room during the day!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and pick a room with a balcony, wish we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiejj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sammiejj34,

Firstly, happy birthday!!

Many thanks for the very kind review you left following your recent stay at College Court. As you mention we are predominantly a conference centre with residential facilities but also cater to other guests on a bed and breakfast hotel basis and we aim to strike the fine balance between catering to everyones needs.

I certainly agree that there is much to do and see in Leicester - the National Space Centre, Leicester Cathedral, New Walk museum, the University of Leicester Botanic Garden and soon to be opened Richard III Visitor Centre...

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    147
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
52
103
24
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

College Court was a set of dorms for college students and while it's been renovated, the dorm atmosphere is still present. I'm assuming the hotel is focused on the business-trade; my perspective is that of a tourist. The two may have different needs.

Reception staff I encountered were very pleasant and helpful. The buildings are clearly labeled and rooms easy to find. Parking is ample and free.

The room is smallish even by English standards but are clean and seem to have just be renovated. It has a sleek, modern feel.

There are plenty of electrical outlets available so recharging devices was easy. An iron/board is already in the room as well as electrical fan and standard coffee/tea tray. (Hidden in the cupboard.)

There isn't, however, any place to lay anything about. The "desk" is only just larger than a typical laptop and this leaves doing any work a bit of a pain.

The "Guest Directory" indicates that weekday checkout time is 9 a.m.; the key card insert indicates 10 a.m. on weekdays. Which is it? Either is too early, frankly. The last thing I want to worry about after a day of sight-seeing is having to get up early the next morning. Perhaps they don't cater to tourists? With those checkout hours, I can understand why tourists wouldn't want to cater to College Court.

A taxi to town center ran 7 pounds in; 6 pounds back. Much better than driving in and having to fight to find parking.

A nice, clean, modern hotel, but not one I'll be enthusiastic about returning to. Unless it's a business trip. And I want to wake up early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Charlie,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at College Court. My apologies for the confusion surrounding check-out times - we are currently in the process of reprinting our Guest Directory and the check-out time will be amended to 10.00am.

Ultimately, whilst primarily a conference venue, we do hope to create a pleasant and enjoyable stay for all of our overnight guests including those in the area for tourist purposes.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay in Leicester. This newly renovated accommodation is well positioned and finished to a very high standard. Lots of thoughtful additions like the umbrellas. Breakfast was excellent and freshly made porridge very welcome. The rooms are extremely comfortable and ensuite very ample. The rooms could benefit from the provision of a fan on hot days. Recommend this as a place to stay in a Leicester.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannybanny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jannybanny52,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at College Court. Ahead of what we hope will be a glorious summer and some beautiful hot weather, individual bedroom fans are already on their way to us!

We hope to welcome you to College Court again in the future.

Many thanks. Steve Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've stayed in numerous places in Leicester visiting family and this was definitely the best. Spanking new. Clean and classy. Helpful staff. Beats Travelodge et all for value and there's an excellent breakfast. Rooms are on the small side and some fans would be good for humid nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us at College Court. As we are hoping for a beautiful summer of hot weather, individual bedroom fans are already en route to us!

Mnay thanks, Steve Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Attractive modern room and en suite bathroom though room rather small. Free wifi. Pleasant location and room overlooking courtyard was quiet. Dinner was in a room off the bar as the dining room was closed. The room was a bit drab and lacking in atmosphere but the food was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at College Court.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not find your dining experience with us satisfactory. Unfortunately our restaurant is not always available for residential guests, when in use for private dining functions, however on any other occasion, guests are given the option to dine in either the restaurant, bar or garden lounge, the latter two, we hope, providing a more intimate dining experience.

We hope to welcome you to College Court again in the future, on your next trip to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel does seem to offer good value, and is in one of the nicest parts of Leicester. It is relatively new, clean and tidy, and has a generally bright feel to it. My biggest gripe though was the size of the room, really quite cramped for a double bedroom, even by "European" standards. You can barely walk past the end of the bed, and will really struggle if you are carrying bags. It is also a shame that there are no lifts - that means carrying your bags up the stairs, and unfortunately there didn't seem to be many staff around to help. And the room itself was also quite stuffy - I can imagine in summer it could be very uncomfortable. I found the common areas a bit soulless - the restaurant feels like a school hall. It wasn't helped by there not being many people around, customers or staffs.
So, good points, cheap, location, clean. Bad points, cramped rooms, atmosphere, and don't bring heavy bags.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Phil,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at College Court. We offer 3 different types of bedroom - Standard, Executive and Suites, the latter two of these offering more space, making them ideal for longer stays and guests who are sharing.

Unfortuantely we do not have lifts available to access our bedrooms therefore our staff are able to assist in taking luggage to and from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you again to College Court in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Almost reluctant to review this place as it's so good and would like to keep it to myself! Former hall of residence beautifully updated. Rooms are lovely. Superior room had additional work/dressing area and a very well equipped bathroom. Breakfast items were slow to arrive one morning - waitress having to deal with everything single-handed - but the food itself was very good. Would stay again and recommend unreservedly

Room Tip: Chamberlain 303 overlooked park area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Carol,

Many thanks for your very kind comments follwing your recent stay with us. I apolgise for the slow service you experienced in the Restaurant on one of your visits and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
886 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Court Hotel

Property: College Court Hotel
Address: College Court 150 Knighton Road, Leicester LE2 3UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — College Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College Court is a brand new £19m facility that opened on 1st October 2013 in the heart of Leicester! With a great range of facilities, tranquil setting and excellent transport links, College Court offers a restful and relaxing stay in our 123 bedroom hotel as well as fine dining. College Court offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the building in addition to ample complimentary car parking spaces in our secure barrier controlled car park. Located just minutes from Leicester's vibrant City Centre, College Court is a haven of tranquility, surrounded by established trees, landscaped gardens and quiet residential streets. Conveniently located within easy reach of the M1 and M69 motorways and only 1.4 Miles from Leicester Train station, where guests can travel only 70 minutes from central London. East Midlands Airport is also located less than 30 minutes away and Birmingham International Airport only 45 minutes. College Court is the perfect place for your stay in Leicester. Please note - When travelling to us using a SatNav device, please use the following postcode: LE2 3TQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your College Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Court Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing