We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
College Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in May as we were visiting friends in Leicester and the hotel wasn't too far from their house. The price was also a deciding factor in choosing this over other hotels in the area.

The hotel has been converted from old halls of residence so it isn't anything particularly spectacular to look at but I quite liked what they had done with the buildings.

Check in process was good and the young man on reception was polite and helpful.

Our room was a standard one and although it wasn't the biggest room it was sufficient for our needs. The bathroom was compact but the shower worked well.

Plenty of free parking available too which is something I always try and look for when booking a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to Leicester and we hope to welcome you again to College Court in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for College Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

TV went off and on which was annoying when watching, poor signal I guess. Good free wifi and mobile signal fine.
Shame the bar does not open until 5 especially when you finish work early.
Nice place though, made an effort....need to cater for business more though, i.e. the bar! Free coffee and water lovely touch.
Friendly staff, who help. Would stay again, with a room with better TV reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good TV reception.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Andrew & Angela,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at College Court. I am sorry to hear that the TV reception in your room was not permanent and will ask our maintenance team to look into this to resolve the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

taking a trip down memory lane it seems, looking at recent reviews. I was a student in women's hall ( imagine such a thing ) back in the fifties. We counted ourselves fortunate to be in Knighton and not in the old College Hall on the campus. The women's bedrooms were literally the cells of the Victorian Mental Institution it used to be.
Just as well all is changed. College Court was built in my last year and we were all amazed by the modernist building and the luxury. Remember no one had ensuites in those days.
Refurbished recently, the building retains its modernist credentials but with modern comforts added. Who, nowadays could afford the generously spacious grounds and gardens where one can sit in the shade of a lovely tree? Added waiter service is the up to date upgrade.
Seriously we had a small but excellent room which managed to provide two comfy armchairs, a desk and two balconies on top of the usual furniture. A nice small bathroom with a shower that functioned perfectly. All these things are too rare even in a four star hotel.
Add in a breakfast to match the accommodation standards and we were truly satisfied.
When it comes to bedrooms, I am the princess with the pea remember!
Very well done U of L.

Room Tip: Pay the extra tender for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capresina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Capresina,

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay at College Court. It is lovely to hear the views of those who lived at College Hall in its original form and we are certainly very proud of the restoration of the building and grounds that has taken place.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at College Court for a reunion of friends from our Leicester university German group.

It is a short bus ride ( bus # 44) to Knighton road from the main Leicester Rail Station & an even shorter ride by taxi.

It is amazing to see the transformation of the student hall of residence into a modern up to date hotel & convention centre.

There was plenty of parking available at no extra charge.

The standard rooms are compact & completely renovated to a modern style.
The central courtyard setting was tranquil & ideal for having a pre-dinner drink outside on a warm summer night.

Our group of 15 dined in a private dining room adjacent to the restaurant area. The 3 course meal was excellent, as was the service.

We all felt the cost of the room was very reasonable as was the food and wine. As one of our group remarked it was the most reasonably priced bottle of good wine he had in England.

The following morning breakfast in the restaurant was again of a high standard with a good selection & not all the pressure of lots of people that one often finds in hotel breakfast rooms.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though it was only 1 night & will happily stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that yourself and your guests enjoyed all aspects of their stay - from our beautiful grounds, private dining facilities, breakfast menu and location to the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you again to College Court on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having been a student residing in College Hall back in the 1970s I was fascinated to see how it had been adapted to a hotel / conference centre. It was awesome! I guess I am biaised as I had such a wonderful time living there as a student, but it has been beautifully restored, the grounds just as lovely as I recalled, the rooms comfortable, and the location excellent for the Queens Road and city centre. The only slight criticism we had would be the breakfast. We were not greeted, nothing was explained to us, we were admonished for sitting at the "wrong" table, and my cooked breakfast was under par. However, the rest of the staff at College Court were excellent - friendly, helpful and efficient. So, get the breakfast right and you'll score a 5 from me next time! My husband and I shall definitely return when in the vicinity or travelling through.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jane B,

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay at College Court. Its lovely to hear the views of those who lived at College Hall in its original form and we are certainly very proud of the restoration of the building and grounds that has taken place.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced an unsatisfactory breakfast - please accept my sincerest apologies for this. I will make sure that your feedback is passed on to our Head Chef and fedback to the team involved in your stay.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your husband to College Court again, on your next visit to Leicester.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Don't be put off by the exterior. Once home to 300 University of Leicester students, this has been refurbished into a great hotel and conference centre. Brilliant value for a weekend get away. 10 mins from the city centre, and 5 mins walk from Queens Road bars and restaurants.

Exec doubles have own balcony overlooking parkland. Onsite bar has lovely courtyard, and breakfasts are plentiful and good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Dari G,

Thank you for the fantastic review and great description of our facilities! We are perfectly located in the heart of Leicester for either a trip into the city centre to take advantage of the diverse nightlife or excellent shopping facilities or to visit some of the city's superb museums and visitor centres.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for one night, unusual settings as it was originally a hall of residence having said this the rooms were clean and tidy. The restaurant has large round tables so no dining alone if it's busy, a good full English breakfast was available. A great location if your off to the races as we were. Would definitely say here again if it was for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nichola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveCrawford, Centre Director at College Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Nichola J,

Many thanks for your review following your recent visit to Leicester and we hope to welcome you again to College Court in the future.

Steve Crawford, Centre Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
906 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Court Hotel

Address: College Court 150 Knighton Road, Leicester LE2 3UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — College Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College Court is a brand new £19m facility that opened on 1st October 2013 in the heart of Leicester! With a great range of facilities, tranquil setting and excellent transport links, College Court offers a restful and relaxing stay in our 123 bedroom hotel as well as fine dining. College Court offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the building in addition to ample complimentary car parking spaces in our secure barrier controlled car park. Located just minutes from Leicester's vibrant City Centre, College Court is a haven of tranquility, surrounded by established trees, landscaped gardens and quiet residential streets. Conveniently located within easy reach of the M1 and M69 motorways and only 1.4 Miles from Leicester Train station, where guests can travel only 70 minutes from central London. East Midlands Airport is also located less than 30 minutes away and Birmingham International Airport only 45 minutes. College Court is the perfect place for your stay in Leicester. Please note - When travelling to us using a SatNav device, please use the following postcode: LE2 3TQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your College Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Court Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing